We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review”
Review of Clewiston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clewiston Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were part of a group for the buffet lunch. We arrived at our reserved time and found our salads had already been set out for us. The salad had obviously been there quite some time as the onion rings placed atop the salad was limp, the lettuce was brown where it had been cut and one tomato slice. Ranch dressing was all that was available. Iced tea was the only drink and had to hunt down someone for a glass of water.

The buffet was quite limited, chicken, very dry meatloaf, dry, sticky mashed potatoes, California vegetable mix which was overcooked and had become mush and spinach. Also a small corn muffin which was very good. Two members of our group were vegetarians and the only thing there for them to eat was the vegetables, no effort was made to find them something else from the kitchen or not charge them for lunch. Dessert of white cake with chocolate frosting had also been set on the table before our arrival. Others seemed to be getting the same dessert so this was likely the only dessert available.

Service was non existent, if you needed something you had to go find someone to assist you. Table linens were stained and wrinkled It appeared there was not much care taken to provide good quality food or service.

I would not go to the Clewiston Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waytoofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the inn Sunday Feb 19th in order to visit STA-5 on Monday. The inn is attractive, well kept up, and charming. However, perhaps Sunday afternoon isn't the best time to arrive or maybe we just hit it on an off day, but we were not entirely satisfied with our experience.

For one, staff appeared unmotivated and unenthusiastic. Although our questions at the desk were answered, no information was volunteered, including what time breakfast was served. The king bedroom was small but adequate, and the bed comfortable. A TV upgrade would be helpful, as the old set doesn't quite fit in its cabinet, and the remote doesn't control all functions. As the hotel restaurant is apparently not open Sunday evenings, we can't report on dinner. However for breakfast at 7:00 there was no server in evidence, so we helped ourselves to coffee, found the cook in the kitchen, and ordered breakfast. At that point a person who claimed to be our waitress appeared, asked if we had coffee, then disappeared. Again we had to enter the kitchen to inquire about the juice and fresh fruit that was supposed to be part of the guest menu. We never did get the fruit.

A previous review noted that the Clewiston Inn might benefit from a bit of 'tweaking' and we agree. Perhaps starting with the somewhat out of place electric sign board at the hotel entrance announcing "Breakfast Buffett" and "Fisherman Welcome". The place could be a lot nicer with only a little effort.

Room Tip: Rooms vary - ask to see room first. Be aware of the public tennis/basketball courts across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasternWillotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Don't let the Average rating I have provided discourage you from staying at the Clewiston Inn. For the Clewiston area, this hotel is really quite nice and well above average. The area has several motels, but few hotels.We chose the Clewiston Inn because of its historical background, and we were very pleasantly suprised.

The building and grounds are nicely maintained - fresh paint everywhere. The lobby and front entrance recall a more distant era. Do not miss the telephone switchboard in the lobby. Our rooms were nicely decorated with new bed coverings and very comfortable beds. The room with the King size bed was quite small, and had a sink in the room, but the adjoining room had two Queen beds and plenty of room to move around. We found the bedroom sink in the smaller room to be quaint, and appropriate for the hotel. Bathrooms were clean but somewhat small in size, with tub showers. Shower pressure was adaquate, and the hot water was plentiful. Refrigerators and cofee service were available in both rooms. The wi-fi was free and the signal was strong. The hotel has a full service dining room that is a splendid example of 1920s architecture. The menu has an assortment of meat entrees, vegetarian and southern dishes. The food was good, but not spectacular. The addition of an acoustic guitar player at dinner was a bonus we had not anticipated.
The bar has a painted mural that spans all four walls and should not be missed. Unfortunately, the music in the bar was a bit loud, and we were not tempted to stop in after dinner for a quiet drink.

Breakfast is included in the modest price of the room, and is cooked personally by the owner of the hotel. It is a combination of buffet and short-order. Food is hot, but the line is a little slow and inefficient. Breakfast begins at 7. For the price and the proximity to our early birdwatching trip - the Inn was an excellent choice. We will certainly stay here next time we go to STA-5.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b1sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Clewiston Inn is a grand old building and has tons and tons of potential, but both the building and the service need some minor tweaking in order to be considered a destination hotel. It wouldn't take much, but they need to listen to us. People were friendly, but the staff needs to be more professional by wearing sharper looking clothes rather than shabby grayed white shirts. The restaurant hostess had old jeans and a faded gray sweatshirt. She looked bored and she was texting on the job. The restaurant staff looked shabby in old grayed wrinkled shirts. Wearing some black slacks and a white polo shirt would look sharp and professional. The bathroom had long black hairs and the lotion and shampoo had been used!
The door stuck seriously and had to be slammed each time we left and returned. Wouldn't take much to fix that problem. That's what I mean about minor tweaking to make this place grand. We asked for a quiet room and were put in a room overlooking the public tennis courts where a group of exuberant basketball players played til almost midnight enjoying their loud, loud rock music. I'd be happy to make of list of things that would greatly improve this place, and the changes would be minor and not so expensive. I'd like to know that this place was really interested in being top notch....it easily could be because the bones of the building are terrific.

Room Tip: I'm not sure because we had asked for a quiet room and we were placed overlooking the public ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbmac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I were in the area on a Sunday afternoon and tried the restaurant at the Clewiston Inn. We opted for the brunch which seemed to be the popular choice. Included were fried chicken (breast and drumsticks), fried catfish, spare ribs, and meatloaf, along with the usual sides. Made-to-order ohmlettes were also available. The tastiest was the chicken breast while the rest were just average. The desert consisted of chocolate cake (also average) with a choice of frosting. This restaurant has a lot of potential because its part of an hitoric inn. The staff is also very friendly and the price (for brunch at least) was a reasonable $14.95. What's lacking is a specialty, a main course that merits the drive or detour from the more traveled roads such as Highway 41 and the Florida Turnpike. We may try it again on our next trip to the area. It just isn't a "destination" based on this experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

stayed@clewiston very olde needs some TLC rooms were clean and sevice was ok
breakfast was included and a cooked option was offered frehly prepared and served well
We ate in the resteraunt on first night dont think they have got it together as we were told that
the resteraunt in fact as it turns out tha tthe whole hotel has new management look for better things in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This wonderful old, refurbished hotel has some serious pluses and minuses..
The pluses are that it is beautifully appointed and the people who run it are very friendly, helpful and nice! However, I rented one of the 2nd floor suites which was somewhat expensive for the quality.. $119/nite.. The problems were the room remained a bit too warm for comfortable sleeping and no way of controlling the air conditioning.. eventually I borrowed a very small fan from the front desk.. Many of the rooms apparently are temp controlled through the building and do not have individual air conditioners.. my recommendation is to stay away from these rooms if it is summer! Several times the toilet would not flush well.. they have some ridiculous water saver flushers... they did give me a plunger. Lastly, while they do provide a full breakfast, and a good one, you must drive a mile down the road to a particular restaurant to get your food!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clewiston hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Of Clewiston
Best Western Of Clewiston
#3 of 7 in Clewiston
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clewiston
0.4 mi away
Motor Inn - Clewiston
Motor Inn - Clewiston
#4 of 7 in Clewiston
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Travel Inn
Plaza Travel Inn
#6 of 7 in Clewiston
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clewiston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clewiston Inn

Address: 108 Royal Palm Ave, Clewiston, FL 33440-2931
Location: United States > Florida > Clewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clewiston
Price Range: $73 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clewiston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clewiston Inn was built in 1938 by the U.S. Sugar Corporation to host company executives and visiting dignitaries. The Inn is a very elegant structure in the Classical-Revival style. The Historic Clewiston Inn is a boutique hotel offering 57 rooms, 8 lovely courtyard villas, a 200 seat Colonial dining room, a world famous Everglades cocktail lounge, tennis courts, a safari massage spa and a lovely park filled with native Florida trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clewiston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clewiston Hotel Clewiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing