We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stayed here for a week with my son and friends, this hotel is small but very clean. bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable. Its location is perfect as it is on the beach and right next to a tiki bar and has an IHOP underneath. Children eat free at the IHOP after 4pm. The swimming pool is small but very clean. The sea is very warm and lovely to bob about on a lilo. boat owners anchor up along the shore line at the weekend but they are there to enjoy the sun and chat with friends, I never heard bad language or shouting from them and it was nice to see youngsters enjoying themselves sensibly rather than being drunk in the street. the hotel offers free local calls, complimentary tea and coffee and complimentary toiletries if you ask at reception. all the staff on reception were fantastic and really helpful which is more than can be said about the cleaners and maintenance men. It is about a 10 minute walk to pier 60 which is a must see at night, there are loads of stalls along it. the marina runs opposite the pier and I can definately recommend the Island adventure boat trip which is cheap and you get to see dolphins, famous celeb houses, stop on a small island then go snorkelling. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 802 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Arrived after 6 hectic days in Orlando to a tropical storm in Clearwater, which blew over after 24 hours, the hotel was small but well positioned with nice rooms, a 15 minute walk to the pier and most restaurants. a local lady recomended Guppy's in Indian Rocks it was a lovely restaurant, great service and food, we went twice. Also the Greek fishing village in Tarpon Springs worth a visit and Calidisi Island on the ferry from Honeymoon Island. Really relaxing place on the beach, busy at the weekend with locals in their boats, but our kids enjoyed that, would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomike_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had no complaints. It is not luxury, so if you come expecting more than a good clean hotel room at a good location, you may be disappointed. What it does offer is very good value and very small elevators. Despite its shortcomings, I definitely recommend the hotel if you're lookin for a nice clean place to stay without frills.

The hotel is not on the main beach; it does have a small beach on the entrance channel to the bay, but if you want to go to the main beach, you must walk about three minutes or if you have a car, I recommend you drive over the bridge to the Sand Key State Park (2 minutes away) where there is plenty of parking, a huge white sand beach with lifeguards and fresh water showers and restrooms.

The IHOP on the premises is good, but a small breakfast place named Maggie Mae's across the bridge on Sand Key is absolutely wonderful and priced right. It's located in a small strip shopping center south of Sand Key State Park entrance. This little hole in the wall is popular and gets packed, but they serve quickly and move tables in and out and the wait is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jad648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The room was large and comfortable. The bed and bedding were comfortable and clean. Our room was one with a partial view, but being closer to the gulf end of the building, it was great. We didn't have to listen to a bunch of noisy people in the pool day and night and had plenty of gulf view. We were on our balcony often. The Tiki Bar, connected to the hotel and on the beach, was very nice and had great service and food. Loungers and umbrellas are plentiful. The hotel, parking lot and beach areas are very clean. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and happy to be there. We can't wait to go back and will request the same room. Overall experience A+

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We really save up to be able to take our family on a vacation and we paid extra to be able to stay on the beach instead of staying at a hotel not on the beach. It was pointless to pay extra to stay on that beach. There was no place for the kids to get in the water because there were boats anchored right there on the beach and to make it worse they were filled with people drinking and using inappropriate lanquage. One of the boaters said somethings to my daughters while they were trying to swim that was inappropriate and they had to leave the water.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGs45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed for 2 days with my family as part of a 3 week Florida roadtrip. Of the 9 accomodations we stayed in, we really enjoyed this one. This is a small and older establishment that has been renovated to a very high standard.

We got there early and asked to check in @ 11:00am - no problem. In reviews, I never mention folks name but I am making and exception - the lady at the front desk - Kelli Moon was very friendly and accomodating - she is a real asset to the hotel.

The room we received on 4th floor was spacious, spotless with large flatscreen TV and great little balcony. The pool area is a little small but well kept. The tiki bar near the pool was very enjoyable with reasonably priced food and drink - and again - very friendly service.

This is a very well run establishment and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockmanGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed here at the end of our honeymoon. It was fine, we paid about €60 a night but if we'd paid any more than that I wouldn't have been too happy.

First, the bad:
We paid extra for a partial gulf view room, apparently partial gulf view means a view of the car park with a glimpse of the sea. When we asked about anything with a better view we were told we could upgrade for $55 a night. No thanks. The common areas weren't very clean, the elevator rug was always dirty but I guess when people are coming in from the beach it's hard to keep the area clean. There was also a big rubbish bin(a wheelie bin) on the corridor which I thought was bizarre. Our room was backing onto the elevator shaft so was very noisy during the night. Also, the air conditioning unit was extremely loud. The first night there, between the AC and the elevator shaft, I didn't sleep longer than half an hour at a time. If we had the money we would have moved hotels after the first night but we didn't. The following nights we slept without the AC on which wasn't very comfortable in 90 degree heat.

The good:
By the end of the trip the hotel had grown on us a little, the pool area was nice, it was a short walk down the beach to Sheppards which was a great night spot. Our room was large, cleaned everyday, had a fridge and microwave which was handy

Would we stay here again? No, probably not. If we go back to Clearwater we'd probably fork out the extra and stay closer to the pier.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank shoppergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel On the Beach

Address: 655 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#25 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#33 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $103 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel On the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Clearwater
Quality Inn Clearwater
Quality Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing