We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sonny's - Always Smokin Good ! ! !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Clewiston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“Sonny's - Always Smokin Good ! ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Every time I am in town I go to Sonny's for great Bar B Que. It is always, always good. Of course its also nice that it is right next to our hotel and it is hard to ignore that great smoke !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank captainbrian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moore Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Ole Sonny's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have not had Sonny's in a while. This trip we had take out, brought it home for lunch. I love the turkey and of course the famous garlic bread. Everyone that we encountered at the front was very nice. It is a nice place to stop and eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value, well fed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Got to Clewiston late and walked into Sonny's at nearly nine. Friendly welcome, good service tasty food. A couple of beers , some ribs and chicken and walked out happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The food is excellent, Fast juicy tender full of flavor. Service is nice, hospitable and suggestions of the server was really accurate. We were 2 adults and 4 kids (13, ,10,10 and 3 y/o) and she suggested to us to order the meal for 4 for $38. I was worry it could be not enough but the sizes of the portions were for 4 extremely hungry because we end so full and with food untouched in the plates. Pull pork, sliced pork, BBQ chicken and ribs, Mac & Cheese, Fries, Cole Slaw and BBQ beans, plus corn and garlic bread. And 4 XXL drinks!! So glad we choose this place..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The service was outstanding. The salad bar had a lot of selections. The greens were fresh as were the cut vegetables.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank QMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing