We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value on the beach, in our opinion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #72 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best value on the beach, in our opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

This Econo Lodge is beach front on the island of Clearwater Beach. It has a small area of sand beach, a small (heated) pool, a small (heated) jacuzzi, a small beach front deck, and a small price as far as beach front properties go. We have stayed here many times, most recently January 2012, and it has always been just fine for us. It's not new, it's not fancy, but it is beach front. We like to get the rooms on the "city view" side. Yes, you get the music from the resort next door, but we don't mind that. The balcony view let's us watch all the boats going in and out of the harbor, and the dolphin viewing is amazing. Internet is free, morning coffee is free, and some ok packaged breakfast stuff. The hotel has free parking, but is within walking distance of plenty of really good restaurants. Most of all, Clearwater Beach itself is a short walk away and an absolutely gorgeous beach.

Room Tip: If you don't like to listen to live music at night, choose a room on the "bridge view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    63
    44
    72
See reviews for
119
81
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you are expecting fancy, don't stay here but the hotel is right on the water and right in the middle of all the action on Clearwater beach. The pool and hot tub was nice and it had a gas grill outside.. Great sunsets. The room has a fridge and stove top. Very basic room but it was clean. Some con's: If you want a quiet location, you might not like the music at Sheppard's resort next door. Holiday weekends gets a bit crazy on the beach. Older folks probably won't like it and might be better off renting a little studio condo. If you are just looking a place to lay your head and want to experience Clearwater beach, this is a cheap way to do it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
358 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

There are so many different hotels in the Tampa/Clearwater/St. Petersburg area, I was having a hard time deciding where to stay. While this hotel near the beach is not as inexpensive, I figured it would be nice to be near the ocean. The hotel itself wasn't bad. The room was clean and comfortable. The view wasn't really impressive, as all I saw was other hotels. And I think that's the biggest issue. When you walk out to the back to the beach, all you really see off in the distance are more resorts. The beach area is relatively small and restricted. I'm just not sure it's worth it unless you have plans in the direct vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Beachfront resort is not what comes to mind when staying here.Furniture is old and carpets are stained. Staff not really friendly and views from the rooms are very poor.Beware as nice photos and reasonable prices can be fooling.You get less than what you pay for here:( Much better deals are to be found when you look around the area.

Room Tip: Even though they were not even close to being full they would not give us a better view room, only p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quality_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Shopped around and couldn't find a better rate. Staff was polite and helpful.Sure the rooms have signs of use but are clean and kept clean a/c worked great. Continental breakfast as promised and was told before we took the room about the band next door playing until (midnight) and it wasn't a problem, because if your staying at clearwater beach your probably going to be up that late anyway. Most of the rooms don't face the beach but you do have access to the beach with a jacuzzi and a pool. I thought it was a great weekday deal @ 67 dollars a night plus tax. And as far as sand being in certain places. Its the beach your going to have that,and if there was sand one day the next morning it was clean. Would definatly stay here again if you don't think its a deal shop around like I did.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattraverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Clean room, no stained sheets, clean coffee pot
Great location. I walked most places. All within a 15 minute walk.
This is the first Econo Lodge I have not complained about.

Do not stay in room 154 and two other rooms near 154. You can hear the music from the Sheppard's Hotel. Across the hall and you're fine

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeleye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were traveling from Mich. to Flor. to take our son to college. We made hotel reservations ahead of time with Choice Hotels since we are in their Rewards program. We wanted a hotel on the beach in Florida because our 13 year old daughter had never seen the ocean. We read the reviews on the "Quality Inn" on Clearwater Beach and it sounded very nice so we booked it for 2 nights and were pleased with our stay there. We decided to extend our stay in Florida an extra night but the Quality Inn did not have a room for another night so we did a search on the net for another Clarion hotel in Clearwater on the beach and found the Ecoco Lodge,which was right next door to the Quality Inn. The reviews were split, some good and some bad reviews…we trusted the good reviews and booked it. What a mistake! The lobby looked decent, the elevators were ancient, as were the ice machines, the halls looked OK as did the room until we looked it over. The sliding glass door to the balcony appeared very old and did not close, the track was bent and caused the door to have a ½” open gap ½ way down the door. The room had a VERY OLD fridge/stove unit which had rusty burners, and thickly frosted over freezer and the stove top was dirty. On the edges of the walls at the base of the floor there was dirt and grime, the bathroom door lock was broken as was the tub plug, furniture was old and abused. The ceiling had cob webs and random dead spiders and most of the metal parts on the hangers and suitcase rack were rusting. We could hear very loud music coming from the hotel next door, and knew from previous read reviews that we probably would not be getting much sleep. The box spring to one of the beds was severely bent which caused the mattress to sag. After seeing this we decided to notify the desk attendant and he transferred us to another room. I had high hopes that this room was just one of the bad ones and the next one would be nice, but it was equally as dirty and run down. All the edges of the rug were dirty with food particles and dirt, behind the bed was a candy wrapper and more dirt including a french fry and someone’s cut toe nail! On the dresser behind the TV was sitting a used paint brush, the tub plug in this bathroom was broken also and the fridge/stove unit was in the same condition as the previous one. We took the stairs when going to the pool and saw a ‘bloody tampon’ on the floor in the stairwell! The pool is MUCH smaller than it appears in the pics on the internet, although the water temp was comfortable and it was not full of debris as one reviews mentioned.
We decided to suck it up figuring the most we could get if we once again notified the desk clerk would be another dirty run down room. We stayed the night but will NEVER stay there again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lorrie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.4 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GulfView Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Property: GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing