We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Ranked #63 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room was average and the setting of hotel is nice. Beautiful view. Hotel has two pool and a hot tub. Overall everything was fine but nothing special. The Hotel could use a major renovation as it is showing its age.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 387 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Strange welcome as lady ignored us initially but one the silence was broken she become more friendly. We were looking for a reasonably priced beach front hotel that was clean . This is what we got and the room that we had on the 3rd floor was massive, with a substantial balcony. Loved that part. Outside the rooms needs updating but once in no problem. Pool nice , did not stay for breakfast as it looked pretty grim as really only a token. This hotel is right in the centre of Clearwater and is not your 4/5 star but this is not what the owners are looking to achieve. Forgot to say that we had a group of 6 lads above us and they dropped beer on to our balcony but it was the weekend and I told the to keep quiet in no uncertain terms. Not much we could do but I suppose this beach type of hotel attracts groups of younger people who are away to party. I prob wished I could have joined then but I imagine I couldn't handle the pace !
We will stay again I imagine as compared to other beach front hotels this is ok

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

great hotel great staff Raymond&Dave,room322 3rd floor 2double beds,micro,fridge,coffee
maker,flat screen tele,large balcony beach side,fantastic sunsets.Just had 2weeks there,would
definitely recommend. I shall return.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd or 4th floor beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I picked the Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach based on Trip Advisor reviews, the price and the proximity to the beach! All were perfect. Granted the hotel could definitely use some updating ... I'm sure in it's day ... it was the best on the beach. There were always workers seen fixing, painting or cleaning some area of the place ... so they are trying. I like the smaller hotels rather that going 25 floors and down a long hallway to your room. We stayed on the top floor right in the middle. Our view was amazing! The hotel was in walking distance to everything we needed. The kitchenette came in handy to make lunch and for a place to store beverages/snacks to take across the street to the beach. We loved our four night stay and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBE321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My sisters and myself had the pleasure of staying here from 10-10-13 through 10-13-13. The staff was very efficient and friendly and we especially want to commend Kristin on her excellent customer service skills, What an asset to your company. She made our stay very enjoyable and is a very sweet young lady. We will be staying again next year when we make our annual trip.

Thank you again

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which was quite nice. Were pleased with all they had to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda19532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is all about location, location, location! Right across the street from the beach, it is central to everything! We had a Gulf View room and I would highly recommend choosing it, the view is amazing! The hotel is a bit old and dated, but if you are there to enjoy everything Clearwater has to offer, it is perfect! We were only in the room to sleep and clean up. The hotel staff was very nice and the rooms kept clean. We didn't use the pool (why would you with ocean right there?), but all in all, it was a nice place. I will be booking our family vacation for June 2014 and we will be staying here!

Room Tip: Choose a Gulf view room, amazing view and not too much more than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location across from the beach .Free on site parking .All restaurants are a walkable distance
We had a great time ,staff very friendly .

Don't expect 4* luxury it's a very well used beach hotel .This is reflected in the room Price.

We knew what we were expecting so we were not disappointed .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 98 in Clearwater
464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#46 of 98 in Clearwater
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
#71 of 98 in Clearwater
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Address: 421 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $107 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach.***Please note Parking fee is $15.00 per night*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing