We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best bbq in the area”
Review of Poppa's BBQ

Poppa's BBQ
Ranked #53 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Award Winning BBQ Restaurant.Slow Smoked Pulled Pork. Mouth Watering Baby Back Ribs.Dine In or Take Out. Catering Available.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hands down best bbq in the area”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Truly great pulled pork, real savory ribs and the most amazing chicken bbq i have ever eaten. Price for food is excellent aswell as portions. Place is small but the fresh out of the bbq food is BIG.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    48
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wow! What a hidden gem. Delicious BBQ that was coming out of the smokers as we were sitting there. Great specials. I wish I lived closer

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pulled Pork Heaven”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is fantastic BBQ with the best prices in the area. Food comes out fast, fresh and hot. Perfect for lunch breaks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jashoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great small bbq!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Being married to a recent calorie counter convert, I have been subjected to healthy, and occasionally tasty meals for the past year or so. When business took me to Clearwater by myself, I asked my phone "best bbq clearwater," and this was tje first on the list.
My only slightly negative is the lack of seating, but that was a positive omen.
I had the half rack with cole slaw and potato salad. The potato salad was decent, and the cole slaw was excellent in that the greens were very lightly flavored in the sauce, and drowned in it.
But I did not come for the sides.

The ribs were exquisitely tender with a home made tangy sauce that I am bringing home with me ($4/jar). I heartily recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phlypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Pinellas Park”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I come here at least once a week - you can't beat the pulled pork sandwich here. For the price, you could eat at a fast food chain or you could have really, really good BBQ. There is no where really close to here that compares. The earlier you get there the better - parking and seating are very limited.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smithmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppa's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Poppa's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing