We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff but average rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but average rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

My cousin and I had a room booked here as we were arriving late and didn't want to drive too far in the dark.

The first member of staff to greet us was very friendly and efficient. The room we had given however was not very good. There has obviously been a previous client who had ignored the no smoking rule and the room stank. There was some gadget running in the room, probably to try and get rid of the smell, but we didn't want to stay in it! As the phone wasn't working either, my cousin went downstairs to ask for a room change.

Number two person on reception did this for us and our second room was much nicer. Clean, good channels on TV and plenty big enough with two double beds for us.

We did ask at reception where we might eat and were told there were plenty of places on the road outside. After searching for ages we found nothing suitable and ended up in the garage over the road. After choosing a few snacks, the girl at the counter there told us we needed to drive back out and past the airport to find the restaurants. Shame La Quinta didn't tell us that.

The breakfast in the morning was really decent. A good selection of cold things and coffee on the go. I used the microwave to heat water and had my own t bags, so if you prefer tea, take your own.

All in all a decent one night stay. The hotel was not as clean in the corridors as I would have liked, but the staff were great and we got a great deal on the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binniecambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    249
    94
    36
    27
See reviews for
228
183
72
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times on our way home from Naples. Stayed 2 nights this visit. We used points to stay this time (8k/night). Alexa was so accomodating to get us a room around noon, hours before check in. We could tell that they have updated since our stay last December. New paint, new carpet, bedding - it was very nice. The bed was comfortable which is sooo important to me. Breakfast simple. It is about 25 min to beach but we are there to visit family. Love that we can bring our dog. My only complaint the heated pool was freezing and usually it is wonderful. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, ri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at this property for four nights-11/26-11/30. From the first day until the last, my room key did not want to work, at various times. Think about this: you go to the third floor, try using your key and it won't work. You go back downstairs to the front desk, they give you another key and that one doesn't work. Repeat two more times and you get the idea. The hotel itself is dated, but my room was okay. The TV's are new and have a lot of stations, but there was nothing to show you what were what. There was a microwave and decent size frig. that came in handy. The common areas were not clean when I was there and they were really dated. The breakfast in the morning was basic, but at least it was plentiful. The "associates" were nice and at least helpful, especially that first day. The location was not the best, but I know my way around. Getting to the beaches would take around 15-25 minutes on a good day. Overall, the property needs some serious updfating.

Room Tip: Try getting a room away from the main street. The traffic on Ulmerton Rd is constant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We picked this hotel because it was close to home and we could check on our teenager. This was for Our 12th Anniversary. We got the king bed with microwave and refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable with 6 pillows.There was a couch and chair and a table with chair too. You may have to ask for an extra chair.This room was HUGE!!!!! The bathroom is big too.
The pool was heated for us Floridians and there was a hot tub. We loved how it was in the middle of the hotel.
There was a continental breakfast. They had cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, and bagels.But if you want more of a choice there is a Bob Evans within walking distance. There is a Chic- Fil A for breakfast sandwiches or Lunch.
Over all we really enjoyed our stay. It was very quiet. I did say there needs to be more trash bins.
They are doing up grades in sections of the hotel 11/27/2011. There is an elevator. We used our AAA discount and saved $15.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel was OK, but we were very upset because twice we called ahead and asked about their pet policy and if there was a weight limit and twice we were told NO. When we got there we were told the weight limit was 45lbs and our dog was over that. I was very upset, since we specifically asked this and what made us even more mad is the way the manager handled it. She said there was no way any of her staff would have not known this, well they didn't. Also she was so rudely insistent of this as well as asking me over and over that I better not have my dog in the room, they would be checking. She said this about three times!! That is NO WAY to treat a customer, even if I was wrong, which I wasn't. Could not find anything on their website, either, about the weight limit. I will NEVER stay at another La Quinta again, just because of how RUDE she was about not being wrong. So, be aware if you have a larger dog and you want to stay at a La Quinta and make sure you get it in writing if they say there is no weight limits. Also, they have a rediculous pet policy form you have to fill out.

Room Tip: Get the pet policy in writing, don't believe what they tell you over the phone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The rooms are basic; however they just added HD TV's to all rooms with HD service. The beds are very comfortable and breakfast was good. The AAA rate was great.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

First, I have to say that, in the past two years, I have become quite a fan of La Quinta. I stay at this chain frequently for business and pleasure. In fact, I accumulated enough rewards points that I only had to pay about $15 for this stay.

But, even without a discount, the rates are usually unbelievably low for a place that meets the standards of comfort, security, and cleanliness usually found at a La Quinta. I don't know how they do it, and still provide amenities like wifi, breakfast and parking for free, when so many other establishments charge for those privileges. Often, as on this visit, the room includes a microwave and minifridge, which help the budget-conscious traveler save even more.

Sometimes, the LQ also offers a surprising oasis in its pool. Sure, a resort pool would be larger and more luxurious, but I have spent many fabulous hours swimming at these hotels. On this particular occasion in Clearwater, I blissed out, floating in the somewhat hexagonal pool with its cobalt blue tiles and silky water, completely alone for most of the time, watching the airplanes pass overhead, and recalling as many memories of post-amniotic swimming throughout my life as I could conjure.

My husband preferred the hot tub, which was too hot for me to luxuriate for long. The heat and pulsating jets soothed his sore muscles and arthritic back, but made him sleepy, too. After more than two-and-a-half hours in a lovely zone of tropical pleasure, complete with twenty-plus palm trees, we went upstairs to shower and prepare for dinner.

A downside of this location is its position on the not-so-driver-friendly Ulmerton Road. It's tricky to find the correct place to turn in upon arrival, and it's somewhat dangerous at night, when cruising for a place to eat. We had limited choices available at almost 10 pm on a weeknight.

Despite our exertions and going to sleep around midnight, we awoke at 6 am the next morning, well-rested and ready to start our day. The mattress, sheets, etc. were very comfortable. Considering the presence of a coffee maker on top of the microwave, my husband did not feel any need to venture downstairs for the free breakfast, but I brought a hard-cooked egg, peanut butter, an apple, and a decaf coffee upstairs to accompany one of the cherry turnovers we had bought at the nearby Publix.

We had a great time without much expense. Check-out was fast and courteous. And the desk clerk, who checked us in the day before, took his time to answer all of my questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayPlanner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#37 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#58 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Address: 3301 Ulmerton Road, Clearwater, FL 33762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#32 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport was newly renovated and recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport is conveniently located in Clearwater, FL just 1.5 miles from St. Petersburg Clearwater Airport and 12 Miles from Tampa International Airport. Minutes from the hotel you will find many places of interest including, Florida's Gulf Beaches, Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, Ray's and Buccaneer's Stadiums, Salvador Dali Museum, and John's Pass Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport Hotel Clearwater
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater Airport
La Quinta Clearwater
Clearwater La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing