We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical for a Candlewood Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical for a Candlewood Suites”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is pretty much what you expect out of a Candlewood Suites. It's a little out of the way, but you're going to have to drive everywhere in the Tampa area anyway so that's not a big deal. The rooms are reasonably sized, there's the usual fridge/kitchen combo, and it's reasonably priced.

My only gripe was that they didn't seem to be giving any recognition for being IHG Platinum. I know IHG has been pushing for their new elite recognition program, so that was a small let down, but nothing significant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pseudosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear pseudosphere,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize if your stay was negatively affected by the non recognition of your IHG Rewards Club membership. Rest assured, we always take pride in providing service to IHG Rewards Club member like you and will always be grateful for choosing our brands. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    65
    37
    14
    25
See reviews for
40
62
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times this winter and hotel is very nice and clean. 1st time we were upgraded to a Suite because we are INH Platium members. 2nd time on February we had to stay in the handicapped room and not so great. Our platium membership did not do us much good on that stay. Everything was clean and staff is very good, just disappointed that we did not get a better room suited to our needs. Will stay again and hopefully get a better room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylLaGrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was here for a month or so a couple of years back. This place is great. They have a cool honor system for food. Will definitely stay there again! The staff was friendly, there was a lot to do in the area and the place was clean. I really like the kitchen area. Great value!

Room Tip: Get a corner room if possible. They seem a bit bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsilverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just stayed here one night before a cruise. It is extremely close to PIE airport which we flew into. I thought the room was nicely appointed and clean. The area is a little industrial/commercial, but not a scary area by any means. 20 minutes or so to the beach (do Indian Rocks over the commercialized Clearwater). Staff was pleasant and accomodating. We had a great rate and got good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmodares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The property advertises no smoking, but you must pass through a gauntlet of guests and staff smoking at any entry. we looked forward to the advertised heated pool, only to discover that not only was it not heated but wasn't cleaned until the day prior to our departure. we encountered an ongoing ant problem in our room. the refrigerator made such a racket that it was enough to wake you when it kicked on. staff was extremely unprofessional.
the only plus side, like all Candlewoods, it is inexpensive. I would not stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear michael p,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We would like to follow up with you additionally and have sent you an email to the address on your reservation.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Rooms are clean and well equipped. A bit musty though. Do not count on the pool as it is not heated at all. Staff is very helpful. Having a free laundry is a plus. Over all good for the money.
Request the 3rd floor due to noise!

Room Tip: 3rd floor for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed on thursday (01/09/14 and Saturday 01/11/14. Both times we thought the rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. The only issue we have is that they charge your debit card, 25.00 for cupboard use. I explained that i don't use the facilities, but they still tie up your cash.

Other than that it was a pleasant experience, also the exercise room was awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 98 in Clearwater
358 reviews
5.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 98 in Clearwater
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Property: Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Address: 13231 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing