We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Hotel like the Plague!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this Hotel like the Plague!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Given the current state of our economy I find myself searcing for signs that capitalism works and that we as a nation will be ok. The Candlewood Suites shook my faith in America and the free market to its core. I do not understand how a business could be run so poorly and not go out of business. I will attempt to classify the terribleness of the experience, but understand that you really had to be there.
The hotel does not have any rooms with 2 beds in them. This is the type of thing that one wants to know in advance, when they specifically request 2 beds.
They do have 1 single air mattress that they are willing to loan out. The air mattress doesn't have a pump that goes with it. They let you figure this out for yourself.
The night staff seems to have been bused in from the local prisons or mental hospitals.
House cleaning comes on a weekly (if you are lucky) basis.
Nonsmoking rooms, smell like a mixture of smoke and the elderly.

For the rest of my live driving anywhere within 20 minutes of this hotel, my skin will crawl and I will be filled with a rage that can not be sated.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philliesphan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    66
    37
    14
    25
See reviews for
43
62
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed for 14 nights so got a pretty good idea of the place. It is really geared for extended stay - rooms are quite spacious and generally well equipped but the 'full kitchen' doesn't include a grill or a frypan so that ruled out some meals we fancied. True, there is a BBQ outside but it was too cold and dark to cook steaks outside on March evenings. The free CD and DVD library is a really useful feature which other hotels should emulate. The small shop is also a worthwhile feature. We didn't get any free popcorn in our suite but microwaved a couple of bags of our own. The staff are really exceptionally helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. One member of the team (Bea) even helped us get a cheap telephone card (1c a minute!) card to call the UK when we had some family health problems to discuss which was really much appreciated. There are a couple of maintenance issues - the pool was not clean enough for my liking on 3 out of the 4 occasions I wanted to use it. Somebody needs to clean it every day, not wait a week for the pool guy. Some tiles are loose outside reception, somebody will file an injury claim before long if they don't get fixed. I did mention it but nothing happened while we were there. There is free internet but only if you have your own laptop, we didn't and you would be amazed how difficult it is to find public internet when you need it. The location is pretty convenient for car travel but there are really no proper restaurants within walking distance which does not really suit us, if that's not a factor for you I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

this place was very very clean. it sparkled. very sweet smelling. free large bag popcorn in room. free newspapers.

staff very friendly and very helpful. did everything to make me feel at home. always smiling

laundry facility is free next to exercise room, so thats convenient. also free high quality coffee 24 hours.

only disappointment was lack of free computer so i could check my internet at my leisure. (i didnt bring a laptop)

  • Liked — pets and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no desktop with internet for guests
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We booked online and I was hesitant about doing so, because the price seemed too ridiculously low to be for anything of quality. We were very pleasantly surprised to see a lovely one-bedroom suite, with leather recliner, beautiful kitchen -complementary popcorn placed in the microwave, comfortable bed, large bathroom, very clean and spacious. Although we did not have time to use the pool, it looked beautiful as well. There is a free fitness room, laundry room and convenience "store" based on the honor system -with everything you would need for a snack, breakfast or late night supper. It is easy to locate and only minutes from shopping or the beach.

  • Liked — spacious suite-style room & laundry /convenience store
  • Disliked — didn't find a thing we didn't like
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring,Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed for eight nights to help a relative with a medical procedure. The beds were excellent. Every night was a great sleep. We were on the 3rd floor and there was no noise. We had to cook each night and that was very convenient. I recommend a ceiling fan should be added to the room to circulate the air. The a/c was very cool but was slow coming on when you needed it. We had to constantly reset the thermostat. We will stay there again!

  • Liked — The full kitchen
  • Disliked — No ceiling fan
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasAmazing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here numerous times just to "get out of the house." We have stayed in the Studio and the Suites of this establishment. The staff have always been very friendly. If you want more towels, pillows, coffee, whatever, they will get it for you right away. The pool is small but clean. They have a fitness room as well. If you are looking for scenic beach views, this place is NOT for you. For that you have to pay a lot more and settle for little to no amenities unless you pay for them.
Try to book thru AAA or one of the discounters to get a better rate, just like any other place you would stay at.

For the bolder chef, they have a nice gas grill or you can bring food that can be heated in a microwave or on the stove. They also have a small coffee maker and toaster in EVERY room.

For groceries, I recommend the Publix on East bay drive and US 19 or go East to the Publix on Ulmerton road across from Feather Sound. Candle wood does provide food and essentials on the honor system, but it is priced higher.

Some of the reviews you will read talk about the carpets, noisy housekeepers, etc. My wife and I have stayed here at least 10 times in the past 3 years. Noise has not been an issue, ever. The rooms are being upgraded with new carpets and furniture.
Our room has always been clean.

As you read the reviews, keep in mind that many nice to have things are provided without paying extra. (How often do you see that?)

The complimentary washers and dryers are a nice plus. (Yes, they are free.) We appreciate the full size fridge, large microwave, stove even a dishwasher. (Even in the studio) Each room has plates, glasses, pots, pans, silverware...making it nice if you want to heat up a meal or take-out on a plate. They have videos and dvds available without cost, along with a CD player. Add some candles and you can have a nice romantic get-away.

  • Liked — The room...everything you could need is there. This is THE place for the 30-85 age group and the business travelor.
  • Disliked — Not a place for teens...small pool and no game room. No malls or attractions nearby.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank staycationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed here from Aug 1 to 5th, very friendly staff, good central location, and very clean. Beds were great, my wife has some neck problems and she was worried that a strange bed might aggravate her neck, but the beds were excellent. Large bathroom w/tub.

Can't stress how nice and clean the property was.

There is a vacant grocery store next door which is the only sore point, but other than overgrown grass, there was no garbage.

Parking lot was well lit at night which we like, regardless of where we travel.

Without hesitation, we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Central location to beaches and airport
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FreddyBeach313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 98 in Clearwater
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 98 in Clearwater
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#31 of 98 in Clearwater
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Property: Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Address: 13231 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing