We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Clearwater Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

First of all, I should preface this review by stating that we used our Honors points to book this stay. So, I'll admit that I could possibly have a different take had we spent $200+ per night to stay here. However, I still feel like I would have been very pleased with our stay here, even at this price.
After reading reviews, I was a little worried that the hotel would be in disrepair or outdated. I thought the hotel and rooms were very adequately appointed. Not luxurious but up to date and clean. The biggest draw of this hotel is location and its beach.
The beach is fabulous. Wide, white sandy perfection. There is a great little tiki bar on-site (the only place in Clearwater in which alcoholic beverages are allowed on the beach -so we were told). The bar offers a $5 drink special each day and the drinks are mixed fresh and yummy.
The other thing we enjoyed was the kids beach play area. There is a large beach umbrella with lots of kids beach toys and a cute little wooden sailboat. Our 5 year old had a blast! And mom and dad were able to relax on the beach while he played.
Also, the heated pool was very comfortable. I'm typically frustrated with other hotels that boast heated pools only to find them cold and uncomfortable. We were able to spend a lot of time in the pool in Decemer. A major plus for us!
We will definitely be back to this hotel. We had a wonderful and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Request room on southside of hotel. This provides great beach and pier view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Excecutive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. We do appreciate you writing a review. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We have enhanced our Recreation area as well and delighted to hear the kids enjoyed the special beach play area. We are looking forward to your return visit to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,675
    1,237
    789
    379
    259
See reviews for
1,737
1,221
108
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel three times and will be staying again for a long weekend soon. I love this hotel, the location is great, all the bars and restaurants are within walking distance. The bartenders are great, Sam is great at being a bartender, he's patient, listens to his customers, and loves to chat it up. Becky in the restaurant is one of the friendliest folks I've ever met. The tiki bar is great and the pool dining area offers some great selections. I've stayed at this hotel alone, with my family, and with a friend. Each time I've stayed the staff has made me feel welcome and as if I'm in my home away from home. Some of the rooms could stand some updating, but the lobby and pool areas are fantastic and the location is prime, which is what these trips are all about for me. Just a great place to stay when one wants to spend some time in Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and your feedback as well. Ownership has been working with us and we anticipate upgradies in our rooms. Thank you again for being our guest.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed here several times and every time we are here it is excellent!! We are always welcomed at the front desk and Andre Ward their Director, comes out to personally greet us and thank us for coming back to stay with them!!! We stayed at one point for 12 days as we were waiting for our house to be finished. They had great activities for kids that my daughter loves!! The sunset celebration is excellent, great sitting at Tiki Bar in the sand watching those beautiful sunsets!! Never had a problem with a room, except one time, called front desk and moved us with no questions asked!! If you want to relax and walk to any dining and entertainment, this is the best place on the beach!! We will continue to go there, and enjoy every minute!!!

Room Tip: for a good room ask at booking for a room with view, even if not on beach front, pool view offers vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annah0700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for being our guests. Thank you for always returning to the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Sincerely,
Andarea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed over Christmas week with my family in two rooms and found the hotel more than satisfactory (stayed on Hilton floor) but the entire staff (Matthew-front desk) really made the difference with their friendly attitude (Irina we miss you at breakfast). Great location and beach so when you put it all together it is worth a visit! All we needed was some warmer weather that week lol!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write a review. Your kind words regarding our staff is greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you with us again and to serving you in the future on your return to the Clearwater Beac area.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself, wife and daughter stayed here for 9 nights over new year. This was a trip we booked at the last minute and Was our first time to Florida. Being a gold HH member I looked for a Hilton property. I had read the reviews and was a little nervous . I think the following is a very accurate description of the Hilton.
This is an old property and as such it was not built to the same specification of modern Hiltons and this is very obvious when you arrive. We stayed on the HH 9th Floor, and yes I probably agree with other reviews in that the bathrooms are small , the air con unit is loud at times and the view over the roof tops from the rooms on the north side is very messy. We found the rooms to be well cleaned but yes they are a little less fancy than you might expect for the price.

We received a great welcome at check in and the staff are very friendly and particularly at breakfast .However we dined in the hotel on New Years eve and to say that the service was laughable was an understatement , however the food was generally good and we took the fiasco of the service as part of the entairtainment. There are lots of local places to eat but we really enjoyed Island View which is just across the causeway.

So was the Hilton a good choice ? My wife and daughter loved it because of the location and the fact that you can walk straight out of the hotel onto the sand of this fabulous beach . In comparison to most other hotels in Clearwater it's location is far superior. The location gives it a degree of privacy which simply doesn't exist at the Hyatt for example which is in a vastly inferior location .

Some Services are a bit more expensive than they should be and I found things like the $5 starbucks to be a bit frustrating.
In summary , you may feel that the Hilton does not meet your expectations for a luxury beach resort but I can say that all 3 of us had a great stay and would probably be willing to pay for the location again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rossbrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for being our guest.. We are always evaluating our amenity offerings, service operations, and prices. Your review will help us assess our current options so we can ensure we are offering the best guest experience possible. I am sharing your concerns about your food and beverage experience with the appropriate members of our team. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your returning to the Hilton Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great stay here, we had a room with a beautiful view of the gulf of mexico. Hotel was as a Hilton should be,welcoming, clean, comfy, I liked the hotels private part of the beach, with staff, so if you wanted anything, ie drinks or food, you could get it without leaving the beach and just charge it to your room, I just thought it made it so simple and relaxing. Will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoeboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We appreciate you being our guests and look forward to having you back with us again, when you return to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The water in the room is symbolic of the larger experience. The paper label on each bottle promises Icelandic Glacial Water, $3.50 a bottle. Ok, well, I suppose 3.50 is just tolerable if it comes from that far away. Looking at the bottle, it is from Florida, and the source is "public water supply"--ah! filtered tap water.

And so it goes, from the room rates to the $17 mac n cheese in restaurant. The hotel is fine--above average, all in all. Just it's not quite what it bills itself to be.

It must have been a budget hotel earlier (it's a concrete box), and new paint, carpets and fancy room numbers can't hide the issues with the fabric of the building: back stairs funky; dented access panels, wall sockets that are loose, etc. TripAdvisor should have a rating for maintenance--this gets 2/5 for that category. In both our rooms, shower curtain hooks rusty and distorted; panels in drawer bottoms falling out.

The good stuff: 2 nice pools; friendly staff (mostly), right on the beach, good location for the Clearwater Beach strip, or to catch a trolley into downtown.

Beds and linens excellent

Room Tip: Rooms are all identical (except for ocean-facing end suites)--and room price varies widely according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobW693, Executive Assistant at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach, and for being our guest. Your feedback is incredibly important to us. Our food and beverage department has been made aware of your comments as well. Please contact me at trip_advisor@hilton.com to further discuss your issues.

Sincerely,
Andrea Trimmer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach

Property: Hilton Clearwater Beach
Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing