We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely clean hotel on the beach, BUT!..............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
london
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely clean hotel on the beach, BUT!..............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Cant fault the hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfy, and with all amenities including fridge, microwave, iron, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, Wi-fi, and a safe.
Hotel also provides free towels for the pool and beach area, but they do charge $10 each for the sun loungers on the beach. The beach area is lovely. Great views of the sea and lots of wildlife. We saw dolphins, stingrays and even a manatee.
We stayed in a half sea view room, which looks over the car park and then out across the sea. If you stay in a sea view room it can be a bit noisy in the evening. Pool shuts at ten and the bar can get very loud. There are few shops close by including a Walgreens and many gift shops. Gondolier Italian restaurant next to Walgreens, serves a very nice pizza and you have a ihop at the front off the hotel for breakfast.
Now if you are after a quiet weekend, stay elsewhere. The beach area gets packed with 20 something’s in there boats with loud music and lots of alcohol. At one stage I counted 26 boats and about 10 jet skies. It was crazy... Mind you if your in your 20s it would be ideal. We will return to this hotel, just not on a weekend. :o)

Room Tip: dont stay in a room near the lifts or fire exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiltonJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    268
    119
    59
    25
See reviews for
261
262
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I recently completed an 18 day stay at this property. As a former hotel GM, I'm extremely fussy with regards to cleanliness and this hotel was spotless! From the Front Desk staff, in particular, Kelli Moon, Guest Service Manager, to the housekeeping staff led by Executive Housekeeper, Gail, everyone we interacted with exceeded our expectations. We occupied two different rooms during our stay, both beachfront, and both rooms were lovely. We have never received such good care from hotel staff. We plan a return visit next year for a longer stay.
With regards to the weekend boaters at the beach, this is not a situation that can be controlled by the hotel. The staff and the Clearwater police are on property every weekend in an effort to control, as much as possible, the situation. My husband and I regarded the boaters as free entertainment. We expected the weekends to be noisy - if visitors to the Gulf Coast want peace and quiet, they should go to Naples, where the sidewalks are rolled up at 10 p.m. We may be retired but we're not dead!
Kudos to management and staff at Quality Inn for giving us a vacation to remember!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our room was clean, beds were comfortable. Wasn't impressed by the so called "limo service" ground transportation from and to the airport. Was picked up a van with the interior roof drooping, smelled of a leaking radiator. Driver didn't speak and was often frustrated by the traffic, pounding his fist on the steering wheel and sighing. Staff at the hotel was freindly and very helpful. The attached IHop, expect a 30 minute wait and service was VERY slow.

Room Tip: View of the water was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

My two girlfriends and myself stayed here for four days.(they had a online special ..stay 3 nights get the 4th for free) We can't say enough about this hotel. From the staff to the room to the beach...it was great! It was walking distance from everything and there was a Walgreens across the street and the IHOP had very good food. The staff, especially Dale, were wonderful. Very helpful with directions and where to eat. We hope to come back again in the future!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel was awesome! Our room was pretty big for the price and it had a beautiful view with a nice balcony to enjoy it on. Away from most of the traffic near the public beach, but there was still the private beach at the hotel to enjoy. The tiki bar was great the have that close and all of the bartenders were great. The Ihop service was slow, but it was nice to have something so close.

**The beach area outside of the hotel was a little crowded and noisy because of spring breakers on the weekend. So it may not be the most family friendly place Fri-Sun, it calmed down quite a bit on Monday. Even with the crowd we never had a problem getting a seat at the pool.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get the beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Visited Tampa/Clearwater Beach in late January 2011 with a large group of high school students and stayed at the Quality Hotel OTB. The staff was extraordinarily helpful and accommodating. Their beach area is a bit small, but it's a short, easy walk to the nearby public beach. Enjoyed the IHOP on premises for breakfasts. Nice pool. Rooms were clean and comfortable. You won't find a more reasonably priced beachfront hotel in the area. Kendra & Kelly were awesome to work with in planning our trip. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaNFPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights (February 22 - 25) as part of a last minute trip to Florida to see some baseball and get some relief from the snow. Arrived around 3pm on Tuesday and was quickly given a room on the 3rd floor near the elevator. We did not pay for a view. The room was very clean with 2 queen beds, a microfridge and a flat screen tv. There was also an exterior door that lead to a decent sized balcony. The bathroom fixtures were all relatively new and there were in room toiletries, coffee/tea and beach towels.

The pool area is nice sized and throughout our stay we never had issues getting a lounger. The beach is right there but we chose to sit and swim in the pool during our stay but it was our understanding you could rent loungers for the beach from the hotel. The Tiki Bar was always busy but never overcrowded. Can't speak to the food or drink as we oddly never stopped there during our three days. We typically ventured out by foot to other local establishments. This was our first trip to Clearwater Beach and we loved the fact that everything was within walking distance. We typically walked to the main beach or north of the main beach for happy hour eats and drinks.

Every morning we took advantage of the complementary coffee in the lobby before heading out to watch the Phillies practice in the morning. The staff was very helpful and was always available to answer questions and give advice about the area. Overall, this was a great hotel for a budget minded traveler who wants to stay on the beach. Our stay was very relaxed and quiet because we were there before Spring Break. I cannot imagine how crazy this area gets during March and was very happy to be there during a time with beautiful weather in February.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jams33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#47 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel On the Beach

Property: Quality Hotel On the Beach
Address: 655 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#25 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#33 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel On the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Clearwater
Quality Inn Clearwater
Quality Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing