We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel's location is great.
Suppose in an ideal world the hotel would be knocked down and rebuilt.
The hotel itself could do with some money spending on it. The rooms were quite basic. The pool are very disappointing and crowded, but with it being right on the beach, the pool isn't really needed.
Food and drink was good here and service too

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We thank you for being our guests. So sorry to hear you were disappointed. April, in the spring is a much desired time for families, especially. We do have the fantastic Gulf as well, as you discovered. Thank you for your kind words regarding food and beverage and staff.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,565 - 3,571 of 4,794 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hilton had a absolute perfect location, right on the beach probably the best location out of all the hotels in Clearwater i would say. Very clean hotel, nice big rooms and friendly staff. The pool area is lovely with 2 pools, which are basically on the beach. The Tiki Bar is lovely too, right on the beach front..perfect for the sunset or sunrise! Right on the promanade so you can access the pier very easily-great night out for evenings. We have stayed here twice and the last time was May. Many restaurants around the complex, hooters was getting built when we were there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We appreciate your gracious comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Yes our location right on the Gulf of Mexico is superb. We look forward again to having you as our guests, shoud your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area.

Thank you for being our guests.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family stayed at the Hilton on Clearwater beach for 1 night. The room was good for what we wanted and we had a great view of the beach from our hotel balcony on the 4th floor the pools were good and not overly busy and the spa was also good. As we booked to stay here in November with the weather still being in the early 80s and a comfortable evening going out we tried to turn the AC off so it wasn't to cold when we returned later that night. We tried power off on the unit and nothing so we went to see the concierge before bed, they advised us to turn down the thermometer to 73/74 and this will keep the room at a steady tempature. The unit now comes on every 15 minutes and starts up like an plane taking off it that loud.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 431Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for being our guests. Our guest feedback is most important and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are taking your comments into consideration as we
improve our on-property experience. We do hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area again.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was probably around the 20th time we have stayed here. We love the beach and the convenience to all the restaurants and shops on the island. We had a very relaxing stay. When checking in we were originally assigned a room on the 4 th floor even tho I am a diamond and my profile clearly states i prefer a higher floor. I asked why and immediately the young woman checked to see if another room was available. We were them given a room on the 9th floor. I was thrilled with the room, it was perfect for us. I told the young woman i am like Richard Gere in Pretty Woman luv the view from the top floor, but am petrified of heights so I love that the 9th floor has the concrete balconies!!! I know others hate that it blocks part of their view but I actually use the balcony more because I feel safer.

Housekeeping took fabulous care of us for our entire stay ( we were here 10 nites).

Already looking forward to returning again in May!! Thank you Hilton for everything!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

On behalf of the Hilton Clearwater Beach, we thank you for being our guests as always. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our apologies you were not placed in the accommodations you were accustomed and were immediately satisfied. Guest satisfaction is most important to us and we will continue to strive to better our quality of service. We look forward to your next visit with us on your return to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a few days without the kids and stayed at the Hilton. In all honesty, just before leaving I was regretting my decision a bit to be financially responsible and book here as opposed to at the Hyatt just down the street. There is no question that the Hyatt is a nicer overall property. BUT I was quickly thrilled with our decision. First of all, the hotel is right on the beach. You can take the elevator straight from your room and be at the pool and beach in seconds. Set up is great and the beach staff were wonderful. I also found the hotel to be better maintained than what the reviews led me to believe. Don't get me wrong, the Hyatt is an overall nicer property as it was recently remodeled, but it is located on a busy patch of road that you have to cross to get over to the beach. And I am not even sure where their pool was located, but must be up on a roof deck. Our room was nice - we did switch as we had a king bed on the top floor - two issues - the side of the hotel we were on had some ocean view but you were also overlooking the a/c units and roof of the hotel. Also, on the top floor the balcony has a solid railing so if you were seated you would not have a view. We were moved to a room on the 6th floor with a fantastic view, though we had to give up the king for two double beds. They were pretty small.
Amenities were great, cocktails were very well done (yum Mudslide!) and it was a great experience for the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside view. We were in room 612 and it was pretty ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for being our guest and choosing the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Guest feedback is very important to us. Our apologies we were not able to accommodate you with a king. Please contact us a trip_advisor@hilton.com, should you have another opportunity to visit the Clearwater Beach area, we do hope you will vist with us again.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked a king side bed through travelocity arrived at the hotel around 5 and was told that they only had doubles. The clerk was nonchalant about it and said there was nothing else available. I told her that travelocity guaranteed the booking. nothing I had to call travelocity 3 times to finally get some results. Hotel clerk calls me and offered a king with no view whatsoever i declined and told her jokinly at least to offer a free breakfast and she then says oh we can do that. Hotel was a little too pricey. Parking was free. sandy storm even though we where on the gulf it affected us with high winds and rough seas, our room was on 4 floor next to a roof and partial view of gulf

Room Tip: make sure that the room you booked by third parties like travelocity is guaranteed and arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantic0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We thank you for being our guest.. Your feedback is most important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. Your review is what our hotel team needs to re-evaluate and meet guest expectations. We do apologize for the inconvenience you incurred and hope to have another opportunity to serve you, should your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I'm surprised when I read some of the reviews, I'm not sure what they may have expected! I've been a loyal Hilton honors diamond for years. I burned some points this weekend and stayed here. I found the hotel very good. Yes, it's older and needs remodeling which it's going to be done next spring. But really when I walked in the door that would not have been what crossed my mind. It's very bright and clean and in good working order. The staff couldn't ave been more helpful, and I must give an attaboy to TJ who works down on the beach. Very good customer service attitude and a good ambassador of the hotel. Also Billy who works at the pool bar, and Becca who works in Coasters. And I'd be remiss end if I did not mention Irene(??)the Irish hostess in the breakfast area. All great customer minded representatives.

Don't take to much into what is on the reviews, I think it's a great hotel in a great location. The only downside to this trip was that hurricane sandy sent us a lot of wind that made it difficult to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Thank you for being our guests. We do take great pride in our quality of service to our guests, as you observed. Looking forward to having you as our guests again, should your travels bring you to the Clearwater Beach area again..

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.8 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $190 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing