We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel over the phone for April 18-20. We requested a room that was on the quiet side of the hotel as we had read online one side of the hotel faces the live music next door. We got there late in the evening and had to go through 3 different rooms before finally deciding to check out and find anther place. None of the rooms were on the quiet side of the hotel but that was the least of our problems with this place. The hotel is very dirty and the staff are rude and don't care. The first room had sand on the carpet in the middle of the room and a cracker or cereal on the floor. The second room had something that looked similar to a cooked piece of rice or possibly dried up bodily excretions inside the comforter on the bed and a pair of underwear tucked in between the head of the bed and wall. The front desk clerk took us to the third room and basically ripped the bedding apart throwing the pillow onto the floor trying to look to make sure it's suitable for us. It felt as though he was mocking our complaints about the condition of the rooms. The bottom sheet had black marks all along it and he said "it looks like someone kicked the bed with their shoes on". I asked if bedding was washed and he said it was washed daily. It's obviously never washed. He said that rice looking thing in the bed looked like cheese as though that is normal to find in a supposedly clean bed. On top of all of that the hotel has a humidity problem and smells like mould. There were bugs crawling on the walls. There are small kitchette type stoves which are extremely dirty and rusted and the dishes were disgustingly dirty in the cupboards. Think cockroach motel. After a long day of traveling and going through those 3 rooms we called Shepards which is next door. Gulfview was $180/night and Shepards was $149. Shepards is a beautiful clean, new full service resort and they saved our 2 day vacation. The man working the desk at Gulfview told us that we'd have to talk to the manager on April 19th about not having to pay for the 1 hr max we spent at Gulfview. I took photos of the issues describe above and will post them. It's now been one week and multiple attempts made to speak to management and they have been avoiding us and not returning my calls. We have been billed the $200 for the hr we spent going through all those dirty rooms. Do yourself a favor and call shepards or another reputable hotel instead. As we were checking out if Gulfview and into Shepards next door another man was doing the same thing. He also told us that he went through 3 dirty unacceptable rooms. The desk clerk told us he'd leave the rooms as is for management to see the following day. I went back there the following day in hopes of speaking to the manager and the manager was not there. The desk clerk completely changed his tone with us saying we have no proof that there was even another customer who went through 3 rooms. He also refused to call the manager, stating that the manager would just hang up on him. Sleeping in a text in a dirty ditch would be cleaner and safer than this hotel! I will be contacting the better business bureau regarding my experience and I urge all of the people with similar experiences to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller19822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM625, General Manager at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I apologize that your request for a refund was denied, however, the room was accepted, removed from inventory and made unavailable to rent to others seeking accommodations that night.
Entry into the 1st room was a staff error, (it was out of service and should not have been rented), and I apologize for the inconvenience that it may have caused you. Another room, # 548 was immediately offered. A thorough walk through was performed with our Front Desk Agent, Nick, and it was accepted by you. He reissued keys and you resigned the paperwork. Several hours later, after dinner, a full refund was requested and denied.
We do not hold rooms on a sold out night, and refund money after they have been made unavailable for an extended period of time. Had the room been unacceptable, initially, during the walk through we would have released the reservation, penalty free, and resold the room.
The Front Office Manager, Crystal, was on staff for the 4 days following, during the day 9-5pm or 8-4pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    78
    66
    44
    74
See reviews for
122
84
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Not the biggest, not the flashiest, no fancy restaurants. Just an outstanding medium size hotel with great rooms, exceptional cleanliness, and as friendly a staff as we've ever encountered anywhere.
Maybe the halls are old and shabby but the rooms are clean with good beds. Remember it is on the beach and beautiful. The rates are reasonable for the average person. How often when an older hotel is torn down a condo or upscale hotel takes its place and the chance to stay on the beach is lost. Enjoy the beautiful beach and sunset. The staff is friendly and the rooms are fine.
We checked in very late after checking in to another less expensive hotel that was unacceptable. We were tired, frustrated, and the Gulfview Hotel on the Beach turned it all round for us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get opp side if you don't enjoy music
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM625, General Manager at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your patronge! I am glad we could be of service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Originally booked to stay 4 nights week of April 21-25. Checked in around 4 on the 21st and checked out before Midnight. Saw several roaches in the room and even had one fall on me while laying in bed. After the roach in bed incident I had to wake my pregnant wife and walk down to the Holiday Inn to find a clean place to stay, after going through suitcase and shaking out clothes on the street. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere else, the Holiday Inn a half block down is very nice.

Also, they still charged me 150 bucks for the room for that night. Everyone I have talked to about getting a refund said they have no authority to grant one, shady establishment.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyitrai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

nasty hotel dirity carpet stinks walls dirty fridge broken room service bad angey housekeppers on the 2 and 3rd floor and 5th floor and they dont known english i came in my room and housekepper cleaning the bathromm then uses the same to clean my table with coffee markers stink me and my family was on the 2nd ,3rd,5th floor and will never stay there ever again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraboskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I Dirty, old econo lodge, disgusting dirty smelly carpeting, obviously hasn't been updated in atleast 50 years since it was built and opened as Econo Lodge. Next door to Shepards Party Resort. Music blasting from 2:00 I'm afternoon unti 2:00 am ever morning. Impossible to sleep. did not choose this place. Someone else did not knowing how old, outdated, dirty and extremely loud music from Shepards right next door was. Would never stay there again or recommend this old outdated hotel again. Carpeting is sooo dirty, stinks and is disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeAbleTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for two days. The best part about it was being next to Shephard's if you like that sort of scene at least. Otherwise music blares from there until about 2AM which sucks if you really need a good nights sleep, which we did since we had to be up at 530AM the next day for Iron Girl. Anyways, parking is horrible there, one of the workers said they have 60 parking spots for 64 rooms. That's not only enough to have a guest but not even enough for one spot per room! Crazy! Our room was definitely outdated and had a smell to it. The beach is a small strip of sand with hardly any room for a comfortable spot to lay out without being on top of another guest's spot. Had free coffee and sugary breakfast foods in the morning from 6AM-9AM. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed 7 days at this hotel and I have a list of pros and cons; a couple pros: The views are amazing; we had a room listed as a 'city view' and we still had an excellent view of the gulf and beach, with amazing palm trees. There is a private beach which as a lot of 'resort' qualities; in fact the 'resort' hotel next door had lots of amenities like chairs with umbrellas and kayak rentals and they allowed us to use as a guest. The pool is small and the deck overlooking the ocean was fantastic; a great way to relax. Most things are within walking distance so we hardly ever used our car while we were there. 'Most' of the staff were very friendly; 'Robert' was very helpful and always accommodating. I didn't catch the names of the other two gentlemen we dealt with but both were very friendly. They do have a female manager that did not seem so friendly but perhaps she was having a rough day...I cannot imagine the entire staff being this upset all the time after dealing with the friendly people we did. The Cons: The parking spots are super close, and super small. If you bring a large vehicle do not expect to be able to leave without a ding in your door. Also, do not expect the Ritz; this 'hotel' is small, old, and used but with this said, if you shop around, you are getting a great deal for the location. The beds are hard as rocks, the maid service is not so great. In fact the maids seem grumpy most of the time so we tried to say good morning to them and they always seemed very upset. There is a maintenance man who was very friendly and always helpful. If you decide to sleep in you miss your maid service; they do not return. But what more could you ask for? We had a great time and will probably return to this hotel again. I also suggest you double check your credit card receipt; I was overcharged but was refunded once I called. Hope this helps! I stalked review sites for weeks before booking!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a 'city view' room on the other side; if not you will get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 98 in Clearwater
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Property: GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Address: 625 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing