We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tim/sue brooksville fl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Weeki Wachee, Florida, United States
1 review
“tim/sue brooksville fl”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel !! great customer service. Dave and staff were very helpful. bedrooms were nice and comfy and very quiet. hotel is close to restaurants and stores.Beach is across the street and pier is in walking distance.We will be back....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    107
    104
    28
    36
See reviews for
167
110
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Kristen at the front desk was fabulous from the minute we called ( we were moving from a less than desirable hotel) so this was a last minute reservation. The price was right . Looks like the public areas need updating. The pool was clean and plenty of shade, it was being updated. All the staff in the front office were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff was great, even helped getting our luggage down the hallway and to our car.
We had a fantastic third floor room with an unobstructed view of the beach and sunset. Great location, seconds from the beach and walking distance to restaurants and sights .Our room was large, clean, updated, and has microwave and small fridge. Bathroom small but adequate. Bed comfortable and great pillows. Air conditioner newer just a slight noise when starting up, but worked great. Elavator available. Breakfast included, just the basics, but a real savings. We'd definitely come back.

Room Tip: Chose a 3rd or 4th floor with a view of the gulf/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacemusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, opposite the beach and near resturants etc. Clean and comfortable rooms, ours was an Gulf View room and had coffe machine, microwave, fridge, plates cups etc, 2 very comfortable double beds and a settee, towels were changed every day. The continental breakfast was Ok if all you wanted was bread/toast, juice, coffee, porridge/oatmeal and cakes, using plastic cups, plates and knives. It is a bit rough round the edges ie no light shade on the bathroom light, hair drier only worked on low power, kitchen units a bit tatty and the sliding doors to the balcony were very stiff, although a bit of shampoo helped! All in all we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Gulf View rooms are great, watching the sun going down. The other rooms don't have a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the budget price, despite some of the reviews I'd read. It wasn't that bad. The bed is comfortable, the pool is nice. There are stoneware mugs and plates in the room, in addition to real cutlery (instead of plastic), a fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. The parking is free! I didn't much care for the thin towels and the cheap toiletries. The elevator often smelled faintly of cigarettes. The breakfast could be better--they offer coffee/tea, juice, bread for toasting, individual cups of applesauce, packaged donuts, pastries and muffins, instant oatmeal (but no milk, only powdered creamer) and granola bars from Walmart.
The location is great--right across from the beach. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCorona_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Too often good experiences go unnoticed. I didn't want that to happen in this case. My time at the Magnuson was great. Not only is the hotel located across the street from the beach. The staff (Raymond) are exceptional. Dave is great too. Though the hotel is a little dated, the rooms are clean and large. I could have put my entire family in my room with little discomfort. The breakfast is very limited, but they weren't trying to sell that on the site. It is what it is. Overall, it was a good room at a great price. There wasn't a lot of noise around the place, but it is the off season. Wanting a place close to the beach and reasonably priced. This is the place. Ask for Raymond he is a rock star. Famous quote of a goofy guest, "Does it matter"?

Room Tip: Most of the westerly and northerly rooms have a view of the gulf. Only the ones facing street have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We reviewed this online without ever have seen this hotel. We stayed at Guy Harvey Beach resort in St Pete Beach for 2 days (2.5 star hotel)... then stayed at Magnuson in Clearwater for 1 day (2.5 star hotel). Not even comparable.
Magnuson is older, few amenities. It is more of a 'motel' with a small pool than a 'hotel'.
Lady at front desk was kinda rude when we figured out that booking online (Orbitz) we mistakenly were given a room with 2 double beds instead of 1 king size bed. We called before even getting there for the weekend... and the lady was rude on the phone and up-charged us $30 more for a room with king sized bed!
So overall... not a roach motel... but not the greatest.
But on Clearwater beach, there are so many out-dated motels that i am sure are worse yet... but this Magnuson was a far cry from the Hyatt or Hilton by far.
PS. the bed springs on our king size bed were horrible!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSteveRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were provided with 2 magnificent, spacious rooms, with spectacular sea views, we were able to watch a spectacular sunset from our balcony on our last night here. The breakfast was as advertised and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A great end to a wonderful holiday/vacation.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms facing the sea have magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DemonDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#48 of 98 in Clearwater
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#42 of 98 in Clearwater
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#44 of 98 in Clearwater
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Property: Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Address: 421 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing