We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home”
Review of La Tinaja Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

La Tinaja Cuban Cafe
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like home”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Being from Miami this is just like all the great Cuban cafes I loved there. One sip of the cafe con leche and you will never step foot in a Starbucks again. Food was fresh, authentic, and delicious. I will be back many more times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason-from-Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tiny but wonderful”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten here many times over the past 2 years, never disappointed. I need to eat gluten-free and they accommodate my needs. The pork dinner special on Saturdays is worth the drive we make regularly from Melbourne Beach. Try the pitcher of sangria with your meal, well made with fresh chopped fruit. We have eaten at quite a number of Cuban restaurants, including some very well known, "famous" ones--they cannot compare to this little place. Love it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebraK681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Classic Cuban carefully crafted”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having been born in Habana (Havana to your Gringos), I can attest to the wonderfully authentic flavors of this precious gem of a little restaurant in the middle of nowhere in particular. As a current Tampa and former Miami resident, I know good food from my native land. This place exceeded my expectations and perhaps even surpassed my mother's amazing home cooking. I will return to this area just to sample more of their fares. July 12, 2013 Reynaldo

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueangel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Order anything here as it is all wonderful”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is not a fast food place. Come in and relax. Many beverages to choose from. And remember, everything is cooked in their kitchen. This personal preparation takes time, but it is well worth it. Every dish we had was delicious. The desserts are the best and homemade. If they are out of a dessert, it is because lots of diners beat you to it. Nothing served is a leftover. Fresh is the name of their food. Their pork dishes are exceptional and even their Cuban sandwich is top notch. Their bread is the best, and nearly melts in your mouth. For an exceptional dessert, chose their empanada de coco y queso. Order at least two as the first one will disappear before your very eyes. Whenever you may be in the general area of Cocoa, Fl, Make a point to locate La Tinaja Cuban Cafe on north US 1. You will be very happy that you did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Love the food and atmosphere. Latin dancing on occasions. Thay are expanding to next door. This is real Cuban food. Don't miss the flan or maduros. They have excellent daily specials to keep the prices down

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ottocf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tinaja Cuban Cafe also viewed

Cocoa, Brevard County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing