We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location was only a 15 minute drive to Disney and a straight shot. They had resort activities all day long a lot being kid friendly and free. The 2 bedroom villas were nice size. The only downfall would be they could use new tile in Kitchen and carpet is getting old. We were on the 3rd floor and the neighbors down below were pounding on the ceiling because we were to loud I guess. All we were doing is watching TV and doing a load of laundry so ceilings must be thin. Hate having to tip toe around. Overall great place though.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sgilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,096
    2,947
    1,310
    437
    405
See reviews for
6,633
1,469
113
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall below average. We usually stay at Orange Lake and have a great time. The second day we were there 1/2 the tv channels went out for our entire stay. The phones went out one night for two hours in the entire complex. Sort of dangerous since six months ago a condo collapsed here. The internet is very slow, but you can upgrade if you give them $10 Also don't but Disney tickets here, they The internet is very slow, but you can upgrade if you give them $10 are 17 dollars higher than the park. On top of it all they tried to sell us a unit for $14,000....I don't think so!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights in September. Great experience. Quick and easy check in. Stayed in one bedroom villa which was perfect. Clean, very spacious. Loved the balcony and private pools scattered through resort. Had a 24 hour pool, which was great. Mini golf for cheap. Activities held throughout the day. Close to all the great nearby attractions. Great price for all you get. Very satisfied with stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

At first glance this is a very nice resort. The units look nice, the grounds are clean and well-kept, and you can see from the pictures others have posted that the units are relatively nice. But they have some real "quality" issues to make this a first-class resort.

Here were the good things about the resort:
1) The sleep quality is good. The beds are not too soft or too hard. We were worried about the location of the bedroom, since it was next to the outside walkway, but it was surprisingly quiet. The shades and curtains kept the room very dark even when it was sunny outside. The linens were of good quality.
2) Furnishings are typical condo-style. Nice looking but not all that comfortable. The flat-screen TVs are about 37". One in the living room and one in the bedroom.
3) Bath linens (towels and wash clothes) are quality.
4) The grounds and pools are beautiful and well-kept. The pool lounge chairs are very nice.
5) The mini-golf course is very nice and maintained well. It will cost you $5 per person to play, or you can buy a week's pass for up to 8 persons for $40. Not a bad deal really, since other places around Orlando charge around $12 per person.
6) The on-site pizza, ordered by phone and delivered to your room, was VERY good. This really surprised us, since we weren't expecting much.

Here is what needs to be fixed to make this a 1st class resort:
1) The units were dirty. While they look nice and modern at first glance, as we looked around we found them to be quite dirty, especially the floors and baseboards. All of the floors are tile except for the bedroom which is carpeted. Our bare feet and socks got filthy as we walked around the condo. I took a white washcloth, wet it, and wiped the floor in a 2x2 area and it came up black. It's all about quality control in housekeeping.
2) While the kitchen appliances are nice, the kitchen is minimally stocked with plates,etc. The coffee maker had two cheap motel-style off-brand bags of coffee with no extra filters. We had brought our own coffee, but had to go out and buy filters.
3) The paper products (toilet paper, facial tissue, paper towels) are very cheap. This may not seem like a big deal, but when you need toilet tissue you don't want "dollar-store" stuff. Come on, for a couple dollars more per guest they could make a big difference in this area. We actually had to go out and buy toilet paper and Kleenex. It's this kind of thing that makes the difference between a stay where you feel you are either staying in a quality resort or a cheap motel.
4) The pool towels are extremely cheap. They are very thin and are TINY....about the size of a small bath mat. We thought this was ridiculous. It took about 4 towels just to cover a lounge chair!

To recap, it really wouldn't take much to bring this resort up in quality, but they have some real issues. It is a often a fine-line between a place where you feel pampered and one where you feel cheap. This resort makes you feel like the "royal treatment" is just a veneer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lmban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at Summer Bay over the New Year period. Got off to a rocky start as RCI had not sent our booking to the resort but this was sorted quickly and we were given our room keys.

We were a party of 7 with a 2 bed condo and a 1 bed condo, the units were very spacious and well equipped. The 2 bed unit had a master bedroom with jacuzzi.

The resort had a free New Years eve party with Fireworks which was great fun and good atmosphere.

The resort is close to Disney and the hotel does provide complimentary transport but we did not use this as the frequency was very poor and it was hard to plan around the transportation times which was a shame as we would have saved a fortune in parking

There is a Publix supermarket and Deny's Diner at the entrance to the resort which was very useful.We also ate at the Pool Bar and the Pizza Restaurant which were both good and reasonably priced.

Other than one person on the front desk all of the staff were very helpful and I would definitely return although not around the Xmas/New Year period as the parks are too busy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornish-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Check-in should've been our first clue. Christmas week - a full-up resort - and the first place we walk into after an exceedingly long drive - is full of someone else's luggage. The front desk acted as if we were trying to loot the place - not as if THEY had made an error. After what was more of a blame-game on management's part - the mess was finally straigtened out - but not without making us feel like we were ruining someone else's Christmas by taking their condo. Then, the elevator kept going on the fritz - which might not have been an issue if hadn't had a guest with a scooter along - they don't work so well on stairs, if you haven't imagined already.) Once again, management acted incredibly put-out when we called to let them know about it.

I guess I'm used to more all-inclusive type places, or at least places where the little things are included in the price. Their miniature golf course was kind of small and sad, but was $5 per person to play. It was $12 per person to use the lake, but at least the freezing cold pools were free, right? The drinks at the pool bar were good, but expensive. The free shuttle service to the parks was a joke, so needless to say we ended up driving every day. At least WE were able to find back roads to the parks on our own - the staff was less-than-helpful in that department - (you would think they'd be familiar with the local roads - don't you people live nearby?!?) - that saved us a ton of time.

While the condo itself is nice enough and passably clean - they just don't go the extra mile. The toiletries were just okay, the paper towels were sub-budget, and the toilet paper was like sandpaper. Plus, you had to use so much of it to get yourself clean, I can't see how they're saving any money with it. The master bedrooms each had jetted tubs, but the jets themselves were so nasty, I was afraid to turn them on for fear of what might have been living up inside them.

The construction of the buildings appears to be somewhat sub-standard as well. The sliding doors don't line up correctly, none of the interior doors are hung right and either stick or swing open on their own. It's either shoddy construction or the building is shifting (perhaps sinking?) with time. Either way - this does not bode well.

With all of the competition in the area (hotels, condos, rentals, etc.) you'd think Summer Bay would go out of its way to make the guests WANT to come back - personally, I will be finding other accomodations the next time I return to Orlando.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Keeko5601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Driving onto the property, I was impressed by the landscaping and the style of the construction. However, the best part, the anticipation of that first glimpse of our room as you sweep the door open that first time was marred by the fact that the first thing we saw was somebody else's luggage. What a letdown! Took longer than it should have to straighten out, too! Management didn't seem too concerned, but we all wanted to stay together. Elevator kept breaking down all week, too. It was okay, but I won't hurry back. It's not like there's a lack of places to stay near Walt Disney World!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OllieBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 339 in Orlando
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing