We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Holiday Inn”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first stay at the Holiday Inn as we couldn't get into the hotel we usually stay in on Sand Key.

First impressions were good and we were able to check in at 13.00! We had a two room Gulf View suite and couldn't have asked for anything nicer. The suite was very big and comprised a lounge with kitchen area, two bathrooms, two areas for hanging clothes and storing cases and one bedroom with two double beds. We also had a good size balcony with two chairs and a small table. The room was very clean and there were plenty of towels and toiletries provided. The only complaint that we had was that the air con was very noisy and therefore we could not have it on at night. We just cooled the room down as much as we could before going to sleep!

The pool area was large with plenty of loungers and pool towels provided but we did think there could have been a few more sun shades. The Tiki Bar opened around noon each day and stayed open until quite late.

The hotel has a very good restaurant in Jimmys Fish House and we ate breakfast there every morning, sitting on the deck by the ocean being entertained by George the "resident" egret! We also ate two meals there in the evenings and the food was very good. The music was loud on a couple of evenings and went on until 11.00 pm. We were well away from it on the 9th floor but could still hear it and we did feel sorry for people in the nearer rooms!!!

Parking was never a problem as the car park was large and parking was free with our room package.

Sitting on our balcony watching the sunsets was lovely.

Overall we were very impressed with the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Get a Gulf View room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller from UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    525
    210
    83
    85
See reviews for
542
488
33
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendly atmosphere. Good location with an excellent gulf front view set back off the water by maybe 75 yards. The property runs right up to the water. There is no beach access. You will have to walk about five minutes to get to the white sand beaches through the public access. Nice fitness center. Pool was large and clean. The evening dinner cam with complimentary music every night from 6/7 to 10/11PM. Great time.

Room Tip: Gulf front view 9th floor. Gulf front is the direct view into the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time to review our resort. We're glad you found the resort and our staff to your liking - customer satisfaction is so important to us!

Since you live in Jacksonville, hopefully you can make that easy drive back next year for more fun on the west coast - love to have you!

Holiday best regards,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and as priority club platinum members we were upgraded to a 2 room suite. The room faced the street, with a balcony in the bedroom area, and a large picture window in the livingroom area. The room was very nice and included 2 full baths and a little kitchenette. The resort is nice, with a nice pool area, and a good restaurant right on the water. The food was above average and fairly priced for sandwiches.
There is no beach on property... it is a 5 minute walk on a sidewalk to a nice public beach. Not sure I would pay 200+ for the room, but it was a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Before I can compliment this place, I have to put in a disclaimer that if you're looking for a hotel directly on the beach, this is not the place for you. The public beaches are a short walk away and directly next door is a pay-only private tiny strip of a beach at Shephard's Beach Resort which offers jet skis and other fun rides. This hotel is actually on the bay entrance where boats come in and out from the Clearwater docks. I would not stay here unless you have a view of that bay. The hotel is literally just a few feet away from the bay's shore and sitting on the balcony enjoying the music from the outdoors restaurant below and watching the water along with the small boats and yachts that enter and leave the bay is about as relaxing as it gets. I've been here twice and Jimmy's Fish House and Bar almost always has a good band on the weekends although beware if the music keeps you up. It's also a nice outdoors place to eat and I would rank it higher than most of the hotel restaurants in the area and while it does have the typical Clearwater Beach tourist prices, they don't mess around with portion size and will fill you up with the standard steak and seafood selection along with some giant margaritas or mixed drinks. It also offers a tasy breakfast buffet in the mornings. The rooms have microwaves and fridges if you're looking to save on food spending and are clean with beds that are quite comfortable although make sure you specify beforehand which size you need because the Holiday Inn places two regular beds and a king bed in the same room package. This is a terrific place for a couple to stay for two relaxing nights on the weekend but if you're looking for a week long package or family hotel, I would probably look into some of the larger resorts or hotels more directly located on the sandy beaches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PnMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

ThisWe came here by accident. Our reservations at another hotel were messed up, and we found this. For $230 we got two connected rooms. It had everything you could ever want fridge, microwave, awesome tub and shower. This place was great and i would recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthenrichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

We're so pleased you found us by accident - and had a positive experience! Being able to connect the rooms works well for larger parties!

We certainly review all suggestions to try and improve customer service. We want your stay to be a positive one!

Thanks again and we'll look forward to having you back some day.

Best regards,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We were in a suite that looked like it had been recently remodeled, however, the age of property was still evident.

The hotel has no beach to speak of and the non gulf view rooms have horrible views. I would rather have been looking at the parking lot than trash.

It is just a short walk to pier 60, which is nice.

Overall, I probably would not stay here again. For the price, i expected more.

Although, it is hard to complain too much about a clean, comfortable room with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jussla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

We certainly review all suggestions to try and improve customer service. We want your stay to be a positive one! So pleased you found our staff friendly and our housekeeping staff efficient.

Thanks again and we'll look forward to having you back some day.

Best regards,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

amazing hotel - our gulfview suite was beautifull and the view was amazing - staff and cleanliness astounding and the location of the hotel is really good - overlooking the gulf. Housekeepin are spot on - lovely towel animals for our return each day. Bar/resteraunt - staff very friendly and reasonably priced - the view and the rooms were awesome and I will definately be saving my pennies to return there hopefully next year.

Room Tip: the gulf view rooms have amazing views of the oceon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ClwrBeach, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We're so glad
you enjoyed the spacious gulfview suite - and the view! You're right - the towel animals are a big hit!


We certainly review all suggestions to try and improve customer service. We want your stay to be a positive one! So pleased you found our staff friendly and efficient and the amenities of the hotel to your liking.

Thanks again and we'll look forward to having you back some day.

Best regards,

Christine Bottger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
4,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 98 in Clearwater
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Address: 521 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#17 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#31 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico-Sunsets & Dolphin sightings Complimentary! Discover all that Clearwater Beach has to offer at the convenient, comfortable smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. In the heart of everything, from shopping and dining, to entertainment, you are within walking distance of the white sands of Clearwater Beach, and Pier 60 where you can enjoy nightly sunset celebrations.. Located 30 minutes away from Tampa International Airport (TPA), the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your best choice in Clearwater Beach. Whether you re coming to Clearwater Beach for fun or business the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is your personal retreat. You ll have room to relax, work or play most of the day in our spacious rooms, Kids Suites or One Bedroom Suites. Amenities such as flat screen LCD HD televisions, granite countertops, private balconies, free high-speed internet, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our heated Gulf-front pool, relax with your favorite beverage at Jimmy s Iguana Bar or our Rum Rumer s Tiki Bar. You can enjoy a dining adventure at Jimmy s Fish House providing nightly entertainment. The best of Clearwater Beach is waiting for you at the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. The only thing you won t find is a reason to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Clearwater Beach
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing