We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not much of a beach!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived here after staying in Orlando to chill out but when we tried to check in were advised that our booking had been cancelled! The company we had booked with in March had gone bust so we had to pay again, not only that we had to pay double what we had already payed! not very happy tried to find somewhere else but it was very hot we were worn out from travelling so payed double they would Not let us have the room at the original price we payed, on the plus side they waved the 10$ a night parking fee but still feel hard done by. The room was OK for a beach hotel nothing special bit old fashioned! Bathroom very small coffee not very hot, beach small charged for sun beds $25 so didn't bother pool was nice. There is also alot of building work going on next door so you get woke up early!

Room Tip: check out your room first you could be looking onto a building site! and be woken at 7.30!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campanellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    273
    120
    60
    26
See reviews for
266
265
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here on a last minute decision . The hotel is in a good location less crowded then by the Hilton etc. It had a nice private area on the beach. We walked next door to shepherds for some night entertainment. The room was clean and average with a nice view. There is a Ihop attached to the hotel , which I might add is slower than molasses. The hotel it self was a nice stay, but they don't really give you anything extra for your nights stay like continental breakfast etc.It's a decent place to stay for the person that doesn't want to spend Hilton prices or stay in a mom and pop...middle of the road....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed there Sep 10-13 2013. Everything was great. Our oceanfront room had a great view, was clean, was very roomy, had a small fridge and microwave and was serviced very well. No continental breakfast though. September is their slowest month of the year, so there was plenty of room on the beach and at the pool. Can see it being pretty crowded there in peak season. Wonder if parking lot big enough in peak season. Would definitely return there. Hotel older but good remodeling job.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront. Its well worth the added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pulling into parking lot I wasn't impressed. It's small and cramped. Walking into the corner executive suite I was very happy. 2 super comfy beds, 2 large windows with the perfect views. A mini fridge, microwave, table & couch plus. Even though we didn't spend much time in our room we did enjoy the balcony every morning and night watching boats and dolphins & the sunrise.
Being an older hotel it can use some work. I personally don't like carpet in hotels, let alone older carpet. The couch was stained and mini fridge door visibly dirty. Housekeeping needs checked into since an empty water bottle and what I hope was just chocolate chunks and a duster was left on the floor. Left a nice tip first day to encourage cleaning and had more black hairs in tub from what I suppose was wiped with a dirty rag considering we're blonde/gray.
The pool was nice having an edge to sit on in water. Though I couldn't paddle around because a group of children were running, jumping, splashing playing tag w/o attention to me trying to make one lap around. I'm disappointed in guests that sit by an umbrella then close it while we would've enjoyed an umbrella for some shade. The beach is right beyond pool, which is hard to find. Loved it.
The bar is separated by a gate, so when getting a couple drinks, it's hard to open the
gate. The personable bartender made great drinks though had to wait while he chatted, the next bartender made awful drinks we couldn't even get down.
Live entertainment was also nice. We were headed to a wedding, but enjoyed some of the music from our balcony.
Overall, this is a nice,quality hotel and would definitely stay again, especially after seeing the gloomy hotel room other wedding guests had down the
street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmGirl436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Don’t expect any luxury here. This place is ok to change and sleep after a long day at the beach. Super clean rooms. Big rooms, comfortable beds, decorations not too tacky. Upgraded bathrooms and TV. Still a basic hotel/motel room. AC did not work very well in our room but we did not complaint. Housekeeping does a great job every day. We stayed in a room with a small balcony with a sight view of the ocean, it was fine…I wanted an oceanfront view room but now I’m glad I didn’t get that one, since those rooms are overlooking the pool as well, and it can get very messy and loud. Plus I would not want everyone watching me on the balcony, no privacy at all. The pool area is not big (mind me on this) but has some nice lounge chairs. The beach area is not really a beach area but nice enough to sit and relax, (I would not swim here and would not let my kids either), it was nice at night to walk and watch the sunset from here though, even with the loud music from the club next door, at least there is plenty of light in this area, not so much when you try to take a walk on the beach in actual Clearwater near the pier for example (pitch dark). The walk to the big public beach is not bad, 5 minutes maybe. There is a nightclub next door, so you will hear the music and the crowds till late at night. It was nice to have a policeman on site at the tiki bar at all times (precaution I guess). There is coffee and tea complimentary at the lobby. There are plenty of shops around, there is a Walgreens right across the street and everyone recommends for some reason the restaurant on the corner, but we actually regret going there, everything tasted more like frozen food to us. Management tries hard to please you. We would go back to this place if there was no other hotel available next time and we would choose a place with at least a kitchenette, you will spend a lot of money eating out three meals a day. Nothing bad, but nothing wow either. Carpet looked kind of dirty. Price ok for what you pay. We did have a great vacation, regardless of where you stay Clearwater is beautifull and there is so much to do and see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
668 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Flew down for an interview and stayed here for a night, in a good location and within walking distance of several restaurants and areas. The beach does end not far from the hotel with a big mound of rocks so you have to walk out to the sidewalk and down to get to the actual big public part of Clearwater beach, but it is a reasonable walk. Nice room and balconies, would recommend people stay here that are looking for a budget hotel. Nice pool and pool bar with cheap food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights after a hectic 10 days in Orlando, Clearwater is stunningly beautiful and so lovely to relax and see the real Florida (I got very excited seeing the pelicans flying around and the dolphins swimming in the gulf), most definitely worth a visit. This hotel is at the tail end of Clearwater just before the bridge over to St Peter's beach, there is a small private beach in front. The pool although small was great and walking from the pool area straight onto the beach was fabulous. The room was large and clean, the hallway carpet a bit dated but so what! This meant I didn't feel as guilty when we inevitably traipsed sand on to it when we were going back to our room. Car parking was fine (remember there is a daily charge), we arrived on a Sunday and it was noisy and busy with a lot of boats pulled up on the beach, the next door bar didn't blast music too late into the night (about 11.00 ish I think). The day after was like a different place, lovely and quiet. We had a room advertised as partial gulf view, we were the second room back on the side overlooking the car park on the top floor and it was absolutely fine, we loved sitting out on the balcony and enjoyed the view. The sunsets here are stunning. There is a jolley trolley stop right outside the hotel and we used this to go further up into Clearwater to the great shops and choices of restaurant, and to Clearwater aquarium. A great place to eat is Gondoliers opposite the hotel they do a great breakfast and fabulous value dinners (the desert counter has to be seen to be believed - we counted 27 different options of cakes!). At reception there was always free coffee available, and the fridge and microwave in the room was very handy (there is a walgreens right opposite to buy bottled water, drinks, snacks etc). Opposite the hotel is a crazy golf which we enjoyed late one balmy evening. This hotel cost a fraction of those big ones further up the beach, it may not be as posh as those but we enjoyed our stay here, our first in a Quality Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#50 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel On the Beach

Property: Quality Hotel On the Beach
Address: 655 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#25 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#33 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel On the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Clearwater
Quality Inn Clearwater
Quality Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing