We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True BBQ”
Review of Smokey Bones

Smokey Bones
Ranked #60 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“True BBQ”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

2 indoor seating areas, outdoor seating as well. Huge circular bar. TV's everywhere. Been multiple times, always crowded, lined up out the door every night. Longest wait was about an hour. Quite noisy, you will be shouting to converse. Food is good. BBQ is slow cooked, very tender. Huge burgers. Sides rather pricey. Great fresh cooked mini donuts for dessert . Attentive wait staff. 4 Bbq sauces on the table. Take out available. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAICCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    133
    44
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A lot better than most sports bars”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The big screen TVs and sports themes are everywhere which can mean the beer is better than the food, but not in this case. Three of us for lunch enjoyed a perfectly prepared steak, a salmon entree and pasta in tomato with grilled chicken. The options for sides were flexible and her broccoli was just crispy and not over cooked. Service was first rate and the iced tea glasses were replaced at regular intervals and not just topped off.Of course the real test is Texas brisket but they didn't serve it for lunch as it is still being cooked until 4PM. So another trip is in order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“PRETTY GOOD”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Service was good..Jeffrey was attentive to our needs..My pulled pork was a bit dry.. My wife's ribs were good..Portions are good..Overall pretty good..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugman33772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited here 3 times whilst on vacation in Clearwater. You know a place is good when there is a wait at the door and the locals all go there! On our first visit we all ordered starters - the portions are HUGE - so we learned after our first visit that 1 or 2 starters were enough to share! The food is amazing, very tasty!! ribs, brisket, steak - it's all amazing and HUGE HUGE portions, we could never finish all our food and would always take the leftovers home with us! Service was great. Definately recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More then just BBQ”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bring your taste buds. They will be happy. I have not had a bad meal here. The staff are friendly and you will leave pleased.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelbyhubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing