We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Ranked #61 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived here on Christmas Day,2012 and had planned to stay until the end of February, 2013, but changed plans our due to an unfortunate incident. But first, I have to compliment the two ladies who looked after the front desk and especially the house keeping staff. We last stayed here for several weeks a few years ago when Tony Maccio was Manager. Boy, has the management changed! Whenever we asked to meet the "new" management, we were told that she was either at a meeting or had the day off. We never did see hide nor hair of her. She is very fortunate though that most of Her staff were quite competent. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the room was well equipped and, clean and comfortable. The surrounding grounds were very well maintained. The Candlewood Cupboard supplied all of our needs. A negative was that some guests from time to time had loud parties til very late in the evening which tended to keep us awake until the early hours of the morning, as our suite was situated very close to the BBQ "party" area. A few days prior to our departing, my husband was carrying in several parcels from a shopping trip via the rear entrance and he inadvertenly left his camera case containing our camera, and his GOLD bracelet on the ground, beside the rear entrance door.. When he realized he had left the case, he immediately went back to the rear door but the case was gone. He then went to the front desk to ask if had been turned in. and it had! The night clerk then retrieved it and returned it to him. Unfortunately, when my husband looked inside the case, he was terribly upset and a greatly disappointed as both his bracelet and camera were missing. We pondered that night as to what we could do to remedy the loss of our valuables. The next morning he asked the clerk at the front desk if we could post a notice which would include a generous monetary reward for the return of his missing items. He was told No, it wasn't allowed, but she'd put a notice behind the desk to alert the staff of the theft. I didn't know what good that would have done. Well, you shouldn't be surprised to hear that our items were never returned. Now, having a bad taste in our mouths and our vacation in ruins after this unfortunate incident, we decided to cut our trip to Clearwater short by several weeks and returned back to Ontario. We have been Priority Club Members for several years, we love the majority of the sites, but will never return to this particular one again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NConley-DOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Beverley - Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience. We appreciate your honesty and value your patronage. We are happy that your experience with both the ladies at the front desk and our housekeepers was pleasant. Since your stay we have gone through some more changes. We have a new General Manager - Doug Soule. He previously was the Operations Manager at this hotel 7 years ago and moved to Boston area as a GM at 2 of our properties. He came back in March and we are very happy to have him back here. We are sorry about the unfortunate circumstances regarding your camera and bracelet that were lost. The next time you are in the Clearwater area, please visit us and meet Doug.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 202 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

First impression wasn't the best as there was no one in the lobby when we arrived for check in. I had to buzz for the guy to come up. But once he was there, he was very helpful. That was the last disappointing thing that happened. (if you can even really "nick" them for that) Once entering our room we were pleasantly blown away with how beautiful, clean and modern the room was. We had a queen suite. The kitchen was fully stocked and had a full sized refrigerator, mini flat-top stove, full sized dishwasher, microwave and even a garbage disposal. The bathroom was beautiful too with plenty of counter space, shelves and cabinet drawers. There was a full sized desk, dresser and big flat screen TV and a nice leather chair that made the room particularly functional. The bed and pillows were super comfy and the A/C worked just fine. Also, the closet was a good size and had an ironing board/iron in it. It was very quiet so we had no trouble sleeping. They did have a very nice pool and an area to cook out but we didn't get a chance to utilize those amenities. The pantry was very convenient as well as the laundry faciltities right there on site. Loved the gym! We didn't want housekeeping (we're pretty neat) but the housekeepers were very nice and had no trouble with giving us clean towels, taking our trash and giving us more TP when requested. It is very close to just about anything you would want to do. I felt safe going out to my car and wasn't worried about anything. Check out was a breeze and the girl was very friendly and thank me for staying with them. We stayed there 9 days and in all that time we didn't have a single complaint about anything. I would highly recommend this hotel and my husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunLovin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NConley-DOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

FunLovin1959, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you will get a chance to BBQ and enjoy our patio area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here, and I was very happily surprised. It's a great little hotel, without all the fancy un-needed nonsense. The place is located off of Ulmerton, and convenient to the airport, interstate & the Howard Franklin Bridge (minutes from Tampa). The area was quiet, with much parking spaces available and safe. The hotel was very clean, and the front desk staff was very friendly, curteous, attentive and fast.....

The room was very clean, updated and extremely comfortable. It had everything needed to make your stay "homey". The only thing I would add, is to offer a few rooms with a King Size bed.

Thank you for a great experience, great accommodations, at a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NConley-DOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you Breesan for your review. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

CANDLEWOOD SUITES is clean .The linens and towels are not the cheap kind even the kitchen and dining utensils. The room was a bit small maybe because they have a bigger table it makes the room looks small.The only thing that will make it better for me, is for the corners and edges of the furnitures be a bit rounded not sharp.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veroncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NConley-DOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Clearwater, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your suggestion as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and really liked the experience. The rooms are amazing! Newly renovated and very modern. In the room there is a kitchenette. We had a wonderful stay. We will come back here again for sure!!!
There is a cupboard where you can buy things in the hotel if you forgot to pack stuff or need a snack. The workout room is great and is in the same room as the free laundry mat which makes it smell fresh and not smelly like sweat.
The only downfall is that there is no breakfast and no hot tub. Other than that, it was perfect!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieMoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we made reservations for this hotel not knowing that they do not have daily maid service. It was no problem to get fresh towels. There is a Cupboard "store" in the fitness room along with free washer and dyers. The cupboard is a honor system and I filled out a slip for snacks. Not a problem and was added to our bill the next morning for checkout. Enjoyed staying here. big rooms and they even have dog treats for our scotty at the desk. was happy with stay.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a queen bed suite if it matters. Otherwise you will get a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

we stayed here for twelve days feb 2013 staff is super freindly and helpful.rooms are clean and spacious with kichen including dishwasher.centrally located to beach and many restaurants,will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 98 in Clearwater
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
9.5 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Address: 13231 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing