We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is something so nice about knowing what to expect and for $10 extra, this extended stay hotel delivers. I think the thing I always notice is the friendly staff and the level of professionalism. This hotel had an $89 internet rate which is a little more then I like to spend but it is so worth it. Never had a problem and they have always understood my late check outs and propensity to have them communicate with other people coming in to meet me so I can stay on the road or focused on my day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doratallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your great experience with other Trip Advisor fans! It is always so nice to hear that we were able to exceed expectactions and provide a great experience in hospitality.

I have shared your review with the entire team. If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
62
30
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at this property quite a few times and very one at the desk seems to be friendly. However, they go through alot of staff it seems. When I arrive they always have a bottle of water for me (I am a marriott reward member). The pool is always clean and blue. The rooms are in older condition, but the night manager said they are going to be upgrading soon. The price is great. My company only always upto $125 a night and they always seem to be right below that. Checkers is across the street so if you want something quick it is close. The only draw back to this place is that sometimes it is hard to find parking.

Room Tip: I would get the 2 bedroom suite as it give you alot of space. The rooms in the building across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind review about your stay at the TownePlace Suites! It's always nice to hear that we were able to meet or exceed expectations.

As the night manager noted, the hotel will go under a full renovation in the Fall of 2013. We have many exciting upgrades in the works and I hope that you will return to see the finished results.

Your loyalty is very much appriciated!

Warm Regards,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been a Marriott Rewards member for over 20 years. They are always my "go to" brand when I'm traveling. My recent experience with this TownePlace Suites and the neighboring Residence Inn has changed that priority. For several weeks the Residence Inn held my reservation for an advance payment, internet only rate. An hour before leaving for the airport I received a phone call saying the Residence Inn was oversold and I was being moved to the TownePlace Suites next door. When our plane was delayed I called TownePlace and informed them we would be arriving very late. I was assured our reservation would be held and was even given a room number that was "blocked out" for us. When we arrived, exhausted, at 1:00 a.m. we encountered the single worse experience I've ever had at a hotel's front desk and considering the amount I travel, that's saying something. The night clerk was rude, argumentative, and seemed to take some satisfaction in telling us that since it was after midnight our reservation had been cancelled. Following a very unpleasant exchange we were given a key to the room number I had been told was blocked out. The room was in complete disarray. We had to drag our suitcases back to the lobby and begin again. With only five hours sleep before our appointments we were looking forward to at least a decent continental breakfast; again we were disappointed. While checking out I mentioned to the manager on duty what our experience had been. It was clear from her attitude why the hotel is run as poorly as it is. This property is not worthy of the Marriott name.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WexfordWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during the check-in process at the TownePlace Suites.

It was a very confusing process as many travelers, such as yourself, was relocated from another Marriott. It's always difficult when you have last minute changes and the lines of communication are not clear.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you would give us another opportunity.

Warm Regards,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

So I must say I'm disappointed that this is a Marriott property because its pretty poor for one. The service received was mediocor for being a Marriott property also and I am disappointed. I to be honest always stay at Marriott and never have had an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites. I am very sorry to hear to learn that we did not meet your expectations.

We credit our sucess in the lodging to providing great service and accommodations. I have shared your review with my team and we will continue to focus on improving these areas.

Thank you for staying with us!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I were going to see the Yankees at Tropicana Field and wanted to make a weekend of it so I looked for Marriott hotels in the area. I really like TownePlace Suites because the 2 bedroom units are very roomy and every room has a TV. I read some of the reviews and was a little hesitant, but Marriott has never let me down before so I decided to stick with my reservations. I am so glad I did not listen to the negative reviews.

Would I stay here for a weeklong vacation with my family, not if I had small children because there is not a lot in the immediate area to occupy them. But for a long weekend, or traveling with older teens and adults, this is a really good place.

The hotel is clean and this location offers a deluxe continental breakfast (most TownPlace Suites do not offer breakfast - continental or otherwise). The staff are very friendly, professional and responsive. Check-in was a breeze and about 15 minutes after I left the front desk I received a call from the front desk. The staff was just checking to see if everything was OK and if we needed anything to help us settle in.

For those not familiar with TownPlace Suites, the rooms are suite style which means they offer sitting and cooking areas. The types are studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom. The 1 and 2 bedrooms have small kitchens with full size refrigerators, stove top and oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pots, pans, dishes...you get the picture...and a dishwasher. These units also have a living room with a sleeper sofa.

Our unit was updated with flat screen TVs in the living room and both bedrooms. The units come with one bathroom that has the sink/toiletry area separated from the commode and bathtub/shower area by a door that locks. For longer stays the kitchen area is a real money saver. The beds are very comfortable, although my husband prefers much softer mattresses. The bedding is very nice and they offer plenty of pillows.

TownePlace Suites also offer a laundry room and fitness room. There is also an outdoor pool with a grill nearby.

The location was great for us, not too far off the 275 and right off 688. Of course if you are looking for a scenic stay this is not it. But it does have easy drive access to the beaches (straight down 688) at a very affordable price. We made it to Clearwater Beach in about 25 minutes and that included time waiting to park at the beach. It is also easy access to Tampa and Busch Gardens.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to spend a long weekend at a location not too far from the beaches or historic St. Petersburg. Also good for someone going to Tropicana Field, like us, and wanting to make a getaway out of it. Families with small children may want to go elsewhere because of its proximity to the highways and lack of activities for children.

Townplace Suites are also pet firendly for an additional $100.00, non-refundable deposit.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units sleep 4 - 6 and are always at the end of the corridors, so no noisy neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OviedoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor! It's always nice to hear great feedback about your recent stay.

Our location is fantastic if you have many activities planned throughout the area. In the fall of 2012, we upgraded the beds and installed the flat screen televisions. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded. In the fall of 2013, the hotel will under go a complete renovation. We are so excited about this and the finished product is going to be fabulous!!!!

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards.
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was located relatively close to a prison across from a school. That in and of itself should convey that the location of this hotel was poor and more or less in the middle of nowhere. It was much longer to the beach than appeared. Although a 2 bedroom suite, it was quite cramped. As an understatement, the pull-out bed was excruciating. To put it kindly, the breakfast was spartan. The room had not exactly been cleaned on our arrival and the empty bottles that we found under the end table upon arrival were still there when we checked out.

Bottom line, the rate was about twice what it should have been.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DearthFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not like our location due to the proximatey to the Pinellas County Court House. I can assure that our area is very safe and extremely popular due to the easy access to I-275 and the three main bridges.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

having spent four hundred dollars on a three night stay I have spent 2 hours since 7 am listening to a whining barking dog two rooms away it is audable outside and to reception but no action , they have alowed me to change rooms but the problem still exists for all other guests. suposidly a quality hotel ? Why would it have doggy rooms with nuisance certainly no place to go for a holiday unless you are a dog.

Room Tip: avoid the ones near the pool constant cild noise outside the window only come with a dog its on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue23uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager65, General Manager at TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the barking dog. As a pet friendly hotel, we try very hard to please all our guests; with and without dogs. We greatly appreciate your business and sad that we did not meet your expectations.

If you get back to the Clearwater area, I hope that you will give us another chance.

Warm Regards,
Christine Sieber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - ICOT Center
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater

Property: TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Address: 13200 49th St N, Clearwater, FL 33762-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Towneplace Suites Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing