We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Declining”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I've stayed here before; and while they are obviously spending a lot of money to refurbish, they are not keeping up with day to day maintenance. Problems are as follows:
1.) Not all lights in the room worked.
2.) Internet - both wired and wireless are pretty bad. After one web page, the browser starts to time out; and this happened with two different computers on wired and wireless. For business travel, this is unacceptable.
3.) The compressor in the air conditioner would not come on. The fan worked just fine, but the compressor would not. The owner/manager shrugged his shoulders and told me to open a window - not possible, as they're sealed on the ground floor. Luckily, while a bit cooler would have been better, I was able to live with the room that was a bit warmer than acceptable.
4.) The door to the bathroom was sprung enough that it could not be closed. Not a problem when traveling alone, but could be for a couple.
5.) There were long black hairs on the floor of the bathroom. Not mine.

It's a shame to see the decline, as the price and location are good. Looks like I'll need to stay elsewhere on my next business trip to the area.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 358 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed one night at the Sleep Inn in Clearwater. There are 3 floors and we were on the 2nd. The rooms on the 3rd floor were being remodeled. Because of that, there was some construction dirt tracked in, and the elevator was covered with large quilts to protect it I suppose from dirt,. (elevator worked, just had walls covered) We heard no construction noise, however we checked in around 8 pm and left by 10 am. Our king room was nice. Quality bedding and pillows. The bath was adequate, although there was no bathtub - only a shower - but it was a large shower that looked new. Room was very clean. For the price (less than $50) this was an excellent choice for us. It was only a few minutes to the beach. There is a Cracker Barell restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I really don't understand the good reviews for this hotel. I was not impressed. I understand that they are renovating but the rooms do not look good. If I stayed here again, it would be after the renovation. Also, unless you are coming in from the right direction, it is really hard to get in here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poopc1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Got a room for under $50 and it was a very adequate hotel for the price. They did have construction and remodeling in progress on the third floor, but it did not affect my stay. The rooms are a bit dated, but still clean. My only complaint was that the front desk did not always have someone waiting behind it, but overall service was OK. The area is a commercial area, so I would not recommend this property for a vacation stay, but ver adequate for a night or two if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor if it is available, renovations were in progress during my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leopolean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

It's a simple,un-frilly, wonderfully well kept ,comfortable,very clean hotel with very accommodating service,if you need something reasonable just ask and zing you got it.I feel safe here,and clean like I can touch stuff WITHOUT feeling like I have to take a shower .Clean soft bed,honestly clean sheets ...I see them clean them down the hallway.behind the desk area.
No bath but awesome cruise ship like shower great refreshing sprayers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a very nice place to stay but I wish all the rooms had microwaves and mini-refrigerators, our room did have one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbenzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

So, this place is nicer than you would expect for around 60 bucks a night. I was greeted by the front desk person holding the door open for me. The room was spacious, clean, and in working order. The bed was comfortable. The pool and hot tub are nice. The breakfast was more than "plain"--it had hard boiled eggs, cereal, a waffle maker, choice of coffees and juices, pastries, etc. To top is all off, this place has FREE wi-fi!

Room Tip: Bottom floor has easy access to the outside, but the rooms are safe because you need a room key to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TootsTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 98 in Clearwater
406 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#70 of 98 in Clearwater
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#58 of 98 in Clearwater
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 3939 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33762-4211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $74 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Clearwater
Sleep Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing