We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeds expectations in customer service and GREAT location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Windsor, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations in customer service and GREAT location!!!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The front desk was very helpful in answering our questions about where to eat, and what to do in the area!! My boyfriend and I had never been to Clearwater Beach, (we are from Canada) and we were impressed with the service, price of the room, and convenience of restaurants/attractions which were all walking distance from the hotel, not to mention the beach and gorgeous view. We had an amazing trip and definitley will stay again!! Highly recommend for a great getaway!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel421, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for such a pleasant upbeat review! We really feel great when we see these kind of comments! We are glad your family had fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    107
    101
    25
    34
See reviews for
161
109
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel was found on the internet with an online special. Thought we were getting a balcony room, however we didn't realize it wasn't a private balcony. Wasn't a big deal as we were hardly in the room. We watched the sunsets from the beach, which the hotel was opposite from. Very very easy access.
The only complaint was the sofa sleeper. It was springy and dirty. I would not let my children sleep on it. The gal on duty was very helpful in sending up a roll a away cot after calling a few times.

I was overall very satisfied with this hotel. Will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alpinethedog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel421, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your pleasant comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

When we arrived at this hotel alarm bells rang. It was very run down and dirty. The staff were not interested in us at all. The pool area was dirty and the loungers were not inviting to say the least. We were surprised the lift made it to our floor.

Our room had not been properly cleaned from the previous guests and we were presented with a half used box of condoms and various other bits of rubbish in the drawers. The bathroom was very out dated and the complimentary toiletries were like museum pieces!

As we were only staying one night we decided to go out and spend as little time in the room as possible! It was right on the beach which was the only redeeming feature.

When we went to sleep we were soon awoken by the room next door, a group of teenagers screaming, shouting and banging on our ajoining door. We felt extremely threatened. This went on until about 4am!

The breakfast was appalling some cellophane wrapped pieces of bread and some really unpleasant cakes so cut our losses packed up and left!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel421, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We've reached out to this person several times to assist them with the problems that they had but have not gotten anywhere. We certainly apologize for anything that went wrong while they were staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Kalmar, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Had a great room, great service, great view and a very competitive price. Would definitely stay there next visit. You can walk to everything you need to have agreat vacation, i.e., shopping, food, beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel421, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Excellent location opposite beautiful Clearwater Beach. A couple of doors from shops and restaurants. Main concentration approx 10 minute walk away, as was Pier 60.

Cleaning staff were excellent and scrubbed the room every day. Good service from reception when we contacted them about the smoke detector which had started to beep as the battery had gone dead. They immediately came up with a new battery and replaced it.

There seems to be a couple of different styles of room, some which appear to have a separate seating aree, which we didnt know about when we had booked. We were in a pool view room. It was large and open plan, small kitchen area immediately inside the door with fridge and microwave and coffee machine. 2 King size beds, TV with a few cable channels, table and a couple of chairs. Vanity sink with big mirror and built in hairdryer. Rail to hang clothes only had a few hangers, so a few extras would have been good.

The pool area was really nice and the sunbeds were surprisingly comfy! We used this a few times when it became too windy on the beach. It would have been good if the pool had been heated as we would have used it.

I would stay again if just for a couple of nights as location was great. However I dont think I would stay for a week again as we were a little disappointed with the finish of the rooms. They were a great size, but would benefit from being spruced up. There arent many pictures etc on the walls which made it feel unfinished. The bathroom was very small and had a shower curtain on the bath, which I personally dont like as I think they harbour germs/smells. It would be an idea to open this up and separate the vanity area from the main living space and open out the small bathroom area, there is plenty of space to accommodate something like this.

The breakfast was fine for a wee snack in the morning. There was wholemeal/white bread and a toaster. There was also packets of Quaker porridge which could be made up with the microwave. Also a juice machine and coffee. Also a few danish pastries which were lovely when heat up for 10 secs.

We didnt have any issues with parking, so I dont think there is any scam on the go. All the way along the beach you have to pay to park, so I think the previous reviewer was just unlucky. There was a sign in reception advising to get a permit, which we were handed on check in.

To eat out I would highly recommend Frenchy's original cafe which is just off the main Mandalay avenue, on the right at the traffic lights. There are a few of these in town, and we went to this a few times and also tried the Rockaway. I found the cafe to have great service and it had daily specials on cocktails/drinks and food, $2.95 for Mai-Tai's and $99c beers, also Buffalo burger for only £3.95!!! Rockaway food was good and had a wider selection on offer but was significantly more expensive. We also really enjoyed the Italian which was opposite the Quality hotel, I dont recall the name, but I read about it on here, and it lived up to the reviews.

Clearwater Beach was fabulous. We watched the dolphins swimming along just off shore most days. Beware of the pesky seagulls. Hide any food you are eating as if they spot you it is like a scene from a Hitchcick film!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is where the ice machine is. Some of the pool view rooms also have views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mugs-and-Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This hotel has a great location with awesome views of the water. Rooms and property were clean and kept up well.

BEWARE of parking scams.Car towed witnin 10min of our arrival make sure you check in before checking out a sunset. Had to have cash to get car back we do believe there is a scam on parking there the tow truck is just there waing for the chance to tow when parking was open every where. Our room was compted for our inconvience but it was a terrible way start a trip.

Employees were very helpful in getting us discount tickets to see Winter the Dolphin. MUST SEE WINTER.

Room Tip: Top floor on Gulf View Drive has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubsfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel421, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Just to help clarify this, we do not own the parking lot where the guest parked. There is no "scam" to our parking situation. The only thing that permits our guest to park where this guest parked is a parking pass that we give at check in. The company that owns the parking lot has very visible signs up all over, stating "Tow Away Zone. No Parking without a permit." When a person parks their car there and runs off to the beach, how is anyone supposed to know they are a future guest of the hotel?

Parking is a very controlled and enforced thing here on the beach, not just at our hotel but everywhere on the island. We are one of only a small handful of hotels that even offer free parking to our guest but as with anything in life that is free, there are limits and regulations that must be enforced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We have stayed here for years. We love this place because of many reasons, but the location and management are at the top of our list. We will be at the Magnuson for the month of Febuary and look forward to seeing all again.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60859Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#44 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#33 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
#73 of 96 in Clearwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel

Property: Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
Address: 421 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach presents our guests with the very best in tropical island feel as you step outside our hotel doors into the white-sands of Clearwater Beach, Florida. Within seconds you can be comfortably sitting in a lounge chair feeling a wonderful Gulf coast breeze upon your face. You will enjoy soaking up the sun, majestic ocean views and the warm waters of Clearwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing