We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A true 3 star resort - Telling it like it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex County, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A true 3 star resort - Telling it like it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

It appears the unit we stayed in has not been updated. We had a 2 bedroom and it was small and dark. The master bath had a sink in a cabinet that didn’t offer any counter top space to put amenities on. The furniture was quite uncomfortable and since my daughter and I both came down with something, we had to spend quite some time in the room. The master bedroom had a king bed and the 2nd bedroom had 2 twin beds. We usually find 2 bedroom units we stay in these days have double beds in the second bedroom, but this room was too small to fit anything but twins. Our unit did not have a balcony either. This is something I really enjoy while on vacation. Coming from the cold, it’s nice to be able to sit outside in the morning with coffee and read. Instead, I had to stay in our dark dingy unit :-(
Kitchen was also very small. Not much counter top space for cooking. They have a coffee maker and there isn’t even enough room to open the lid to make coffee.
The second bathroom did have a larger cabinet with counter top space for putting amenities on. Smart, instead of putting 2 sinks in.
Peeve – the bathrooms have 1 light switch which will turn on the light AND fan. Great for waking someone up in the middle of the night if you need to use the bathroom. It’s hard to be quiet when you have to turn on a noisy fan.
Internet: they charge for internet service AND, they nickel & dime you here…if you have 2 computers (as my husband & I did – mine is a work issued computer so I can only use it for business) they charge you for a second computer to use the wireless in the SAME ROOM!
The pool: the lounge chairs were extremely uncomfortable. It was impossible to lie flat since it was virtually impossible to get the backs to go down. They are pretty stained (I’m guessing from sun screen and all). The pool was heated here, but they don’t heat the little water park pool area for the kids. Also, they really cheap out on the drinks, however, the prices seem to be in line with some 5 star resorts we’ve stayed in in the area. I didn’t get to enjoy my true vacation experience by the pool. The first day with a subpar drink and that was it for my entire stay! I’m good for a few drinks to say the least. Even my husband agreed with me on this one. The food was also “ok”. Nothing to get excited about.
The room had a DVD player. Do yourself a favor, walk or drive over to Publix where there is a RedBox. The rental unit they have on the resort is a waste. Movies are $4 and most of them have been on TV for years already.
They did hit us up as soon as we checked in to get us to do a tour. The first thing we always do upon entering our room is, we disconnect the phones.
All in all, I think the resort needs to spend some money on upgrading a few things (units, pool, bar…). The return should be quick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reallyobnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,927
    2,229
    965
    338
    340
See reviews for
4,822
1,088
83
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was sceptical of going here after reading the reviews but I honestly have no idea how anyone could find fault with this resort. Beautiful grounds, lots of activities and fantastic condo style suite. Was really easy to get to the theme parks in our rental car or they have a shuttle. We only wished we had paid for less days in the parks so we could have relaxed at the resort and enjoyed it more. We only swam in 2 of the pools and used the shuffleboard and tennis. There were so many more ammenities we could have taken advantage of if we would have had more time. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here several times in an upper condo and loved it.....clean and up to date....then this time we stayed in a ground floor unit and there were large palmetto bugs that come out at night and early morning...these are 3inch "helicoptor" roaches...be sure to wear shoes when walking in your unit....I called front desk to report and they were apologetic/and said they would look into it......we still left a day early....this is our last visit for now...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently returned from two weeks at Summer Bay, which we booked through RCI. We were a party of 8 adults travelling from London so it was going to be quite an expensive holiday and we were anxious to 'get it right' with the accommodation. RCI told us how wonderful it was so we booked well in advance, and since then I've seen so many bad reviews on TA and also on the RCI website that I was worried what we were going to find. I needn't have worried though - we all agreed the accommodation and the resort was great. We had two apartments next to each other, they were both spacious and clean and generally well appointed. The kitchen could have been a little better equipped - you had to specifically request a kettle and there was nothing to put food on to go in the oven, for example - but those are very minor things. Not having WiFi in the rooms seems rather strange in this day and age but having said that, it probably did us a favour, otherwise the 2 teenagers with us would have been a lot less sociable! A couple of tips - we were glad to use our hire cars to go to the theme parks. We'd opted for Universal Studios rather than Disney and the shuttle bus to Universal from the resort isn't free of charge, nor is it frequent. Each theme park charges around $12-15 per car, but if you come and go more than once in a day there's only the one charge. We found Publix to be quite pricey for food - there's a Super Target not far from the resort which is far cheaper, unless you're looking for real top quality goods. And finally, if you've had enough of parks and want an evening in with a DVD - if you're from the UK, consider bringing your own. The resort offers DVD hire but this is via a machine and we discovered it doesn't like any of the UK credit cards we tried. Others from the UK found the same. I'd definitely stay at Summer Bay again - it's not on top of the parks but it's very easy by car. I'd also recommend the Boggy Creek airboat ride while you're there - not easy to find, but great fun!

Room Tip: We were in block 408 - very quiet, overlooking a pool and a lake, though I'm told we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are staying here, our first time. Our room was not what we expected by the pictures showed. At check in the staff was just hanging around behind the desk, not very professional.
The master bedroom was very small, and it didn't have a whirlpool tub like the pictures showed. Old furniture, not the nicest kept up. No place to sit out at night, no balcony. Just 2 chairs and a plastic table outside our door. You had to walk about a block to use the grill. Will not stay here again. Totally not what the pictures showed and thought we were getting.

Room Tip: Ask for a building with a balcony Bldg 401. Close to pool and grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed with my sister at a Summer Bay Timeshare. It was a 3 bedroom 3 bath house with a enclosed swimming pool just outside the door. Lots of room for all of us. There is also a sleep sofa in the living room. 3 flat screen tvs ( one in each bedroom) and a large flat screen HD TV in the living room. A huge dining room table as well as an eat in kitchen and a washer and dryer. We had a slight problem with roaches, but after one call to the front desk they sent pest control and the problem was solved. So many places within the resort, there is a Denny's and a Publix on site. They offer a shuttle bus to Disney and around the property if needed. There are planned activities for the whole family to enjoy. We would like to return to Summer Bay.

Room Tip: Try to get a house away from the clubhouse or the big kahuna pool. The one we had was on a quiet si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TugTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just got back from a ten night stay here with family. The rooms were clean, spacious and fairly well equiped, although there is no kettle if you're a tea drinker!
The room configuration was a little strange if you're a large party of adults. The adjoining rooms we had were linked by a small private hallway and the 2 front doors were side by side. The rooms together were said to sleep 12 adults but this is only the case if its 6 couples and 2 couples don't mind sharing a room, as there are 3 superking sized bedrooms, 2 double beds in 1 room and 2 superking sofa beds in the lounges!
That aside, this was a very nice place to stay. The grounds are kept immaculately, all communal areas are clean and the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.
We only really used it as a base so can't comment about many of the facilites but the pool areas were lovely and there appears to be a separate pool for each group of 3 blocks.
Ours also had a hot tub and a small lake which was pretty to look over in the morning.
There was plenty of parking space by each block and a guard at the gate to make sure only residents come in.
If you need to use internet on holiday take your own laptop/ipad with you as the internet service provided otherwise is $0.20 a minute and $0.75 per page to print on top of that! Very expensive but if you sit in the lobby you can access their internet for free.
The only problem we encountered was the lawn mower outside our bedroom window at 7.30am once a week! Not very considerate!!
The location is perfect for the attractions, being a half hour drive to Universal & the water parks, less than that for Disney and about 1hour 20 to Busch Gardens.
If you're stocking up on food & drink, don't use the Publix supermarket next door, its very expensive for most things. Head to the Supertarget down the road instead! All the local restaurants we tried were very good and great value for money.
You really need a car if you're staying here as buses in the area seemed scarce and it's really easy to get around by car.
As for the time share thing, we were almost duped once by one guy but we told him we were already with RCI and weren't interested and he left us alone!
I'd definitely recommend this resort for couples or familes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwalk33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clermont
0.4 mi away
Crown Club Inn Orlando By Exploria Resorts
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate West
Quality Inn Maingate West
#5 of 17 in Clermont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#22 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,250 reviews
11.0 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#17 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts

Property: Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Address: 17805 US Highway 192, Clermont, FL 34714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Clermont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Clermont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you seek relaxation, exploration, or inspiration, Summer Bay Orlando by Exploria Resorts has something for the whole family. Experience a luxury family destination that delivers the thrill of Orlando's world-renown attractions with the comforts of a leisure getaway. Enjoy all the highlights of our 400-acre lavishly landscaped resort and 64-acre private lake, located a mere 10 minutes from Walt Disney World Resort. Summer Bay Orlando is the perfect Florida getaway for family, fun, and freedom.Luxury accommodations: Why settle for a cramped room when you can settle into a spacious sanctuary? From roomy hotel accommodations to two or three bedroom fully furnished condominiums, we've got you covered with home-style comfort. Enjoy a homemade dinner with the family. Step out on your balcony to watch a glorious Florida sunset. Or take the night off and watch a movie on your flat screen TV. Stress-free park hopping: hop on our complimentary shuttle to Epcot(R), Magic Kingdom(R) Park or Universal Studios Florida(R).Fun in the sun: Whether your goal is a relaxing escape or a spectacular adventure, Summer Bay Orlando can fulfill your desire with a host of activities, amenities, and dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Bay Hotel Clermont
Summer Bay Resort Orlando
Summer Bay Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing