We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient, old, and not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for spring break and shower didn't work. The managers are far to nosey in your personal business and did not feel safe. Felt like I couldn't leave anything in my room because it would be easy for someone to enter and steal it. Drains do not work. This hotel could be okay if they knocked it down and started fresh... With new management.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 383 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Magnuson Clearwaterbeach for 2 nights in march. The hotel has a perfect location, just by the white, clean beach. We had a condo with a small kitcenette = it´s perfect with a refridgerator in hot tempratures! The room was spacious with 2 queenbeds. What we didn´t like was the fact that the bathroomsink was out in the room. The "bathroom" contained just the toilet and the shower. The walls in the hotel was thin and we could hear the neighbours. We visited during springbreak, and it got quite noisy late at night.
We had a complimentary breakfast, down in the lobby. The breakfast consisted of toasts and muffins, not what we usually eat at home. It´s better to use your kitchenette to make your own breakfast. The room was quite cheap and the location was perfect, just a 2 min walk to the beach and 5 min to pier 60.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JinxR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights recently at Clearwater. The weather was cold, but we still had fun. Our spacious and VERY clean room helped warm us up with a nice view of the beach. Pleasant housekeeping and service. Our room overlooked the beach and pool. Convenient to all sites and services within walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 813Kater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After looking at several hotels (in person), we got a beachfront room/ balcony for a great price. The room was clean, a bit dated, but very satisfactory. Our bed was softer than we like and while we were there we saw them bringing in a ton a new mattress for the rooms. Very friendly front desk and staff. Excellent location. We didn't have a reservation and still received a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jagbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Magnuson Hotel is very close to the beach! Older hotel but very clean. I would definitely stay her again! Great customer service - Richard and Dave professional and ready to help! Even maintenance staff very friendly while working on property. Clearwater Beach Aquarium is nearby and walking distance (if you walk) otherwise take trolley or drive. Lunch and dinner at Greek restaurant next door is great. Greek salad was delicious, portion huge. Their pizza was fantastic. Definitely eat there again! Dunkin Donuts for coffee over on Mandalay Drive. Meals at the Columbia about 2 or 3 miles away in Sand Key is fantastic. Columbia in Ybor City is even better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dianak678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank Miklos T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was the first of many places we stayed on our recent 3 week visit to Florida from Oxford England in January '13 We stayed at this MOTEL and really enjoyed it. It is NOT a hotel, however the room was large and included a fridge, microwave, plates & cutlery. The reception staff were very helpful and our room was cleaned & bed linen changed regularly. We originally booked to stay 2 nights but stayed for 5 because it was so central for beach, pier 69 etc. We also didn't need a car during this stay as we used the local trolly bus which is excellant value at 2.25 dollers a day - hop on and off all day. We didn't use the pool so can't comment. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 412 pool view - there are rooms with a sea view but I think costs more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaggieOxford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#52 of 98 in Clearwater
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach

Address: 421 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $115 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach.***Please note Parking fee is $15.00 per night*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing