We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Slice of real Florida

This was my forth visit to Billy Swamp and did not disappoint again. This time we took my Grandad... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Travellover373
,
Devon, United Kingdom
Definite hidden gem , is this off-the-beaten-track day out !

We took six adults here for the day in preference to driving hours to Everglades city. Didn't... read more

Reviewed September 13, 2018
Ormstein
,
Dudley, United Kingdom
Read all 615 reviews
  
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
317
133
40
30
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
133
40
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buggy ride snake show water buffalo air boat alligator alley big cypress seminole indian billie swamp fort lauderdale indian reservation native animals animal shows florida panther petting zoo gift shop well worth the trip nature trail
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my forth visit to Billy Swamp and did not disappoint again. This time we took my Grandad (in his 80's) and we all thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We did both the airboat and swamp buggy tours and saw lots of wildlife and learn about the history of the area.

Luckily we had no wait for the airboat and it was just our party. Unfortunately there were no wild gators about this time, but we understand that this is a natural place where they are not enclosed and therefore cannot be guaranteed... thats what nature in its real setting is all about after all and we would much rather that than seeing them in cages. We have been very lucky on other occasions to see lots of gators so it just depends on the time of year, day and heat. We still really enjoyed zipping through the glades in the sun, it was so peaceful and beautiful. We also got to see wild boar and bison bathing.

After the airboat we did the swamp buggy which was again really interesting and our guide Trent was awesome. He was very knowledgable about the wildlife, the history and the natural vegetation, but also very humorous and welcoming. we got to see lots of wildlife and learn about the Seminole tribe that own the land.

There is a nice little shop and Swamp Water Cafe (we didn't stop for food this time but have always in the past), and all the staff are very friendly.

The reason we did not give 5 stars was they had lots of smaller animal exhibits and we hate to see animals in small cages, especially when the other animals in the park have so much natural space to roam about freely. That being said the otters were very cute and seemed to love attention.

In response to those reviews criticising the lack of alligator wrestling, we are very glad this is not a feature here as this is a much more natural park which is why we decide to visit, not to see a grown human harm an alligator. And to those criticising the lack of alligators, again this is because the park is based on them in their natural setting. We have been lucky to see lots of wildlife, including gators here, and similarly we have done other airboats and seen no gators, so their is no guarantee anywhere unless they are enclosed.

Thank Travellover373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

On Saturday, 6 of us jumped in a rental mini van and headed south down I-75 for a day-trip from Tampa. The trip was mostly for my aunt who was born in Florida, but had never been on Alligator Alley or taken an airboat ride. She has asked three times when we're going back. The young lady at the Welcome Center was very friendly. Tre, our swamp buggy guide was funny and really enjoyed his job. Captain Armando made the airboat ride a total experience! They didn't ask for tips, or even mention tips, but we offered. Absolutely worth it! The animals appeared well taken care of. We even met one of the girls during feeding time and she couldn't have been nicer to us-- or the animals! Very clean place. We didn't see any earplugs or trash in the water. It was such a fantastic day!

2  Thank DMDavis723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We first planned to go the the Shark Valley for an airboat tour when friends recommended the Billie Swamp Safari. Really good experience: nice and cheap airboat tour on small boats, going onto Everglades but as well under a forest like jungle. We saw alligators, big animals and nice birds. The airboat driver was really sweet. They also have a walking trail on a wood bridge, really nice to do & free.
We had lunch there with alligator nuggets ans good salad, not expensive for such a place and nice service.
We strongly recommend.

1  Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Nice park. Have caged animals and plenty of gators. Nice gator show. Visit the Sweetwater Café there. They have primitive huts you can stay in. Good air boat ride with lots to see.

Thank suekimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We took six adults here for the day in preference to driving hours to Everglades city. Didn't expect much. BOY! Was I wrong !

Scrupulously clean, beautifully maintained grounds, healthy animals, knowledgeable staff.

Okay the airboat and buggy rides were not so thrilling and animal-rich as those we have taken in Everglades City, but they were still well worth the admission, especially as we were lucky enough to get Andrew as our host for both gigs. He was funny, patient and knowledgeable.

Heck, even the specials menu in the restaurant was decent value and pretty good quality !

Hand the Snake dude was a genuine don of snakes. We had a Herpetology msc with us and even she was impressed !

Hard to find fault to be fair. Its a long way from anywhere in case that bothers you, and there aren't thousands of wild gators on the ride routes ( tho' we did see a huge black female Alligator basking behind a mangrove).

A great day out from eight year olds to animal-interested adults.

Thanks all !

Thank Ormstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

My friend had 4 tickets to go on an airboat ride. We got in the car and I didn't realize until I started it up that it was over 2 hours away! For a half hour airboat ride. OK, so what the heck, it's a gorgeous day. We got there and saw so many animals (more than I saw at the Naples Zoo last month). The people were very nice. We had a rain delay so we had lunch at the restaurant there. Food was amazing. The airboat ride was really fun. Probably one of the best days we've had in a long time!!

Thank PattyG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The airboat ride was outstanding. Thoroughly enjoyed the safari buggy ride. Thanks to the outstanding guides. This was a great trip to take friends visiting Florida on.

Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Chose this tour after visiting website. Very disappointed after arriving to find out the brave was not wrestling alligators, they only do that sometimes. Compared to other places in Florida, very few alligators. Saw none on the airboat or the swamp buggy and they had no demonstrations or feeding shows like other places we have visited. Critter show was fun, and loved our guide on the swamp buggy tour. Our airboat broke down in middle of tour. We did get to ride again though. Overall dissatisfied for the price and the drive.

Thank cassiemazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Wait is long. Capt promised to take us because we were waiting four hours. Got back from buying tickets and he left, had to wait another 30 minutes. Such a waste of time and no compassion! Would never return here.

Thank Malka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Was pleasantly surprise how clean and interesting this was. Wasn't expecting much from something called a "Swamp Safari", but was way better than I expected. The swamp buggy ride was fun and very interesting and the air boat ride was a blast. Can go there and view the zoo without paying for anything. They have the Swamp Café, where prices on line was high but have good specials everyday for very reasonable prices. The only negative is that it's way out of the way from anywhere and does take a long dive to get to it.

Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews