We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Lake Louisa State Park
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Clermont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
southboundtraveler
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Love the state park. good to see the real florida being preserved. There is a beach at one end of thepark where you can have a picnic and also cabins to rent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southboundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    122
    25
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to take your horse for a trail ride.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great park,I have seen lots of animals,deer,hawks,eagles,turtles. They have great trails.worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Luanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I took a picnic there and spent the day. The views are nice, good place for some walks as well as biking. Fun for a change of pace.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gtJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Wonderful”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been here several times over the years. It is a very peaceful locations where even the camp sites are quiet.

Plenty of nature walks available and lots of wildlife around.

The lake always looks very welcoming and each visit I have wanted to jump in but my other half always points out the rather large 'DANGER - ALIGATORS SPOTTED HERE' sign!

I'm sure we will continue to visit here for years to come.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“The cabins are the nicest I've ever seen, modern & clean”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staying in a cabin at Lake Louisa is not really camping. The completely modern 2-bedroom, 2-bath cabin had central heat and A/C, a gas fireplace, a Jen-aire stove & oven, granite countertops and a huge screened wrap around porch. There's a side entrance to the "master" bedroom directly from the porch, so people in that bedroom can come and go without bothering people in the main cabin. There was a double bed in the master bedroom, two twin beds in the other bedroom, and a fold-out couch that could sleep two more. Linens, TP and even paper towel were provided. There are several grocery stores within two miles of the park entrance, so getting provisions is easy. There's a great Mexican restaurant on 27 in a Publix shopping center just north of the park, and there's also a MacDonald's near by.

The cabins overlook a nice lake, and there is a large mowed yard area between the cabins and the lake. There were several anthills in the yard, about the closest thing we saw to real camping in the cabin area. Each cabin has an outdoor grille, as well as a fire pit and a picnic table.

The park is mostly for hiking (flat sandy trails), horseback riding (there's an equestrian campground) and fishing (several lakes) They have a few canoes and kayaks for rent from the ranger station at the entrance. There is a lake for swimming with a decent sandy beach, but you might have to walk through some muck to get to the water from the sand if it's not rainy season. The lake has a great wooden deck area with nice bathrooms.

You can ride bikes on the paved park roads, and there aren't too many cars to contend with. There are a few hills, but not very high. It might be a bit difficult to ride mountain bikes on the trails, because the trails I hiked were all really sandy.

I saw four deer near Lake Louisa late in the afternoon. A coyote crossed our path on one hike. We heard wild hogs at night not too far from our campfire. There were plenty of birds.

The campground areas were clean and modern, with flush toilets, hot water, showers and a washer & dryer. Most of the campers were in RVs. We saw only a few tents. There weren't too many shady spots, which can be a problem when camping in Florida, particularly from late spring to late fall.

The rangers were very nice, but park budgets are very tight, so unfortunately there weren't any ranger programs or specific activities for children.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kleetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louisa State Park also viewed

Clermont, Lake County
Clermont, Lake County
 

Been to Lake Louisa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing