We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for a few days last month. Was looking for a central location to explore Pinellas county. This place served that purpose well. Was a little apprehensive after reading some reviews but decided to chance it due to location and convenience.

Front desk staff was helpful. Polite.

Rooms are a little dated. Requested to be moved to another room after the first night because ac was too loud. Was moved, no further problems. Felt new room was actually a little nicer.

Didn't try the breakfast so no comments there. Same with bar.

Lots of places to eat very close by.

Easy access to major blvds. 15 minutes to Clearwater Beach. 20 to airport.

If you're looking for a decent place that won't break the bank, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    117
    75
    46
    35
See reviews for
118
116
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was good at checkin, but the rooms are very small and could use updating. The way the air is set up, it is either hot or cold - no inbetween. We didn't have anything but coffee in the morning, but the breakfast looked good and seemed to have a nice variety.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We certainly apologize for the inconvenience of the a/c. Our rooms are not HVAC units they are Central units (like at your home) sometimes if the thermostat's batteries are getting low the control is a little out of whack. If you would of called the desk, maintenance could have been right up for you and fixed the issue.We do offer suites that are more roomier, next time you visit the area we wish for you to try us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a ok hotel the money. It has a very nice pool area. Rooms could be updated but it wasnt too bad. We did have some occasional towels that looked like they were dragged behind the car.
The bar is rather crappy and looks like they just converted a room and threw together some bar stools and bottles for the sake of calling it a bar. The carpet and barstools were nasty looking - both I think from 1980s.
The bartender (Debbi I think - blond short lady) was somewhat rude and extrememly slooooow when trying to make the three of us drinks and then they didn't even taste right - even when she made one over agian. The food (expensive) was barely worth eating but there are plenty restaurants within walking distance.

So if you just here for a room and the pool - then you might be ok
but if you here becuase you want the additional convience of the bar & restaurant then keep looking elsewhere.

Almost forgot - The breakfast buffet is terrible. Overcooks eggs, cereal, sausage & juice. They had the same thing for the whole week. blah

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I am so sorry for your experience in our restaurant. I have met with the GM and we have set up a mandatory food and beverage staff meeting to review side work, attitude and professionalism. Hope to see you again when you come to the Clearwater area again. Thanks for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I used my Choice Hotels points to reserve this room and was pleased when I
entered the lobby! The clerk greeted me with a smile, the room was huge,
clean, everything was wonderful! The pool was nice and clean. By the pool, they had a wonderful lady that cooked us hamburgers, made a wonderful pina colada drink for me,
and advised us about local area information. The room was quiet for a great night sleep, breakfast was hot and taste good. I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a up graded room using your gold choice card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funny12reddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. Our staff here takes great pride in their work and are happy to hear how we helped you have a great vacation. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Super friendly staff regardless of time of day. Clean facilities, Fantastic location, Breakfast Included..all for a fair price. What more do you want? As a global traveler, there are problems in every hotel, everywhere. We had a pluming problem in our room, but the staff handled it immediately and put us in another room. Facilities; Breakfast room, Bar, Pool, Entrance, etc, were all clean. Rooms cleaned daily like new. Upon my next visit to the Clearwater area, I will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If your room is in the back of the hotel property, you have an alternative entrance and exit which t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed during 4th of July week. Our first room was a suite overlooking the parking lot, we asked to switch rooms so we could overlook the pool. We were able to change rooms after one was being repaired. The king suites we very nice & roomy, the sleep number bed was awesome! One thing I didn't like they have real glass drinking cups and coffe mugs and not the plastic/paper disposable kinds. The b-fast area was ok, they had eggs everyday, then pancakes or sausage gravy w/biscuits or corn beef hash, cereal, citrus fruit, donuts, toast bagels etc.... The eating area was big enough, there were alot off people, I suggest to get there before 8 am! The elevator floor was pretty gross, didn't look like it was cleaned in a looong time. The employees would take smoke breaks at the front door (not very professional). FYI There are lizards, frogs and Geckos all over the grounds and yard of the hotel if your scared of those, we're used to them we have them all in our yard in GA. The pool area was OK, its a salt water pool, needs alot of repairs to the pool itself, they should wipe down the tables and chairs every night, they need it!! I think just about all the lounge chairs were broken too they have cracks underneath. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant or bar it was expensive. Everything is close by, beaches, grocery, restaurants so the location was awesome....if you don't mind the construction.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgurl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Your feed back was greatly appreciated and reviewed. The glassware in the rooms we get a good amount of guest that prefer and some that don't, if you called the desk we would have been more than happy to send you up a few plastic cups. We offer a big variety of items but after staying with us for an extended amount of time I can see how the buffet may become boring We do have a selection of different items you could have ordered from the actual menu for a change. Also Perkins is right behind us and Lenny's across the street. I have made sure that the elevator floor is being done on a daily basis. The staff has been instructed to a designated area for smoking. We do not have a salt water pool, it is fresh water. Our pool area is one of our biggest highlights here at the hotel. The pool is vacuumed and taken care of daily and the pool furniture is wiped down every morning at opening time then continuously throughout the day. Maybe when you went to the pool was after a storm and there was a little debris is the only thing I can think of. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and are glad you brought some things to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a pleasant stay and experience at this property. The price was right and they upgraded me so that we could have a roll-in shower. It was about 15 minutes from the beach walkway, which has hotels over the $250 a night price point. The housekeeping department did a fairly thorough job every day even a couple days we didn't make it out until 1:00PM. I just wish they had a hydraulic pool lift to get me in the pool but very few hotels have them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#33 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#66 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites
Address: 20967 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites serves up a FREE daily deluxe continental breakfast buffet with FRESH scrambled eggs and pancakes to provide a kick start to any morning. Surrounded by lots of shopping and restaurants. Just 7 miles from Clearwater Beach. Stay with us, we are the only FULL service hotel within 5 miles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Clearwater
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clearwater Grand Hotel
Radisson Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing