We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Old Florida Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Florida Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked last minute, got the last room avbl. Much much less expensive than resorts around us. Very clean in a fantastic area to walk around-didn't move the car for 3 days!
Tv did not work on arrival, Cindy took control immediately called cable company and got it fixed!
They even have a continental breakfast in the office!
Perfect for extended families as there is many tables and chairs on porches for socializing!
We loved staying in an old Florida style motel instead of a big generic resort!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejatczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    70
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
151
120
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Sea Captain for 7 nights and would definitely return. I had researched quite a bit prior to our arrival and it was what I expected and more. The rooms are very clean and comfortable! The beds were great as were the pillows and linens. The towels in the bathroom soft. Sometimes w/ older places you find these things as old as the hotel itself! Not the case here. The pool was clean and a perfect temp - plenty of chairs and pool towels provided. The grounds were awesome; shuffle board, cornhole, fishing, picnic tables to watch the boats come and go, grills - I mean if you want old Florida style this place can't be beat! We had extended family come in later in the week and everyone loved it and felt right at home and relaxed. This little resort grew on all of us and by the end of the week we were sad to leave and a little jealous of the people checking in behind us. :) If you want a comfortable, clean, laid back vacation spot this is for you. If you want a 5 star resort, well it isn't that, but for what it is it's just about perfect and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmw4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband I were looking for a hotel not far from the beach that was clean and comfortable. The Sea Captain ended up being perfect. Please note this place is not modern or fancy. What it is though is : clean, comfortable, close to everything and you feel safe walking around. You are not right on the beach but you are at the marina and have a view of the harbor, fishing dock with grounds that are well taken care. Although we did not have our kids with us we found it to be extremely family friendly. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to stay here based on the reviews. It was perfect...location location location. We walked everywhere! Restaurants, Pier, beach and boat tours all are very close. The beach is across two streets but you are very close. It is small and old fashioned, like a east coast beach place in Fl. Very clean and the grounds are kept very well. The bathroom is small but worth all the extras. Cindy at the front desk was super helpful and even gave my daughter aloe to put on her sunburn! Tom was helpful as well and gave us tips on where to eat and aquarium tickets we could purchase right there. They have a great continental breakfast on weekends and coffee and juice weekdays. The price was great and we are so glad we didn't stay at the higher priced place we originally planned. No parking fees and no hotel fees. They have a pool, hot tub, shuffle board and corn hole games. Laundry room with free detergent. This place is a gem! Lots of seating out by the harbor and a great place to watch the boats. Even though the beds were doubles they were very comfortable and the sheets and towels were not the cheapy hotel types, but nice quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cee102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son & I stayed here for one night in room 22. The bay views from every window were very pretty! The hotel itself is older with old Florida decor - it had character :) The most important thing was that our room was CLEAN. The property grounds has several benches & picnic tables - plenty of seating options to sit outside & watch the boats coming & going. The best part was the location of the hotel! We walked to the beach, to Pier 60, & to breakfast. You can literally park your car & walk everywhere!

The only reason I didn't give this a 5 is because it appears the pool doesn't have a 'closing time' like most places. It was a Saturday night when we stayed & the pool was just below our room but at 11pm there were several older kids in the pool being quite loud. Not a huge deal but my six year old was fast asleep at that time.

Anyway, overall great place! We'd stay there again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

As usual another wonderful trip to the Sea Captain. Clean and comfortable. Old Florida style but well kept. Hard to beat location! Fifth stay and will b back! Easy walk to the beach . Fishing dock, view of harbor and passing boats

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just recently returned from our 2nd stay (although shorter than what I would have liked) at the Sea Captain and it reminded me of why we really enjoy this little resort. The location is perfect, close to everything including the beach and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We will definately be returning in the future.
Big thanks to Tom for his help when information was needed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEPATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#9 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#58 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.8 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Property: Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing