We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2007

first off, booked the room 20 minutes before arrival on hotwire.
$90.00 for two nites cannot be beat. hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and amenities as promised. location was close to the airport, pool was nice, BBQ gas grill was a great option.
def. would stay there again and other candlewood properties.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jkfunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    37
    12
    25
See reviews for
38
60
26
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

I booked this through Hotwire due to the price...a 2 1/12 star for $44. All we needed was a bed to sleep in after speding a large amount of time at the Tampa airport that day and didn't feel like driving home late at night. The hotel was okay...worth the $44, but I wouldn't have spent the $89-$100 I was seeing elsewhere for this hotel. The room was clean and quiet, but the toliet stopped working mid-night. Luckily we were only there for a night. The nice part is that there is a full size fridge and microwave...plus near a store, so you can run for beer, soda, etc. The "store" they have on site is strange...meaning nice to offer sodas and snacks, but it's on the "honor system", so you drop your money (which I did, thank you) in a slot or you fill out a slip and they charge it to your room. Strange, but I guess it works. I felt very safe at this hotel; after I think 9PM, the only way to get in the front door of the place is with your room key, and the back door of the hotel (by the BBQ grills) is always that way...you can't get in unless you have your room key. Overall, I would stay there again if I needed a cheap place for the night...the front desk is VERY friendly, which make you feel at home. I would recommend this place for a short stay...can't comment on a long visit, but they do have laundry facilities right there, which is nice in that case.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dot7660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed in this hotel from Aug 2nd to the 7th. My first impression pulling up is the area had seen better days. The hotel itself was ok, but there is a closed up grocery store next door and the local roads are under construction. Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by the front desk person who was very efficient and helpful. Actually the customer service during our stay was the best highlight. They had free maps and great local restaurant ideas. We were put up in a handicap room as the hotel was fairly full and we were a family of 4, which was great. The room was nice, not excellent but more than acceptable. With a kitchenette, a desk, and a full size refrigerator, we were pleasantly surprised by the amenities. The location was away from any beaches, but was close to several highways. Pool was small, but that was to be expected for a facility geared for extended stay. Overall cleanliness was good. Would I stay here again? Yes I would.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — Walls are thin.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nativeborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

This is one of the noisiest hotels I have ever stayed at. Cleaning people yell to each other from one end of the hallway to the other, at the top of their lungs at 8:00 in the morning. There was constant banging and noise in the hotel all day long. The first night of my stay, the couple staying in the room across from mine fought all night long. The construction of the hotel is so cheap, that you hear everything going on in your next door neighbor's room. I had to change rooms twice during my stay due to the excessive noise, despite having initially requested a quiet room.
I would honestly recommend avoiding this Hotel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

rural Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

Older property. The carpet in the room was not very clean. The internet did work fine. In the small store they sold frozen pizzas that needed to be baked in an oven, not a microwave and the suite had a stove, but no oven. The view from the window overlooked what looked to be an auto repair shop. Traffic noise could be heard even with the windows closed. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CharleyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2005

I was disappointed in my stay here, the staff was great and I could do laundry for free but the room was noisy the air conditioner was very loud, tv stations limited although they had vcr rental for free. The shower head was the worst and the palce was just ok, not the cleanest and they were remodeling which didn't help since you could not use the elevator. Bummer carrying all the luggage 3 floors up. The place was very economy I would say. Disappointing for a Holiday Inn Priority Club Member, bed and pillows not the best either and furniture was old- maybe the reason for remodel. I got one night free for my miles but not worth the 100.00 for the otehr night

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debblabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2004

We booked several rooms at this hotel and the problems were:
Bent blinds so unable to block street lights from entering the room, central air conditioning did not work so had to use window unit, there is no counter space in the bathroom and thus no place for toiletries, no hot water and low water pressure. Also one of our guest's bathtub leaked down into some wiring below setting off the fire alarm.

Not recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
5.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#33 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Clearwater

Property: Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Address: 13231 49th Street North, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Clearwater hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay. Studio room has one queen size bed and all have a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our on site fitness center or heated outdoor pool. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club Rewards Points for each qualifying stay We are centrally located and easy access to Interstate 75, Tampa International Airport, and the St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico Beaches!. Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are popular area attractions to visit. We are a pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable pet fee - $15 for 1 first night $10 for each additional night capped at $150 for duration of stay. Two pets less than 80 lbs. Per suite . Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Candlewood Clearwater
Clearwater Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing