We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO HANG YOUR HAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N
Ranked #85 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Last July and August, I decided to take a three week Father and Son trip to Florida with my ten year old son. We decided to make Clearwater, Florida our home base as I am very familiar and knowledgeable about the area as my parents previously owned a home in St. Petersburg, Florida. During my many business trips in North America, I often stay at Super 8 Hotels and thus decided to stay for three weeks at the Super 8 Hotel located at 22950 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, Florida.

The hotel management and employees were great, very friendly, always in attendance and willing to assist and make our stay comfortable. Each and every day of our stay, whenever we departed or arrived back at the hotel from our excursions or adventures, we were always greeted by Henry or the other staff members. They always went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay pleasant. Upon first arriving at the hotel to register, Henry was on duty at the front desk and assigned us a room with two double beds located next to the main office. Parking was right outside our hotel room door which made transporting items and purchases from the car to the hotel room very easy.
This Super 8 Hotel was an older and modest utilitarian hotel which provided 2 double beds, clean sheets, towels, functioning bath, shower, toilet and sink, television, chest of drawers, desk, chairs, telephone and free wireless high speed internet connection. This hotel met our basic requirements and needs and since it was located so close to the highway, we were able to venture out to theme parks, attractions, museums, dinner shows, malls, restaurants, beaches and theatres with dispatch. The hotel had a large outdoor swimming pool which was very clean and private. The hotel also had a washer and dryer which could be utilized for a nominal fee. The hotel room was clean and the chamber maid cleaned our room and washroom daily. The price of the hotel also included a free breakfast which consisted of coffee, juice, toast, porridge, cereal, milk etc. The breakfast area was off the main lobby and was very clean and always supervised by the front desk attendants.

This Super 8 Hotel is not a five star hotel like The Atlantis in the Bahamas, or The President Wilson Hotel in Geneva or The Plaza Hotel in New York. If you want a five star hotel then you should be prepared to pay the big bucks. This hotel is utilitarian, clean and modest and the price we paid reflected so. If you need a place to hang your hat for the night, a place which is clean, modest, has no bugs, provides free high speed wireless internet, a large clean pool and super friendly management and staff, then the Super 8 Hotel located on US Highway 19, North, Clearwater Florida, is for you.

My son and I are once again planning a summer adventure this July and August and thus, based on a great experience last year, we will once again stay at this same Super 8 Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MICHAELSCRIBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 305 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

the main reason to stay at this motel was it's location and price with internet special rate. the motel is very hard to find due to configuration of/construction on highway 19- recommend mapquesting it to find it.
i booked a non-smoking room but was given a room where the dirty smoke grime was thick on all the furniture. and one of the beds was unmade. otherwise the room was ok.
when i called to ask if there was a microwave and fridge in the room, i was told no. but the room i was given had them.
breakfast was good- coffee, juice, 3 cereals, rolls, cereal bars,
expanded cable tv.
my room facing ihop next door was quiet. however, there was an adjoining door and the family in that room was very loud- so be sure to not get a room with adjoining door!!!
ask them to take the safe fee off the bill- this is a ridiculous fee that the chain motels charge.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clearwaterfl, Webmaster at Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Registration staff received additional training in differentiating between smoking and non-smoking in booking rooms.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

3) Breakfast staff was made aware of the nice compliments you paid to their breakfast.

I hope that the next time you stay in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

The woman at the front desk was unfriendly and spoke broken-English. Our room smelled overwhelmingly of mildew and there was a beer bottle (with a bit of beer still in it) left near the air conditioning unit. I wonder how long it has been there. When we requested a room switch because of the smell, the woman at the front desk seemed annoyed and asked us if we had opened the door. Did she think we would sleep with the door opened? We ended up staying in the original room because the room she switched us to smelled even more strongly of mildew. There was also mold growing on the air conditioner's vents. The only good thing about this motel is its location. We left as soon as we awoke, which was early in the morning, because the smell was so bad. We frequently stay at motels in this price range ($50) and this is absolutely the worst one we've ever encountered.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbird666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clearwaterfl, Webmaster at Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken.:

1) The registration staff received additional training concerning the courteous way in which they, as our employees, are to treat our valued guests.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N. I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We have stayed at Super 8 motels many times. Most of which have been very nice, never had a problem... until now. We were supposed to stay there two nights and right away when we got there we cancelled the second night and made a reservation somewhere else. The pictures shown on the website are no where near what it really looks like. The place is run down, they are slowly trying to renovate the place, but apparently that has been going on for years! We had a room in the back, because if you stay in the front all you hear is the highway. The stairway closest to our room was unusable because they were fixing it, complete with creepy construction guys hanging out there all day. When we got up to our room we had too body slam the door just to get it open. The room was stuffy and smelled like cleaning products, but wasn't clean. The door was warped with a huge crack in it and only one lock worked due to it's poor shape. The bedding was questionable, didn't seem like it was clean. Bathroom was so disgusting we wore sandals to shower. The rest of the guests seemed so shady that we barracaded the door with the chair. Over all it was a terrible experience and I would not reccomend this place to anyone. Oh and when we checked in the guy at the desk was old and crabby. Then when we checked out the lady didn't speak English. The whole thing was just really frustrating and I would never in a million years go back there

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snoxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clearwaterfl, Webmaster at Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Registration staff received additional training concerning the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests. They also were instructed that if there is a problem in understanding because of a language barrier, it is perfectly in order to ask another staff member for help.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

3) Security staff was made aware that you felt unsafe in your room.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stay elsewhere if you can find it, especially during baseball season! Nice staff, slowly trying to improve the place, removing unsafe closed-in stairwells. Place has security problems as my door knob was rattled moments after I entered one night alone. Furnishings old and worn out, bathroom clean, but also worn out. Questionable cleanliness of sheets, bed clothes. Good air conditioner/heater. Everything works, but place is not worth $70-$80/night. Sugar coated cereals, pre-packaged sugar rolls for breakfast. Coffee marginal. Real half and half and milk, apples OK. Front desk is trying, but need a lot of money to clean up the place. Huge pool, but didn't use. Convenient location to Rte. 19 and Gulf to Bay and mall there. I would not go back. Not safe for single women or fun for kids. OK for truckers or just passing through.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank to-live-in-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clearwaterfl, Webmaster at Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Management was commended upon the efforts they are making to improve the establishment.

2) Security was notified about your feelings of being unsafe and of your door knob being turned after you entered the room.

3) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Staff extremely nice!! But...
Exterior looks very run down.
Rooms tiny! We had a room with two twin beds and literally had to take turns walking between end of beds and dresser/desk. You could not walk past each other without turning sideways!
Our room smelled very odd. We couldn't place the odor but it definitely came home on our belongings. It was very damp feeling even though the airconditioner appeared to work just fine. The door frame seemed to be missing and we could see light all around the edges of the exterior door.
The pool, which was across the parking lot and behind the IHOP, closed at 7:00 p.m.
The continental breakfast was EXTREMELY basic.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clearwaterfl, Webmaster at Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you found our staff to be extremely nice. I would have expected nothing less from them, but it is always nice to hear.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is greatly appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

1) Staff members were notified of the nice things you said about them.

2) Maintenance was notified of the missing door frame on the room assigned to you and instructed to replace it.

3) Breakfast staff was approached about the possibility of adding to the menu.

4) Housekeeping staff was notified about the odor you reported and instructed to look into it.

I hope that the next time you visit in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2005

I travel from coast to coast and have stayed at Super 8 on many occassions. Most are very nice with friendly staff.
This hotel in Clearwater, Fl on hwy 19 is the worst I have been to by a long shot. Carpets were burned with cigarette holes and smelled, the toilet had a leak, and the outside walkways were very dirty. I could go on but you get the picture.
I will go to other Super 8's, and wrote a complaint to corporate about this one, so be warned.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8clearwaterfl, Webmaster at Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance and housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

2) Maintenance was instructed to see to the repair of the leaky toilet in the room which was assigned to you.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Clearwater/US Highway 19 N. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 98 in Clearwater
374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#70 of 98 in Clearwater
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 98 in Clearwater
358 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clearwater South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N

Address: 22950 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33765-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Clearwater Inn Clearwater Central offers 100 hygienic, cozy, elegantly decorated guest rooms at reasonable price and is just minutes from Florida's beautiful beaches and the most popular attractions of the Clearwater/St. Petersburg area. This esteemed hotel offers the best in high quality personalized services and comfortable accommodations that make Super 8 Clearwater most preferred choice for the most tasteful travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Clearwater/US Hwy 19 N reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Clearwater / Us Highway 19 n Hotel Clearwater
Super Eight Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing