We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a great week in Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a great week in Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous week in Florida. My husband and daughter and son-in-law stayed in a two bedroom condo at Summer Bay Resort. While we had no intention of purchasing their "points" package or "time share", we had to attend the presentation the next morning. It was a very enjoyable 2 hours. We were driven around the entire resort and got to see how all of the different rooms were situated. After it was over, we informed our salesman that we were not interested in a time share and said our goodbyes to him. We were never contacted again during our stay by anyone from the resort. A previous reviewer had said that he was constantly bothered by phone calls from Summer Bay salesmen during his entire stay. That never occurred with us.

The staff at Summer Bay were all very friendly. In fact one night my husband dropped a large bottle of wine right outside our condo door. We immediately called down to housekeeping and by the time we hung up the receiver, they were at our door cleaning up our mess. We also requested additional towels since we used several of the towels that were provided with our condo to start cleaning up the spilled wine. They actually gave us an additional 6 clean towels. They were very helpful and friendly to us.

We would definitely return to stay at Summer Bay. Their Big Kahuna bar has live music and great frozen drinks. We spent every night there ending our days of doing the Disney Parks and Universal Studios. Great way to wind down!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,593
    2,013
    874
    318
    322
See reviews for
4,363
936
69
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I felt that I should review this resort in response to the negative reviews it has received. This property was perfect for our family trip. We traveled with 4 adults (69-34) and one toddler.

The condo unit we received (204-102A) was more than adequate for our needs. It was easily accessible from everywhere on the property and was well equip. The wifi was free and we had a clear, strong signal in our unit at all times. We enjoyed the ground floor so our toddler could play on the patio and we could get to the BBQs easily. The check in (7pm) was breeze. The timeshare people (the resort calls it VIP) quickly understood that we were not interested and did not approach us at all.

Pros: easy check-in, no timeshare pressure, very large rooms and living space. Good, free wifi. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were clean and soft. Washer and dryer worked well (bring laundry soap and dryer sheets). The property landscaping was lovely. There were large, Weber barbeques throughout the resort that we used almost every night. The grills were always sparkling clean. The only pool we used was the Big Kahuna pool and we loved it. My toddler especially loved the zero depth entry, warm water and water fountains. The drive to Disney and Sea World was short (some traffic as to be expected), and the drive to Tampa for baseball and Busch Gardens was also pretty quick (about an hour). We used the Disney shuttle once which was free. We were able to take our stroller on the shuttle without an questions. We also us 'A Babies Best Friend' for rental of a play pen, high chair and toys. All were in perfect condition and very clean. The Pubix grocery store has everything we needed at very good prices.

Cons: carpet was stained in spots, the counter tops could use replacing. Our view was not great (marsh land). We would have liked screens on the patio doors to keep them open and enjoy the natural air instead of air conditioning. The pool towels were small and scratchy - bring your own.

Our experience: we did not see any cockroaches, we were never approached by timeshare sales people. The condo was perfect for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We rented 2 of the 2 Bedroom Condos located in the 402 building. I have absolutely no idea why anyone would give this resort a poor review. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We arrived about 4 hours prior to actual check-in time of 4pm. We were able to check-in at that time and the front desk staff took our cell phone number and called when our rooms were ready. They called around 2pm, which I never expected to be called any sooner than 4pm!! The resort was very clean and grounds were well kept, pools were all sparkling clear. The room had nice appliances and each kitchen was well stocked.
We ate at the restaurants located at resort which were a bit pricey but the food was plentiful and very good!
The drive to Disney and SeaWorld were very easy and took about 15 minutes. One morning we got off to a late start and the traffic was much heavier than our usual 8:30am drive.
I would definitely return to this resort for my next Florida vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth,Massachussets
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in after our flight and were tired we were met in parking lot by person trying to sell place.would not take no for answer to set il a meeting. Almost all of the amenities you had to pay for except swimming pools.would boy recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice place to stay. Gated resort. Rooms were well maintained. Living areas were big. Not much on views. No pressure on buying into their time shares. Not too far away from any of the area's attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

While being scammed by the summers bay system,It was brought to my attention about how time shares and summer vacationing were synonomous. while being ripped off by these crooks I find it necessary to report to anyone reading this, that summers bay resort and time share is the worst facility we ever dealt with, while they promise you the world, you actually only get 1 weeks vac every other year, but constantly pay maintenance fees. and always get the worst condo when you do go there. I would recommend to anyone do not consider getting a time share anywhere especially in florida. these are well thought about scams running amok in this country. you can plan and exercise your own vacation anywhere in the world without RCI, or these people. ,don't let them fool you, there is no bargain. it's all a big scam. I'm ashamed of myself for getting caught up in their nonsense. should of known better. For that I paid out my butt for something we couldn't use when we wanted to. The summersbay system should be ashamed of themselves, but, I know they won't be, because they're crooked and liars. I do not reccommend anyone buying into summers bay condos or the RCI SYSTEM, YOU CAN DO IT YOURSELF AND ENJOY IT SO MUCH MORE. SINCERLY MICHAEL COMBS

Room Tip: stay away from these people. they are the best scam artists in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are here at Summer Bay on the last night of our 5 night package. This is our second time here in the last 3 years. Both times we came as part of a pay almost nothing and stay at the resort but you have to listen to the time share pitch. We didn't buy the timeshare the first time but thought the resort was beautiful, so we agreed to do it again. We didn't buy the timeshare the second time either but we will consider it in the future.
Bottom line, the resort facilities were imaculate and very well maintained. I travel extensively on business and would consider this as in the top of the market for this type of acomodations. Our two bedroom Villa ws gorgeous. The sports and activity facilities are great. location is fine at about a half hour from Disney, or in my case half an hour from the convention centre.
The sales pitch was not a hard sell but they did give their best efforts to show us they had a program that was worth investing in.
Both trips were just my wife and I, but this is a great place for families and I will recomend it to my friends.
I've read some negative reviews, but we have had 2 very enjoyable stays here and will likely be back.

Room Tip: Although the lake is small a room with a view of the lake is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
0.4 mi away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
13.9 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,143 reviews
9.9 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#151 of 334 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate West
Quality Inn Maingate West
#5 of 17 in Clermont
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing