We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby”

Bascom's Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
Bascom's Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 700 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Bascom's Chop house is a comfortable, yet elegant American restaurant.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I ate here for the first time for a business dinner. The overall decor was nice, some wear and tear noted. Appetizers were very good. I had a filet for dinner and to be critical, may have been a little too rare for my liking, I ordered medium. The steak wasn't bad by any means but was far from the best steak I've ever had. Dessert was delicious but small. I'd definitely recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBLJTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    146
    70
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Bascom's”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband has visited Clearwater several times for work. Each time he comes home he says he has eaten at Bascom's. He tells any of his coworkers going to Clearwater that they should try Bacom's. I actually had a chance to accompany him to Clearwater and to Bascom's. He was right the food was great. I had the Seared Scallops and my husband had the Prime Rib. Our waiter George was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but pricey with slow service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice, quiet atmosphere. Classy way of matching napkin to clothing (eg if black slacks, black napkin). Started with crab in martini glass. Delicious! Ordered 4 meals but they went to another table so they had to reorder (did give us 2 free desserts but the wait was ridiculous). House salad is wonderful. My entree was prime rib medium, came out medium rare. Sent back and it came back well done. Not much flavor left at that point. Had to keep trying to flag down the waiter to get water refills. Would go back again but be more careful about order and instructions to waiter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good steak but pricey”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just ate here and the food was delicious. We shared the crab cakes, which were fabulous. He had the lamb which was cooked perfectly and he loved it. I had the fillet it was a little over cooked, but had wonderful flavor. It was a little on the pricey side, so I you are looking for something budget friendly stick to whatever special they are offering that day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great steaks, pricy”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bascom's is an old style steak house, and was very busy during our visit there. The lump crab appetizer and the steak was excellent. The price for dinner and wine was above average for this type of establishment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom4628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bascom's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Bascom's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing