We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn MkII - even better than the Sunspree!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Over the past 10 years, on every occasion we have visited Clearwater Beach, we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree, located at the southern end of the resort.
This has now been demolished for private accommodation. Consequently, when we decided we wanted to go back to Clearwater, we scanned the resort for available hotels. To our surprise we found the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - what a find!
Best hotel on the Beach by a mile!
We arrived at our room to find a suite converted from 2 rooms, each with separate shower and bathroom, and plasma TV's in each room! We also had a balcony overlooking the beach, and the best view of the sunset in the whole resort.
What a hotel - best location, excellent facilities, great sun deck, and right next to the beach.
Brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

I agree with most of the other reviewers. The hotel has a great location. Gas station across the street, plenty of food options within walking distance. The beach prominade has been recently completed so there is a nice walkway between the beach and the road.

This hotel is oceanfront, but not beachfront. The pool area is walled in next to the ocean. It's a block walk to the beach.

Join the Holiday Priority Club on their website and you'll get a free drink for each night of your stay.

It's about 16 miles from the airport, so it will take less than 30 minutes to get there in normal traffic.

Nice large rooms with fridges and microwaves.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

More than I ever expected. Rooms were recently updated and very tidy. The pool/bar area overlooks the gulf and had beautiful views especially at Sunset. Restaurant and bar had great seafood and excellent prices. Perfect location as you could walk almost anywhere. Although hotel is on the gulf it is a 3 minute walk to the beach which was very convenient. I would definitely recommend as this was a great experience and value!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

The holiday inn was a fantastic hotel, could walk to pretty much anything in around 20 minutes.

The room was large and clean, with a great ocean view, plasma was a nice touch and the bed was really comfortable.

Can recommend the hotel restaurant, did some really great seafood and was reasonably priced. It was nice to watch the sun go down with a cold beer, good food and a little live music.

Hotel staff I encountered did all they could to make your stay pleasant.

Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sal_UKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I used my priority points and got more than I expected. Upon checking in, front desk told me that they were 100% occupancy and they had to switch my room. We went from a standard room to a suite which was great for 3 women. The pool was perfect. The front desk bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JSager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

A quick note- We stayed at this property at the end of Spring Break week- (I did not know this when we came to clearwater)
I was very apprehensive as we did not have reservations. Pulled into the Holiday Inn and were treated great. Never any roudy people. Seemed very family oriented. Was happy with all the served from housekeeping to the front desk and bartenders. They even let us do a late checkout on our last day. No extra fee, If you sign up for their Priority Club. THis is the second time I have stayed in a Holiday Inn this one and in KeyLargo and have been more than pleased. Very, Very clean hotel
Keep up the good work and don't think twice about staying here - just book it

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kbear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Two years ago we stayed at Shepards resort next door to this Holiday Inn. The Holiday Inn on Clearwater has just been renovated and the rooms are much nicer than those of Shepards (larger and cleaner). We had no issues with housekeeping who came into our rooms each day while we were out and we returned to all of our belongings and nice clean rooms.

The location is pretty decent as you are just a few minutes walk to the main public beach. The pool is pretty nice as it sits directly on a beautiful view of the Gulf. A Walgreens with an attached liquire store is a two minute walk as well.

Here are my negatives about this Holiday Inn which are easy to work around on your trip if you head the warning ahead of time.

1) The Holiday Inn contracts their room service out to the resturant/bar (Jimmy's Fish House and Iguana Bar) which is located inside the Holiday Inn. You will find a large laminated room service menu in your room. We tried to order a late night snack and were told by the gal who runs the resurant that the itme we requested was under $10 and did not qualify for room service delivery?
So here is my gripe , nowhere on the menu does it state that their is a minimum purchase to qualify for delivery, it is after all a room service menu! I noted to the gal on teh phone that their is over 18 items on the menu (not ncluding beverages) that are under $10 dollars in which she had no response. I mentioned that nowhere does it state that their is a minimum purchase required on the menu and she said new ones are being printed (the response is so rediculous I have to laugh). So we proceded to leave the hotel to run down the street for the (10pm) snack and as we pass by the resturant thier is like el zippo business going on? I did talk to the Manager at the Holiday Inn to mention how idiotic it is to have a room service menu in the rooms which 1/2 the items don't qualify for delivery. Amazingly enough they have breakfast delivery which is under $10 that they have no problem delivering.

2) Do not eat at Jimmy's Fishhouse for two reasons a) the morning buffett is as bad as it gets. For $8.95 you get scrambled eggs, french toast sticks, sausage, yogert and some other little items. Nothing that we ate was warm and their was virtually no selection for a buffett. If you go right next door to Shepards, they have a morning buffett that runs until 11am which is the exact same price (2.95 for kids) and the selection is virtually 10 times more and everything is warm. b) we ate dinner at Jimmy's Fishhouse one night and the food was not very good and neither my wife or I are too particular. If you want to kick back for a couple of drinks in the evening at Jimmy's they have some attractive people making drinks but I would strongly recommend you eat elsewhere since there are so many options that you will be happy with.

3) We ate at Frenches which has three different locations within 3 miles of the hotel and the food was very good and the atmosphere was fun. Shepards has a fantastic lunch buffett which includes tons of deserts. Shepards also has a great nightclub in the evenings.

Our stay at the Holiday Inn was very good overall, I wish we would have known better about Jimmys Fishhouse which was the only real disappointment. We had three complaints our 5 night stay, breakfast, lunch and room service all related directly to Jimmy's. Have some drinks a their outdoor location but save your money and appetite for the numerous eateries around clearwater beach which are memorable.

Hope this helps anyone visiting clearwater and staying at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank hagar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#35 of 98 in Clearwater
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $140 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing