We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent room but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently spend 4 nights at The Residence Inn. We stayed in a 2 bedroom second floor room. The kitchen was outfitted perfectly. The staff was outstanding and accommodating. The only thing negative was not the fault of the hotel. I am not sure of its proximity to a police station or hospital but every night the sirens were wailing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St.Petersburg Clearwater! I am pleased to here that you enjoyed our spacious suites. I am truly sorry to hear about the noise you encountered. If you do return in the future and experience the inconvenience of noise, we do offer earplugs, headphones and alarm clocks that provide sleep sounds to help you get a peaceful night sleep. Our goal is for every guest to have a perfect stay and we hope to see you again!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    56
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
89
26
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Residence Inn was very well furnished and designed. It had a nice kitchen, living room, 2 double beds, and a well appointed bathroom. The pool was nice and they had an evening fire pit. There is also a sports/basketball/volleyball court beside the pool. Each morning there is a free buffet breakfast, and Monday through Thursday night they have simple food fare, such as tacos or soup along with wine, beer, and tea. My wife and I were there six nights and found everything exceptional, including the staff of Jeff, Tim, and Elizabeth, who were most helpful and friendly. It's close to everything around Clearwater/St. Pete, as well as a short ride across the bay to Tampa. Lot's to do and see there.

Room Tip: We were in room 911 and found it to be very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kagnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St.Petersburg Clearwater! It is great to hear that you were happy with our spacious suites, location and all the amenities we have to offer. I am also excited to pass on your compliments to our outstanding Front Desk team and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful visit . Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Lovely place. Bedroom #1 French doors king room N-I-C-E!!!! Bedroom #2 Loft equally nice! Full kitchen. I would like to have that kitchen at home. Marble counter top. Full refrigerator and dishwasher. 2 full baths. Breakfast was great. Stayed on weekend so breakfast only but Monday-Thrusday they serve a dinner. Staff were eager to please every request.

Room Tip: Dog Friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresah572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! I am so happy to hear what an enjoyable stay you had and that you were pleased with our updated, spacious suites. We hope to see you again in the future!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
417 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

At the last minute, we needed a reservation & knowing the good quality of Residence Inns, did not hesitate to book here. We were not disappointed. The room we had was beautiful, had a fireplace, very comfortable bed & full kitchen. Very roomy & had everything we needed although there were a few knats I kept swatting at. The check-in staff was very friendly & even though our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we left for about 30 minutes, returned & we were good to check-in. The staff was very pleasant throughout out stay & recommended a restaurant to us. The location was a bit out of the way from where I needed to be & since I am not from the area, when I was making my reservation & asked about how close they were to a certain location, that would have been the perfect time for them to tell me they had another location almost right on top of where I needed to be. As it was, this particular location was about a 20 minute drive away. There was major construction going on with I-9 north & south that made travel to/from very challenging.

Room Tip: Room 1022 was very nice & in a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our spacious suites, as well as our many amenities. We hope to see you again in the future!
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

First off, know that I have high status in the Marriott chain. As a Residence Inn goes, this is the old style layout (more condo like) and candidly my favorite.

The room wasn't ready when I got there (it was early) but staff did everything they could to make me feel welcome. Elizabeth especially went out of her way to work with me in arranging the room and the second room which I had gotten for my family the second day. There was a small issue with that second room the next day (Elizabeth had left) but staff immediately took care of it.

The room are updated, comfortable and quiet (at least in the back half) and the breakfast is pretty good. Staff is very helpful and the location is central.

I enjoyed every bit of this stay. It isn't a resort, if that is what you are looking for then move on, but if a solid stay, in a central location that is comfortable is what you are looking for, then it is perfect. I should note that it appears sold out all the time, tells me something about it.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and be in the back...it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience at our hotel! I am pleased to hear what an enjoyable stay you had and that Elizabeth did such a great job! I also want to thank you for your Elite status and your loyalty to our Marriott family. We hope to see you again in the future!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a very nice property. We were greeted at check-in promptly and were allowed to checkin early. This was a bonus. We checked in for one night New Year's Eve, it was the last night of a 7 night stay and we wanted to stay in town versus the beach. We used rewards to stay here but brought our mini yorkie and for one night we were charged $100. This seems to be excessive. However, we paid it. Keeping in mind we just paid 25.00 to stay on the beach for our pet for an entire week. Moving on...the location of this property is very good. It is close to food and not too far to the airport. We were able to go to the pool but there was a lack of lounge chairs to sit on. They were all taken. They should add more of these. As well, perhaps the addition of a pool towel station where you could get towels without having to go to the front desk would be great. Or they could even leave 2 of them in your hotel room for you. The residence inn also offers a nightly buffet with a few items for guests but because this was new years eve they didnt offer anything. This too was a disappointment. The room was very nice but the beds are small (doubles) for 2 people who are used to sleeping in a king size bed. Overall, I would stay here again as it was a nice property and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKVogel0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and giving us a high recommendation. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and will look into some of your suggestions as well. We hope to see you again in the future!
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas 2012. The experience was very pleasant. Room and bed were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Housekeeping staff are helpful and polite and went out of their way to accommodate your every need. The pool and hot spa are spotlessly clean and all the surrounding grounds are meticulously maintained. Breakfast is hot or cold with many choices from homemade waffles and eggs to fresh fruit and yogurt parfaits. This place deserves its five stars. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Standard suites and larger suites with two bedrooms with couch, recliner and nicely equipped kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Happy Holidays and thank you for spending Christmas with our family at the Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater! The staff and I are happy that you were able to enjoy breakfast, our comfortable suites and the Florida weather out by the pool. We take pride in giving each of our guests an exceptional experience and hope that we will see you again. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about our hotel!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater

Property: Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Address: 5050 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33760-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A TripAdvisor Award of Excellence winner, the all-suite Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Clearwater hotel provides the comforts of home along with unexpected services including free grocery shopping and free basic high-speed internet access. Start the day with a free hearty breakfast buffet in the Gatehouse and enjoy our complimentary evening Social Hour provided on a variety of weeknights. Enjoy our beautifully redesigned hotel suites with 31 HD channels, cozy fireplaces, full kitchens featuring stainless steel appliances, living areas big enough for entertaining and sleeping areas with plush new beds. Located just 1 mile from St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport, 11 miles to Tampa International Aiport, a ten minute drive from white sandy beaches, Tropicana Field and Bright House Field and within walking distance of Carillon Park –we are conveniently located for business or pleasure. Relax and unwind at this hotel with our fitness center, Sport Court® and pool for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Residence Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing