We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, excellent location - a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #71 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel is very clean. Room was a bit dated. We had a "gulf view" room which was a corner room overlooking Shephards which was fine with us - no kids. View was great - beautiful sunset.
Great place to stay if. You want to walk to the local bars and restaurants on the south end of Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff was helpful. Room was decent. Showing it's age, but clean. Right on beach. Was great to not have to fight crowds. Saw dolphins from hotel. Plenty of room, but kitchenette not really useful. Bring extra cookware. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for corner family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37093Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The good:
Location - right on the beach, many eateries and entertainment within walking distance.
The price - good for the location.
Free parking.
Free pastries and juice for breakfast.
Room value - clean room, comfortable bed, small kitchen properly stocked.
Costumer service - guy at front desk was courteous, speed and understanding of guests needs.

The bad:
Only one elevator - can get busy.
Loud AC.

The ugly:
The bar next door - it played loud music until 2 am, makes it difficult to get a good nights sleep.

I would stay at this hotel again, but I'll be requesting a room on the side facing away from the bar at Shepherds. Although the loud music is not the Gulfview's fault, it is still very annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Davidccs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel right on the beach, and do not want to break the bank than Gulfview hotel is the right choice.. Free parking,, little breakfast and clean rooms with a little kitchen
Little pool and hote pool and a deck with plenty of chairs watching the ocean.
The deck could use a few moor umbrellas

Room Tip: The best dooms on the side watching the bridge. The other side can be noisy from the htel nextdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This small hotel, with its beachfront view, pool and good localization is a great place to vacation without spending a lot of money.
It is very children friendly,,, each room has a small kitchenette with pots pans, dishes, and cutlery. It also has a small fridge, microwave and stove.
The rooms are clean and comfortable...

Plenty of free parking and a free coffee and pastry for breakfast.

Gets fully booked fast.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms lead right to the swiming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in here after checking prices at other places and were pleasantly surprised to find it was $10.00 cheaper than advertised. The room was small, but adequate, and when they say on the beach, they are not kidding. You step from the parking lot or the patio directly on to the white sands of Clearwater Beach. And when they say Clearwater, they aren't kidding. You can see right through to the bottom, thousands of minnows swimming around your feet, and smooth rocks that adorn the ocean bed. Clearwater beach is my favorite beach I have ever stayed at, and for the one night we got to spend there, this room was more than adequate. And they gave us an extra hour for checkout which helped a lot with time to play on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed on the opposite side of the hotel from the live band and construction next door and did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 12th-13th August had planned to stay until the 14th but couldn't handle another night. We booked for an extra bed which was not provided and never appeared so basically ended up top and tailing not very relaxing. The air conditioner was so loud. The units around the tv were all damaged and weird looking. The door to the balcony didn't lock the music from the bar next door was so loud late into the night, the band were good but sooo loud and played until well after midnight. During the day there were signs that the lifts were not going to be working what actually happened was the whole power was shut off so the stair wells and corridors were pitch black, trying to follow the walls I managed to walk into the fire extinguisher ...err ouch! The pool was dirty and has stuff floating in it.
Two good things its on Clearwater beach it was beautiful and the sea was warm and lovely and it has in the rooms a Stovinkerator (please google) I thought/hoped they were a myth.
So don't stay here if you like clean pools and sleep. Do stay here if you will only be drunk on returning to you room and like kitchen equipment from the 1950's.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K8tgegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
1.5 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 98 in Clearwater
464 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#37 of 98 in Clearwater
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $93 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing