We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Nice little hotel, it ain't the Ritz but on the whole very good, there are three woman receptionists, 2 are lovely, 1 is a right moody so and so, our room (17) was rather noisy with all the A/C units from the other hotel next door directly at the back of us, I have to admit the 1st night i was going to check out into another hotel, but to be honest I got used to it and was good for the other 6 nights, hotel was virtually empty during the week apart from 2 nice couples from UK, Weekend was busier especially on balconies and in small pool area, on the whole, would reccommed this quaint little place and may well stay here again if we return to Clearwater Beach (resort looking a bit tardy nowadays).

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tel3563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 409 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Northville, MI
15
Reviewed August 30, 2005

I found this lovely little resort on trip advisor. My husband and I found this to be a lovely spot to stay. The management was very helpful. The room was very clean. At night we could see the boats coming in from our room. It was a really pretty sight with all their lights. I would recommend this resort to anyone.I hope this resort will stay the way it is. Thank you for a wonderful weekend We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Averill Park, NY
113
Reviewed August 11, 2005

We spent 3 nights at the Sea Captain Resort (June 29-July 1) and our only regret was that we hadn't reserved a 4th night! The view from our room (#24) was fantastic - it looked directly out on a harbor. The Sea Captain even has places where you can dock your boat, so some guests had come by water. We loved watching tour boats come in and out. There was even a "pirate" ship docked next door, which was gorgeous to see come back from an evening cruise with the lights all lit on its mast. Clearwater Beach was a very short walk -- 2 quiet blocks away -- so each day started with a mile walk from Pier 60 to one end of the beach and back. The grounds of this hotel are cared for lovingly -- my husband the gardener spent a half hour talking with the desk clerk about the plantings. The pool and spa were sparkling clean, as was our non-smoking room. The bed was very comfortable, the AC purred (very important in Florida in July!), and the little kitchenette in the room was well equipped and convenient.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis
439
Reviewed August 11, 2005

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor I booked a suite here. I was a little nervous because it looked old and dated, but thought we'd give it a try. It IS old and dated, but I could live with that. The thing that made our stay here bad was the attitude of the managament/front office person/owner? She was unbelievably rude on check-in, we stood for a full few minutes before she would acknowledge us, when she did she was very unfriendly. Room wasn't ready, although we were there after check-in time. It was as though she was really doing us a favor but letting us stay. The pool was overrun with really noisy tweens, who then took to running past all the rooms playing tag. Parents obliviously drinking by the pool with their boom box blasting. Luckily we were only there for 2 nights. After being spoiled with Disney magic for 8 nights prior, this was a big letdown to the end of our trip! Worst past was that it cost us more per night than our beautiful Disneyworld resort.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Rapids, Michigan
15
Reviewed July 19, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
111
Reviewed June 12, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Daisymuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#52 of 98 in Clearwater
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $134 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing