We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Thai.. Make reservations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai & Friends Restaurant

Thai & Friends Restaurant
Ranked #137 of 195 Restaurants in Clermont
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Description: Located inside "The Palace Motel"
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Thai.. Make reservations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Call ahead before visiting... not a traditional restaurant as they dont have a large staff. if he gets too many people, rather than the service going downhill... he locks the door and takes care of his current customers. once your in the the door, you will get great service. Make reservations! small groups only. not the best location but a hidden gem... Panang curry chicken, fire plate chicken... Thai tea. Best thai food I have eaten and i have tried a lot of thai.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Surprised by this place. Best pad Thai I've had aside from Thailand itself.... I'm eager to come back here again and try more. Almost didn't come in when I found the door locked at 7 pm, but the owner opened and wow am I glad I came in. One word. Authentic. Will return with my family and I live over an hour away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishybashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Please don't let the old hotel keep from this place. The food is amazing, the owner is so friendly. Please help support this place, so they may be able to find a better location to show case their out of this world food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pandi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
276 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Different Thai Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wasn't sure if we made the right choice for dinner as the restaurant is located in a much to be desired motel. Our doubts really climbed when the only entrance was on the exterior, the door was locked, and we had to wait for the owner to peruse us through the glass before letting us in. However, once inside, things got better.

Otto, the owner, has a charm about him that combines friendliness with an attitude that some might find abrasive at times. We found this charming and funny and could see why customers with a sense of humor return and why so many reviews talk as much about him as they do the food.

If you are in a hurry, this is not the place to go as the food takes quite awhile to come out. The main reason is that the place is understaffed. Otto does everything out front from checking the door to answering the phone, to taking orders, to serving, and cleaning up. Since our chicken satay and spring rolls came out luke warm, we presume that they sat in the kitchen for awhile before he got around to bringing them out.

The food was very good. The spring rolls were crisp and the chicken satay tender with a good peanut sauce. The wonton soup was a large bowl with four light wontons in it and did come out out. We split one order of pad thai and it was different than any other we had before, not better or worse, just different and we did enjoy it.

The prices seemed a little high but not enough to deter us from returning. Overall, a nice meal with a somewhat unusual but friendly character as the owner and our server.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank solara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love Thai & Friends. Great Thai food and wonderful people. The owners are very personable, go out of their way to make you comfortable and give you the thai food experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swasden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai & Friends Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai & Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing