We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #64 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here in September during hurricane which never hit. We were actually staying on St Petes Beach, but were told to leave as precaution. Tried for hours to find somewhere decent. The republican convention was also going on, so everywhere was full. Then when we did find somewhere they were asking silly money. ( $400-$500) for a holiday inn express!

This is a very nice budget hotel. $80 for room with breakfast. Large comfy bed, office desk, flat screen TV, Fridge, sink, microwave, hair dryer and full length mirror. The bed even adjusted to fit how firm or soft you wanted it. Slept like a baby.
Pool area is clean a spacious and even has a hot tub. Very hot...
Breakfast is free, but to be honest you wouldn't pay for it. Coffee, OJ, cereals, muffins, toast and scrambled eggs. That was it. Poor quality.
Hotel is situated in a great location. Loads of shops and restaurants all within walking distance.
In brief:
Great Budget Hotel.
Lovely Room.
Nice Pool Area.
Breakfast, Yuk!
Great Location.
Not a vacation hotel, more for the business traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiltonJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is mainly a business trip for me. I completely enjoyed my experience at the Clarion. The owner of the restuarant is an amazing cook. He is there like 15 hours a day. The free breakfast you get is an actual breakfast. There is eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, donuts, muffins, toast and more. Everything I bought there was wonderful.
The hotel rooms were clean and tended to daily.
The pool and hot tub where kept clean and free from grunge.
The staff were amazing. Tina was supper sweet! The staff even allowed me to play a small prank on my husband when he arrived at the hotel on my last night there.
Overall I was super impressed and I would stay there time and time again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SniderINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was good value for this price point. Room I had included a microwave and frige. For a single guy on business the kingsize bed, flat screen and desk were nice. Would be small for a family.

Breakfast was pretty good.

Pool was nice. Most rooms open directly to a covered walk way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for a few days last month. Was looking for a central location to explore Pinellas county. This place served that purpose well. Was a little apprehensive after reading some reviews but decided to chance it due to location and convenience.

Front desk staff was helpful. Polite.

Rooms are a little dated. Requested to be moved to another room after the first night because ac was too loud. Was moved, no further problems. Felt new room was actually a little nicer.

Didn't try the breakfast so no comments there. Same with bar.

Lots of places to eat very close by.

Easy access to major blvds. 15 minutes to Clearwater Beach. 20 to airport.

If you're looking for a decent place that won't break the bank, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was good at checkin, but the rooms are very small and could use updating. The way the air is set up, it is either hot or cold - no inbetween. We didn't have anything but coffee in the morning, but the breakfast looked good and seemed to have a nice variety.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We certainly apologize for the inconvenience of the a/c. Our rooms are not HVAC units they are Central units (like at your home) sometimes if the thermostat's batteries are getting low the control is a little out of whack. If you would of called the desk, maintenance could have been right up for you and fixed the issue.We do offer suites that are more roomier, next time you visit the area we wish for you to try us again. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a ok hotel the money. It has a very nice pool area. Rooms could be updated but it wasnt too bad. We did have some occasional towels that looked like they were dragged behind the car.
The bar is rather crappy and looks like they just converted a room and threw together some bar stools and bottles for the sake of calling it a bar. The carpet and barstools were nasty looking - both I think from 1980s.
The bartender (Debbi I think - blond short lady) was somewhat rude and extrememly slooooow when trying to make the three of us drinks and then they didn't even taste right - even when she made one over agian. The food (expensive) was barely worth eating but there are plenty restaurants within walking distance.

So if you just here for a room and the pool - then you might be ok
but if you here becuase you want the additional convience of the bar & restaurant then keep looking elsewhere.

Almost forgot - The breakfast buffet is terrible. Overcooks eggs, cereal, sausage & juice. They had the same thing for the whole week. blah

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

I am so sorry for your experience in our restaurant. I have met with the GM and we have set up a mandatory food and beverage staff meeting to review side work, attitude and professionalism. Hope to see you again when you come to the Clearwater area again. Thanks for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I used my Choice Hotels points to reserve this room and was pleased when I
entered the lobby! The clerk greeted me with a smile, the room was huge,
clean, everything was wonderful! The pool was nice and clean. By the pool, they had a wonderful lady that cooked us hamburgers, made a wonderful pina colada drink for me,
and advised us about local area information. The room was quiet for a great night sleep, breakfast was hot and taste good. I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a up graded room using your gold choice card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funny12reddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your compliments. Our staff here takes great pride in their work and are happy to hear how we helped you have a great vacation. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 98 in Clearwater
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#70 of 98 in Clearwater
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 20967 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33765-4439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: $65 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites serves up a FREE daily deluxe continental breakfast buffet with FRESH scrambled eggs and pancakes to provide a kick start to any morning. Surrounded by lots of shopping and restaurants. Just 7 miles from Clearwater Beach. Stay with us, we are the only FULL service hotel within 5 miles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Grand Hotel
Radisson Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing