We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome! Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts to your Saves list
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% OFF: TA Exclusive
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

i stayed here with my son and husband the week before Christmas. The unit was clean and extremely nice. During our weeklong stay, I saw one waterbug. No real insect problem. Yes, the timeshare salespeople will call but don't answer the phone. Or if you don't want to be bothered, tell them no. My 2 year old son loved the park and the waterpark on the property. The location is extremely close to Denny's, Publix and a few other stores. The Publix is a bit overpriced on some items but there is a Super Target just five minutes down the road. Also, we were just 10 to 15 minutes away from Disney. The washer and dryer in the room is extremely convenient and the jacuzzi tubs are great! Definitely take advantage of eating on the patio, wonderful views! My main complaint is that the selection of TV channels were horrible! Being so close to Disney and Universal Studios, I was really surprised they didn't have Disney Jr or Nick Jr to entertain my son in the mornings and before bedtime. Overall, we had a great time and would love to stay here again when we visit Orlando!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nat0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,284
    1,811
    773
    286
    305
See reviews for
3,808
874
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wanted to take my family on a trip to Disney. We agreed to take the 90/120 minute tour to get 2 Disney tickets and a nice place to stay for a good price.

Here is what actually happened. Because of the storms that went through Mobile, AL on December 25, 2012, we ended up arriving late. We spoke with the people on the phone and they said that would not be a problem. When asked if we could do the tour the next day since it would not be our arrival or departure date, they said it would be NO problem. My wife and I got up early to head to the welcome center. Once there, we were told that all of the times were booked for that day and that we would have to go on the tour the next day. First lie. We came back the next day expecting a 90/120 minute tour of the timeshares. Their 90/120 minute tour lasted almost 180 minutes. There is NO way that the tour would take just 90 minutes or even 120 minutes. Second lie. When we decided not to buy into the timeshare, which we actually considered a lot, they treated us like second class citizens. They were very rude. The lady that was showing us around slammed her book close and took off. She didnt even say, well maybe the next time you come back, come speak with me. Then they said a representative from the company would come over close us out and give us the vouchers for the Disney tickets. That took another 20 minutes. He tried to sell us a "hold" for the next time we vistied. We finally got the voucher and headed down stairs. We then had to wait another 30 minutes to get the tickets. In all, we spent about 3.5 to 4 hours at the center. During that time, Disney World closed down because it had reached maximum capacity. We ended up going about 3 pm and stayed till Midnight.

The place itself. Well, I gave it an average review. There were a few things good and a few things bad about it. First for the good. My wife loves to take a hot relaxing bath in a big tube. The large tub in the master bathroom was just what she wanted. There was a washer and dryer, so we could do clothes while on property. They gave a welcome bag with some detergent in it. It seemed cleaned until the last day. We did not eat at all in the condo, but found a few dead roaches on the floor the last day. The tile in the living room needed to be redone. Working construction while in college, I could tell that some of the tile was loose and needed to be repaired. I could crack by just a large person stepping on it. It sounded hollow. Also, not the fault of the resort, but the people above us got up every day at 5 am and started walking around and doing clothes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family stayed over Christmas week in a 2 bedroom unit in building 105. I found the condo to be better than some reviews I'd read. The resort is in a good location, is on very nice, well-maintained property, and is full of things to do. Close to shopping (the proximity of the Publix store is excellent), reasonably close to Disney, easy to navigate to/from.
The only thing I would say is that the shuttle bus to/from Disney could run a little more frequently. We were lucky enough to get on the bus the one and only time we took it, but many were left standing at the curb, SOL. Also, in this day and age, charging for internet is a bit much.
The condo was not as aged as I'd read about in the reviews, although, for a little bit more money, when building they should have invested in higher quality cupboards and granite counter tops. This is more a general comment, not a complaint as it made no difference other than from an aesthetics standpoint. Blackout curtains in the master bedroom would have been good, as the lights from the exterior walkways shone through the blinds at night. Numerous items were missing from the kitchen but when I called needing a salad bowl, I received one very quickly. Basics such as tea towels and laundry soap and dishwasher soap were a bit light, they could be more generous like other resorts in providing a reasonable amount for someone staying a week.
Staff at the Big Kahuna bar were very nice. The daily phone call from the timeshare office was not appreciated, considering we'd requested "do not call" upon check in, but the persistent fellow was very polite.
Beach is nice to relax on but I'm not sure I'd actually swim in that lake. It looks a bit stale.
Pools were great, kids water park great, gas BBQ's greatly appreciated (and not available at other resorts nearby, such as Orange Lake).
Overall, we liked it and would return to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ECSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we stayed at Summer Bay Resort at Christmas week every thing was good except the internet connection not working at the unit even slow at the clubhouse, free shuttle to the supermarket was
a good help but the one to the parks was not good and times was limited, the resort is very far from all attraction about 40$ for a taxi and when we take the free shuttle to the parks it goes to 2-3 other resorts before taking you to the parks same for the return so you lose about 3 hours daily at the shuttle and it's not comfortable then when they take you to the first park they asked you to use the disney shuttle or monorail to continue and that was very full because of christmas. so dont go unless you have your own car orgo to other resorts which close to the parks with the same price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jomanabeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at Summer Bay week of 12/15- 12/22 in a two bedroom condo in building 208. No complaints at all. Unit was clean, spacious and comfortable and appeared to be recently updated with new flat screen TV's. Grounds were nicely kept and staff were helpful and friendly. Didn't have any children along so can't speak to the activities for kids.

Convienently located about 15 minutes from Disney parks with no traffic problems. Lots of restaurants in the area from family dining to a few nicer places.

Overall would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JERROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week to go to disney and it was great. The 2 bedroom villa with 2 bathrooms was very spacious and affordable. It also had a full kitchen which was very useful during breakfast. Their internet connectivity was not very good and their sysyem for internet use at the business center is horrible. Besides that, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aamayora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This resort is a timeshare property and we do own here. The main part of the resort has not changed a lot in 13 years we have owned. They have added additional buildings and several pools with zero entry. Although not really warm they were okay (I tried all of them). The hot tubs were very good. The rooms are quite comfortable and the 2 bedroom handicapped accessible unit we had was set up pretty well with a roll in shower. We did have a couple of different families above us with young children that did not seem to stay still and ran around the main living area above us when they were in the unit. Thankfully they did go to sleep by 10pm but were up and moving furniture across the floor. I was again disappointed that the only free wireless wifi was at the clubhouse. I pointed out at the sales presentation that was unacceptable. Do not believe the promises since the sales staff really can't promise anything. We had great weather until the last couple of days during the 2 weeks we stayed there. We had flat screen tvs which were great. They do charge for minature golf. Location on the west end of 192 is okay with a number of new restaurants opening close by with a super Wall Mart just up 27. No pizza cutter or bread knife and only one skillet ,and you have to request a cookie sheet.

Room Tip: I would make sure you request a unit in the 400 or 500 buildings and as high up as possible. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
0.4 mi away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
9.9 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#152 of 338 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
13.3 mi away
Coco Key Hotel and Water Park Resort
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing