We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for family getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Vandalia, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay for family getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a great time here with a young family of four (kids were 1.5 and 3.5 years old). We stayed in the one bedroom and while we would have preferred another bedroom, the space was adequate for all of us. They located us in the 500 series rooms, which was right next to Big Kahunas Bar & Grill and pool. We spent every day there and had a blast. The kids actually complained about going to Disney since they would have rather been swimming! Disney wasn't too far away, but the free shuttles were too restrictive for our nap schedules, so we just drove. It was about 30 minutes, not bad. The entertainment at the pool was great, and the kids enjoyed the music and activities. There was a dive-in movie at the pool which was a blast. The splash park area looked a bit older and my kids didn't really enjoy it but it was a very fun feature and most kids loved it. Overall, we had a great stay and any time we come back to Orlando, this is our first choice!!

Room Tip: Stay in the 500 series as it's near Big Kahunas and most of the activities are around here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,465
    2,563
    1,125
    378
    363
See reviews for
5,563
1,332
104
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We exchanged through RCI for one of the 3 bedroom houses on property. Check in was smooth. Contrary to other reviews, we were not harrassed to participate in a sales pitch. Everyone was quite helpful. When a problem occurred back home where my husband needed to have good Internet connections for his job, the resort came and made sure he was able to connect with no problems. We asked if the heat on the pool could be turned up and it was done immediately. The house was super clean and had everything we needed. 2 master suites allowed both couples in our party to be more than comfortable! There was a large Publix grocery right outside of the resort and most every restaurant that you can name, was within a short drive. This was by far our best exchange ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cinemenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at one of the houses at Summer Bay the first week in May. The view of the water was great. We had a unit with two large master bedrooms and a smaller room with two twin beds. The master bedrooms were very spacious, each with a king size bed, a jaccuzi and a shower. They each also had a ceiling fan, The only problem with the third bedroom was that my adult daughter who slept there was cold because the blanket was too small for an adult.The kitchen, living, and dining areas were spacious and nicely set up for all our needs. The private screen enclosed pool was just perfect for myself and my six year old grandson. we swam in it at least once, usually twice a day. The concierge asked us if the pool temperature was to our liking and we were able to have it heated to the temperature that we requested. The attached garage was an added convenience.The location was very conveniently close to the theme parks, shopping and restaurants. We would very definitely go back to this resort.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend staying at one of the houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from Summer Bay after a family vacation to Florida. This is not the first time I have stayed at this resort but it will be the last. I picked this resort because we had stayed here before and my children loved it. It had been about 5 years since and it has gone into dis-repair. The first room we were put into was not fit for a dog. The drapes and sheers were torn, carpet stained and smelt terrible. Condo was very small. The entrance way was full of little dead bugs. Kitchen counter-tops were missing pieces of linoleum.
I demanded to be moved and after a little fuss we were. However the manager avoided me when I went to get news keys and the new room assignment. They knew they were wrong. We were moved to the 400's units. Better but still with problems. We just stayed out as much as possible. On the day we were set to leave my daughter went to get a bit of cereal and proceed to vomit as there we ants all inside the box.
These ants are all over and very hard to deal with regardless of how clean we kept the place.

Everything is a separate charge. The WiFi is free but is very slow. You can upgrade for 10.oo a/week. If you need to do anything professional you will have to especially if you are using any smart phones or it will drop a lot. The beach has a nice little area with inflatables that cost 12 dollars per day per user. We skipped this as there was an alligator in the pond with the inflatables. A staff member on a jet ski did kindly shoo him away and we were told; "well this is Florida". And it is but hey "THAT'S MY KID in the water you charge people to go into."

The shuttle service only runs 3 times a day and comes back at 23:15 at the latest. It does not go to Downtown Disney and if you are planning on seeing the fireworks at Epcot or Hollywood Studios please drive because there will be no shuttle to get you back. They leave the parks before these shows even start and a cab will cost you about 37 dollars each way as "Summer Bay is the furthest resort from the park" - taxi company

I went on the timeshare tour to talk with someone about the conditions to try and have the next poor soul saved from going though what we went through. They admitted that were initially put into units that were not to be rented out further as they were do for an upgrade - but we booked through the Armed Forces Vacation Club and were not owners so we should not expect to be put up in the 500 units which were much nicer. It was funny because when we arrived my husband was thanked repeatedly for his service to our country but then given a less than a sub standard room for his efforts. I coul dhave been moved if I was interested in purchasing there.....I was sick.
They gave my 100 in gifts cards. I took them.

We did not move or leave because we, like many people on vacation, had a budget to keep. We were stuck there with the bugs and the Florida wildlife. I read the reviews and hoped for the best. It was a 50/50 shot and we lost. I will never go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank killerpoodle1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Summer Bay for 1-week between May 25/Jun 1. My wife and I had a 1-br unit in bldg 402 and I also reserved a 3-br/3-ba house for my 2-boys and their family - a total of 6-adults, 1 teen and 2 toddlers, spread between the 2 units. The house unit was very nice and roomy. They took advantage of the backyard pool and used the kitchen quite often for breakfast prior to going to the parks, as well as for snacking in the evening. The 1-br unit was also very nice and sufficient for me and the wife. The only problem we had was with the extremely hard mattress for the king bed. After sleeping on it for 1-night and feeling very sore the next morning, I complained to the front desk about it, requesting either a replacement mattress or move to another room. They promptly replaced the mattress later that morning (while we were out) with one that was acceptable, although it could of been a little more softer. We are used to plush, pillow-top type mattresses at home. Unlike some other comments here, we did not find anything dirty nor full of bugs. Yes, there were some bugs in and around the outside (hey, you're in a tropical climate!), but none inside. Everything was clean and fresh in both units we had. We did not find anything broken except for a sliding door alarm in the house unit. We reported this to maintenance and was taken care of the next day. Remember, this was a holiday weekend, so we did not expect this to be taken care of on a Sunday, however, they did come on Memorial Day Monday to work on it. This was our second trip/use of Summer Bay in the past 2-yrs, and both times were very nice. The grounds were very clean throughout the resort, the lawns were well manicured, and the flowers/shrubs were well taken care of. The staff were helpful whenever we needed to ask questions. We plan on going back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our 1st time at the resort. We were very impressed with the 2bdrm 2ba unit we exchanged for. The unit was overlooking a pond and a pool nearby. The building was in good condition and the unit in bldg 403 unit 303a was perfect. The unit was very spacious and clean. Very quiet side of the property. The unit had everything we needed for the week. We did not use the pool or other facilities because by the time we got back from the parks we went to bed. We did order a pizza from the restaurant and it was very good and full of toppings. The checkin staff was great, even called once we got to our room to verify that everything was good with the unit. we did take the TS tour and will try to exchange for 1 of the 3bdrm houses next time. Great property. Only downfall is the distance to Universal and Seaworld. The traffic was really bad at times.

Room Tip: Try to get bldg 403, it is right across from the main bldg with activities and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

staff and concierge were wonderful Wifi was great there was plenty to do we would definately recommend to friends& family. it was close to everything the sofa slept great. although I am very pleased with the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
0.4 mi away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate West
Quality Inn Maingate West
#6 of 17 in Clermont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
11.0 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
10.1 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#23 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing