We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June2013 Clearwater Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“June2013 Clearwater Beach”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hilton Clearwater Beach is a great location. The hotel rooms are clean. The old a/c units can be noisy ans disturb light sleepers. The fees for beach chairs run $10 a day. The $20 a day resort fee is a joke. It provides quite a few bogus amenities. A frozen fresh fruit stick, a cool towel, and a sun glasses cleaning service are provided by pool attendants. If you only go to the beach, you don't get the benefits(?) of the resort fee. Self-parking is $7 a day.

Overall I think the rooms are expensive and the extra costs are not worth staying here. In the future I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We try to accommodate each and every guest with a positive on property experience. Our apologies we did not meet your overall expectations, and our perks were not to your satisfaction. Thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,
andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,831
    1,323
    834
    397
    265
See reviews for
1,890
1,288
114
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed here four times over the past two years. My most recent visit was January 2013. I absolutely love this place. A $20/day per room resort fee has recently been added, but I always get an umbrella and chairs, so it's not an issue for me and convenient too. Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members receive complimentary buffet breakfast with an upcharge for the hot breakfast. The breakfast buffet here is good and there are lots of options available without upgrading. I haven't had dinner at this location, but have been seated at all three bars on several occassions and perhaps I'll enjoy dinner during my next visit. The staff is always friendly and many get to know the guests on a first name basis during a visit. I have stayed in oceanfront jr. suites and rooms overlooking the pier, rooms are clean and comfy. This is a fantastic beach, the hotel location could not be better, great sunset views, within walking distance to lots of bars and restaurants, I can't say enough. I'm going back in August for my four year wedding annivesary and more than likely again in January for a weekend getaway. I'm in Indiana, so this is a great spot with convenient flights for me into and out of Tampa. Only beef is that as a Diamond member I never receive a comp upgrade because the rooms are always taken, but that's ok. Have met lots of nice people from other countries staying at the hotel and have lots of great memories with more to come!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We thank you for your review and for being our guests. We do appreciate you taking the time to write of your experience with us. We try to honor each guests wishes upon availability. Looking forward to your return to theHilton Clearwater Beach. I can be contacted shoud you need assistance.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was not impressed at all! All the balcony rooms were over AC units noisy, elevators took forever. I would not stay unless you can get a room directly over the gulf view. Every time a cloud came up they closed the pool. They said the cabanas were for all day....all day ends at five. Really? Charge for cabana and lounge chair. Even Maui includes the lounge with the cabana and you get it til sunset or when you get up actually!

Room Tip: Don't bother look elsewhere all the rooms are built over top of AC units.....horrible balcony ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent vist at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Our apologies you were not impressed with our property. Our property has partial views of the gulf with balconies and suites as well. Should guests prefer full gulf view suites (7 total), too, they are able to book these accommodations as well. Your comments regarding the beach lounges and chairs will be brought to the attention of our on property beach service. Hoping you will return to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Perfect place to stay at on the beautiful white sand beach, clean and clear water and right next to the pier and playground. They have the pool right there near beach, very convenient. No need to drive once you park your car, everything is within walking distance. Great place to stay with kids. They had alot of activities planned everyday, had arts and crafts table - made some souvenirs with my kids, had games and beach toys kids can use on the beach.....loved it! Had a great view of the harbor and can see the sunrise from my balcony, the sunset on the beach was amazing. The sunset festival at the pier was great entertainment! Room was comfortable and clean. Will be coming back. Thanks Hilton!

Room Tip: Harbor view was great for the night city lights and view of the sunrise in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMCS2720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing your on property experience and being our guest. We do look forward to having you return to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I had visited this ara briefly a few years ago and have always wanted to go back! This hotel was the perfect choice! Beautiful hotel in a great spot in downtown Clearwater. Able to walk everywhere! Beach access is very large and beautiful! Very friendly staff. We had no complaints during our stay. Will definitely return in the future when we return to Clearwater

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Magan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for being our guests. We are delighted your on property experience met your expectations. Thank you for being our guest.

Looking forward to having you with us again at the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I wont get into spat between Virgin and the hotel. However when you book for a week I do wonder why you get allocated the third floor room, facing inward with a window that is 4ft off the floor and looks direct onto A/C units that are extremely loud. There is standard room and there is standard room. That said , they resolved it after two days ( memorial weekend) and we were moved to 8thfloor with no extra cost. The staff and facilities were excellent throughout so credit to them. We went with 7 year old child and pool and beach facilities were excellent. Great location for restaurants and breakfast can be sourced easily at good value. I would stay again as long as floor 3 and 4 facing inward were not on offer.

Room Tip: Never on floor 3 or 4 facing inwards. The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack5299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is most important to us and we do take our guests comments very serious. We are glad your on property experience improved and we were able to re-locate you to more favorable accommodation. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests the best possible service and assist them while stay with us at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Looking forward to having you back with us again should you have the opportunity to be in the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Good: The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. Very near restaurants. The beach is beautiful and the rentals on the beach are worth it. Breakfast in hotel restaurant was good, if pricey. I'd recommend going across the street to a cafe for breakfast. You pay for parking but the lot kept being too full. The valets were nice and helpful, but still irritating.

Ok: The pool is nothing special. Very basic and older but clean. Rooms are small and had a musty smell. My husbands allergies were awful while in the hotel, but fine when we were outside the hotel.

Bad: Harbor view is actually a view of the road. If you get out some binoculars you can see the harbor. The lady working the towel desk was extremely rude. I was standing there with my family of 5 (3 kids 6 and under) and she insisted we could only get 4 towels. It hadn't been an issue previous days AND the entry in The book directly before ours was for 5 towels to 1 room. She was rude and unpleasant. I wish I would have gotten her name. Poor representation of the hotel.

Overall, the hotel is nice but dated. We used points for the stay and I'm not sure i would again. It wasn't worth the amount of points it cost us. Hilton should downgrade the rating due to the age/outdated status of the hotel. Most of the employees I encountered were friendly and helpful. This place is on the beach, but really isn't a "resort."

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TandOsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guests. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to write a review. Our apologies we did not meet your on property expectations. Your experience and inconvenience will be brought to the attention of our Executive team for discusion among the staff.. Thank you for alerting us of this issue.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach

Property: Hilton Clearwater Beach
Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing