We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate - great property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - great property.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

First off, know that I have high status in the Marriott chain. As a Residence Inn goes, this is the old style layout (more condo like) and candidly my favorite.

The room wasn't ready when I got there (it was early) but staff did everything they could to make me feel welcome. Elizabeth especially went out of her way to work with me in arranging the room and the second room which I had gotten for my family the second day. There was a small issue with that second room the next day (Elizabeth had left) but staff immediately took care of it.

The room are updated, comfortable and quiet (at least in the back half) and the breakfast is pretty good. Staff is very helpful and the location is central.

I enjoyed every bit of this stay. It isn't a resort, if that is what you are looking for then move on, but if a solid stay, in a central location that is comfortable is what you are looking for, then it is perfect. I should note that it appears sold out all the time, tells me something about it.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and be in the back...it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience at our hotel! I am pleased to hear what an enjoyable stay you had and that Elizabeth did such a great job! I also want to thank you for your Elite status and your loyalty to our Marriott family. We hope to see you again in the future!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    59
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
96
28
7
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a very nice property. We were greeted at check-in promptly and were allowed to checkin early. This was a bonus. We checked in for one night New Year's Eve, it was the last night of a 7 night stay and we wanted to stay in town versus the beach. We used rewards to stay here but brought our mini yorkie and for one night we were charged $100. This seems to be excessive. However, we paid it. Keeping in mind we just paid 25.00 to stay on the beach for our pet for an entire week. Moving on...the location of this property is very good. It is close to food and not too far to the airport. We were able to go to the pool but there was a lack of lounge chairs to sit on. They were all taken. They should add more of these. As well, perhaps the addition of a pool towel station where you could get towels without having to go to the front desk would be great. Or they could even leave 2 of them in your hotel room for you. The residence inn also offers a nightly buffet with a few items for guests but because this was new years eve they didnt offer anything. This too was a disappointment. The room was very nice but the beds are small (doubles) for 2 people who are used to sleeping in a king size bed. Overall, I would stay here again as it was a nice property and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKVogel0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and giving us a high recommendation. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and will look into some of your suggestions as well. We hope to see you again in the future!
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas 2012. The experience was very pleasant. Room and bed were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Housekeeping staff are helpful and polite and went out of their way to accommodate your every need. The pool and hot spa are spotlessly clean and all the surrounding grounds are meticulously maintained. Breakfast is hot or cold with many choices from homemade waffles and eggs to fresh fruit and yogurt parfaits. This place deserves its five stars. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Standard suites and larger suites with two bedrooms with couch, recliner and nicely equipped kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Happy Holidays and thank you for spending Christmas with our family at the Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater! The staff and I are happy that you were able to enjoy breakfast, our comfortable suites and the Florida weather out by the pool. We take pride in giving each of our guests an exceptional experience and hope that we will see you again. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about our hotel!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights. The hotel suite was great! Clean, very spacey, kitchen had all we needed. Loved the pool and hot tub area. Well maintained and clean. Breakfast was good, each day had different food. When something ran out, was replaced when brought to their attention. Staff was friendly. We were there on December 25th, so housekeeping only collected dirty towels and brought clean towels, but that was no problem for us. Dishwasher in kitchen so easy clean-up. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite overlooking the pool - basketball court right outside but not much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for spending Christmas with our family at the Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater! The staff and I are happy that you were able to enjoy our hot breakfast, our spacious suites and the Florida weather out by the pool. We take pride in giving each of our guests an exceptional experience and hope that we will see you again. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about our hotel and Happy New Year!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville,TN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Ours was a pleasure trip with a brother, two sisters and their spouses. The hotel was great! Very clean, well furnished and very quiet. We arrived late on a Friday and checked out on a Sunday to head a little further south. Not the slightest complaint and we will stay their again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: As with most top notch hotels, book in advance, you can generally cancel at no cost unless the rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-man-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater! We are happy to hear that your stay was "problem-free" and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Clearwater, FL for two nights in August 2012. The room was great -- comfortable beds, clean bathroom, good set-up, nice sitting area, well-equipped kitchen. The pool and pool area were clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good with a lot of variety. The best part was we stayed for free using our Marriott points but we'll definitely look into staying at other Residence Inns when we make our future travel plans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St.Petersburg Clearwater! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites and all the amenities we have to offer. We hope to see you again!

Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This Residence Inn has recently been refreshed with all rooms and common areas receiving a thorough renewal. New decor; furniture bedsand TVs. The breakfast included with the room is good with ample selections. There is a shortage of seating in the common area if the hotel is full. The staff is first rate. Housekeeping is above average. I have stayed here many times and never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: all 2nd floor rooms are accessed by a short flight of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseKauble, General Manager at Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn St.Petersburg Clearwater! I am pleased to here that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and the newly renovated rooms. I will be sure to share your compliments with the staff! We have an amazing team who takes prides in taking care of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Denise Kauble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St. Petersburg Clearwater
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites St. Petersburg Clearwater
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
1.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater

Property: Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater
Address: 5050 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33760-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A TripAdvisor Award of Excellence winner, the all-suite Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Clearwater hotel provides the comforts of home along with unexpected services including free grocery shopping and free basic high-speed internet access. Start the day with a free hearty breakfast buffet in the Gatehouse and enjoy our complimentary evening Social Hour provided on a variety of weeknights. Enjoy our beautifully redesigned hotel suites with 31 HD channels, cozy fireplaces, full kitchens featuring stainless steel appliances, living areas big enough for entertaining and sleeping areas with plush new beds. Located just 1 mile from St. Petersburg Clearwater International Airport, 11 miles to Tampa International Aiport, a ten minute drive from white sandy beaches, Tropicana Field and Bright House Field and within walking distance of Carillon Park –we are conveniently located for business or pleasure. Relax and unwind at this hotel with our fitness center, Sport Court® and pool for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Residence Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing