We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”

Billie Swamp Safari
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Clewiston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Billie Swamp Safari is located on the Big Cypress Seminole Indian Reservation. Swamp Buggy Eco-Tours and Airboat Rides depart daily through 2,200 acres of untamed Everglades with abundant native and exotic wildlife. Alligator wrestling call for show times. Enjoy a Snake Show, Wildlife Critter Show, Free viewing of reptile and animal exhibits. Free boardwalk nature trail and petting zoo. Full service Swamp Water Cafe opened daily 7am - 6pm. Stay overnight in an authentic Seminole Chickee on the water for two or dorm chickee for 8-12 guests. VIP Exclusive tours offered.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was concerned after reading other reviews but this turned out to be one of our most fun days of our vacation. Highly recommend the all day pass. Agreed the airboat tours are short, but the all day pass allows you to go out as many times as you like. Surprising how different it is at various times of the day and with different guides who all seem to have their secret spots to show you. The swamp buggy was probably the best part of the entire day. About 1 hour, our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the area, the animals and the life of the Seminole tribe. Yes, most of the animals are not indigenous to the area but they don't try to claim they are. This is a safari and very cool. Critter show was cute, snake show just too long (and, snakes creep me out and the fact they found the one just outside by a garbage can didn't make me feel any better). The restaurant was very good and reasonable considering other Ft. Lauderdale restaurant prices. You get a lot of food so don't over order. Overall, great experience. Thanks for a fun day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim-n-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    135
    44
    29
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clewiston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a nice beautiful place looking at all the wild life it realy nice the people there are great i would go back and bring mr friends and family thanks Staff of Billie Swamp for such a great place to vist

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank betsy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Billy Swamp Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went with my daughter and her family, two boys 10 and 8 and a daughter 6. We also went with two other familys 20 in all. We were able to get a group discount having twenty with us.
We live in Northern Palm Beach county we had about a two hour easy drive down the turnpike then west on 595.
Very easy to find. Good signs.
We did the buggy ride first then lunch which was good in their restaurant. Went to critter show which was fun then the snake show which was a little long. This was followed by airboat ride.
Left the house at 9am and got home at 6pm.
Bathroom facilities were spotless.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank nnemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fun and Interesting Experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went to the Swamp Safari for the first time on 12/27. We always heard good things about the tours. The Airboat ride was great - wished it was a little longer than 20 minutes. The Swamp Buggie ride was outstanding!! Our driver/guide was Megan - she was excellent. Her knowledge regarding the various animals, plant life and the Everglades in general made the ride very interesting, entertaining while at the same time - very educational.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Run down horrid place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had been to Billies about 4 years ago and were really happy with our experience. The restaurant was cozy and had great food. The waitresses were sweet and efficient. The critters on display were well taken care of and fun to look at. The gift shop had cute souvenirs and interesting books. We thought it was so great that we decided to go back with some friends from Europe. Wow, were we in for a surprise! We were greeted by two cashiers yelling across to each other about gang banging (yes, there were children present). We signed up for the swamp buggy ride and had an hour to kill, so we decided to take a look at the animals. The few animals that we could see were in awful cages that looked filthy and neglected. We then went into the restaurant, where we were not greeted at all. The food was overpriced but bearable. I was surprised by the water buffalo I could see in the swamp outside the restaurant. What are Asian water buffalo doing in the Florida everglades?!? Next we went to the swamp buggy ride. We saw lots of critters: cows, more water buffalo, ostriches, and some boar. You might actually expect to see some indigenous wildlife. Well, forget that! This certainly is not the place to enjoy the Everglades. We drove around the hammock and farmland for 45 minutes and then returned to the dock. Wow, what a huge disappointment! We paid $25 per person and felt completely ripped off. It is really sad what has become Billies. You should be ashamed of yourselves! I would never recommend it to anyone and will never visit it again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank bella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billie Swamp Safari also viewed

 

Been to Billie Swamp Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing