We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Beachfront to be found here !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No Beachfront to be found here !”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well, I have to admit that I am spoiled when it comes to staying in nice properties while vacationing, and that my daughter and I arrived to this Holiday Inn on the heels of staying at the Sandpearl Resort on the north end of Clearwater Beach earlier in the week, prior to renting a car (at Budget/Avis on Cleveland Street - Thanks to Ricardo and David there !) and traveling down to Marco Island Beach Resort and Spa and staying there for two nights before heading back north to Clearwater in preparation for flying out of Tampa the following day. The Holiday Inn is , I suppose, a typical older property - with no "sex appeal" upon entering the lobby, though front desk personnel were kind and friendly (enough). Though the young man told me that he didn't have any upgrades for me being an IHG Rewards Member - when we did get up to our room, it was a pool/gulf view room vs. the "city view" that I had reserved using my rewards points. So, I believe "thanks" are in order ! The room was small, but clean enough. The bathroom was bright and clean, though small. Beds were comfortable enough, as were linens.
I was worried that we might get noise from the poolside bar or Jimmy's Fish House and Iguana Bar 2 floors below us, but we did not, nor did we have noise from the hallway - all good. I was fortunate to have Tim help me with a late check out due to late flight out of Tampa...he extended my room for a few additional hours, courtesy as an IHG rewards member. Single largest complaint about this gulf front location, well two: NO BEACH - on a rock wall and the CROWS. When trying to relax and get some sun poolside on waterfront deck, the squawking and fly-bys of the crows were VERY annoying. They use the string guards to deter the sea gulls over Jimmy's FIsh House outdoor seating area, but the crows fly under the "netting" . They assuredly get this complaint a lot...must not be anything they can do to inhibit - though I did joke with a server to put pellet guns on the menu....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here.

From reading your comments, it does appear that you enjoyed the gulf view room, the comfortable beds, and were pleased with the cleanliness. And, as you noted, there was no noise from the bar area, making for a relaxing stay.

Thanks for the compliments on our staff, especially Tim. We all try hard to make your experience pleasurable.

You are correct, we are gulf side but not beach side, yet the beach is so easily accessible by foot or trolley. Sorry you felt disappointed on this part of your stay. As for the crows...we're not alone; others have similar occurrences but for the most part guests are able to ignore them.

We're glad you chose Clearwater Beach for part of your holiday experience and hope the remainder of 2014 is a good one.

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    525
    209
    83
    84
See reviews for
539
487
33
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omro, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I was hesitant per SOME of the reviews but let me tell you, we have zero complaints! Clean, comfy beds, awesome city view (could still see the water) and wonderful restaurant with a beautiful sunset view. We loved the pool, chairs were great size, pool towels, service from Jimmy's was very nice also. We enjoyed ordering drinks from our chair. Front desk people and actually all workers we saw were friendly! We had massages in Lou's inside the hotel and she did one of the best massages I ever had!
Thank you for having us and we will come back again for sure! Would love to try your hotel in Milwaukee sometime.

Jenny and Brittany Oshkosh Wi

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
How nice of you to review your recent stay here - thank you!

We're so glad you enjoyed our resort and restaurant as well as Lou's Spot. Thanks for compliments on our friendly staff - they really do their best to make everyone's stay enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us on Facebook for more reasons to come back - there's always something going on in Clearwater.

And...we hope your harsh weather is gone and you can look forward to a great Wisconsin spring and summer.

Kind regards,

Christine Bottger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a sea view room which had just been refurbished so we were happy enough with the hotel on the whole. As some people have mentioned, there is still extensive work going at the hotel particularly around the swimming pool area so it may be prudent to leave it until all this work is finished. Otherwise, a good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for reviewing us! We appreciate your comments and thank you for understanding that construction and upgrades always cause a bit of inconvenience to all - but we hope you'll come back and see all the changes once we're through.

There's always something going on that's fun in the area, and if you stay in touch with us on Facebook, we'll be glad to update you.

Have a great 2013.

Thanks,

Christine Bottger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband, cousin, and myself came down to attend the "Seaview Blues Festival." We were looking for something on the ocean......not the bay. When the reservation was made, we requested 2 queen beds. Upon our arrival they decided to "upgrade" our room to 1 queen bed and bunk beds. We noticed the elevator was broke. I inquired via housekeeeping as to how long it had been out of service. They stated approximately 2 weeks. We travel alot and I can't ever recall a "4 star" hotel having an elevator out of service for that long....not to mention sharing it with the housekeeping staff. Our room was limited to hot water availability. Food was served cold. But the icing on the cake, was on our last day, (because of the "bunkbed upgrade," our reservation was kicked out of the system. They told us to pack our bags and they would put us in another room. That was 11:00am. Meanwhile around 2:00pm our new room was ready. NO 4 star hotel would do that to any guest. I would never refer this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear RobinC:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel. We are deeply disappointed you were unable to enjoy your visit with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to one of our elevators suffering a major malfunction. The elevator repair company is doing everything in it's power to speed up the repair project.

We rely on you, our guest to let us know how we are doing and how we can improve our services. We will share your comments with our staff to review for improvement. Should you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail, please fee free to reach me directly at cbottger@ClearwaterBeachHI.com.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and your business.

Best Regards,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

really recommend this hotel.right on the beach. rooms very modern and clean.the most professional and friendly staff, who always go the extra mile.there was construction in progress, but however, the area was cordoned off and apart from the banter between the workforce, (which was very amusing) it caused no problem. only complaint was 12 dollar a day parking, bit extortionate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time time to post about your stay with us.

We're sorry you were inconvenienced by the construction, and we do hope you'll be able to return to see all the new improvements.

Glad you enjoyed our location, which is so close to everything. And we're pleased you enjoyed the resort overall. There's always reasons to come back, and we invite you to stay in touch on our Facebook Page for news and updates.

Have a nice year and thanks again!

Christine Bottger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Was really looking forward to our stay here based on pictures, location, and other reviews on Trip Advisor.

Unfortunately this was a big disappointment.

Big surprise was the entire waterfront side of the hotel north tower was under construction. Tried to relax and enjoy the pool on our first days there, but no way with this construction. (No mention of major renovation when booking hotel). Workers were VERY noisy- shouting all day and banging stuff around. Pool was full of small styrofoam (BB size) pellets!!!! We were covered in them as we would step out of the pool.

Internet was intermittent. Front desk said this was because they were in the process of switching Internet providers during the construction and not all the wiring is hooked up yet- this was very inconvenient!!

And yes, $12+\day to park in their lot- should be included for what this place cost.

2 Elevators were out of order. Had a note under our door one morning said they should be back up by end of February. We were on the 7th floor!!

Staff was nice, but really was not an enjoyable stay.

Too many options in this area to put up with this.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
SenatorMcCain:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at your resort. We are terribly disappointed you were unable to enjoy your visit with us due to our renovation. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the one elevator going down for a length of time and for the internet issues. We are in the process of upgrading our Wireless Access including increasing our access points and service provider. We would love to welcome you back once the renovations and upgrades are complete so you can truly experience all our resort has to offer. If you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly at cbottger@ClearwaterBeachHI.com. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Best Regards,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Yes, it is a nice location but we wouldn't stay here again. From the 2 broken elevators, to the unhelpful and unapologetic staff, and poor service in the restaurant the first night we were here, we recommend going somewhere else. The rooms were okay but don't plan on getting comfortable in the suite living room. The couch we had was as stiff and hard as sitting on rocks. We are not even here during the busiest time of the year (next week apparently when spring training starts, it's supposed to be crazy here). Try getting up and down to the 7th floor on a busy day with only one elevator operating and the only set of stairs is outside? Not conveniently off the lobby like any sensible place would have them. When we went outside to swim, there were bird feathers collected in one side of the pool--pretty disgusting. We saw someone scimming the pool--the next day, not right after we left the front desk know about it. Pretty laughable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Heidi T

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear your were unable to enjoy portions of your stay with us. While we can't predict when the elevators suffer malfunctions we can certainly understand the frustration felt by our guests. Your comments will be shared with our entire team as a tool too review for areas of improvement. We will also work with our Pool Staff to ensure the proper removal of the bird feathers is addressed. Should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail, please feel free to email me at cbottger@ClearwaterBeachHolidayInn.com. Again thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your comments.

Best Regards,


Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 98 in Clearwater
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing