We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of contrasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Hilton Clearwater beech last weekend. And I have never been so conflicted about a hotel before.
First the good, the hotel has a great location on the beech. The rooms are nice but nothing amazing for the money.
Second the amazing. I have to say the beech team where brilliant. A guy called dan made our weekend when he helped me with a romantic sunset drink. He is simply a legend and couldn't do enough to help. Hilton should be very very proud of staff like this. The lady who drives around the beech doin the drink service was also lovely as was anoth girl who did the towels at the beech.

Now for the bad. On our first full day we left out room at 9.30- 10 and arrived back at 6pm and the room hadn't been cleaned. Now fesh towels ect. On calling down and explaining the situation someone was sent to clean out room but this wasn't helpful when we wanted to be getting ready to go out.
Secondly, charging for parking is a joke in itself. Not telling me till I'm about to check out is really taking the mick. There was also an odd one doller charge added to my account that no one was able to tell me what it was for? I know it's only a doller but there is a principle.
Along with this I think charging for umbrellas and chairs on the beech is just a way of extracting money from
Customers that have already paid. Iv stayed all over the world and never been asked to pay for beech furniture when the hotel was on the beech?? $27 a day is just going to upset your customers me included.

Overall the only reason your not getting a one star is because some of your staff and your location saved you.

But would I stay here again? No, I don't mind paying for a nice hotel but when I do I don't expect to be charged for every little thing I do. Parking and sunbirds should be free. That's standared

I won't be back, and would never recommend this hotel because of this.

Just hope people read the reviews and don't get robbed like we have.

But one more mention for super Dan!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for being our guest . We appreciate your honest feedback about your experience while staying at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate for guest needs and to meet our guest expectations. Rest assured, Dan will be recognized per your comments.

Please contact us at trip_advisor@hilton.com, so we can research and discuss further, your issues. We truly apologize you were not happy with your stay.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,728)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Clearwater Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,530 - 3,536 of 4,729 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

wow! we were on 7th floor, what a view from room. we could see for miles along the wide and whitest beach you could imagine. hotel caters well for guests beach bar/food/showers/tables/umberellas (charge). rooms very high standard, led tv, tea/coffee/fridge/comfy king bed. buffet breakfast in morning ($19 ea) well worth it, fresh fruit/breads etc/egg station plus usual hot food/coffee and any king of tea you asked for, superb!! all staff very helpful including valet parking/room cleaning. well worth a stay.

Room Tip: got to be high floor, front or near front sides. car park side very quiet but little noise anywhere
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boxer1van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for writing a most gracious review of your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We look forward to your returning to us should your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you for being our guest .

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dropped into Clearwater to visit the beach but the Hilton location was so good we decided to stay for a night.
Great guest check in, friendly and helpful. This hotel was previously a couple of other brands but the work has been done to upgrade the property to a good standard for couples or family vacations at the standard Hilton provides.
The beach teams could not be more friendly, nothing was a problem and rental prices were reasonable for the day.
I wouldn't stay here to eat though, plenty going on along the promenade right outside the hotel and the hotel charged typical hotel prices for average fare.
For quick convenience it was a good stay and my family enjoyed it.
What could they do better with? The pool area was just okay, they were cleaning as guests were trying to settle in which was a little disorganized and pricing seems just a little high for the average in the area - parking, a bottle of water etc.

Room Tip: One block overlooks the sea so you have to pre-book it and specifically order the room for additiona...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltonHarewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Guest feedback is most important to us. Thank you for writing a review and for being our guest.at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Our staff does take great pride in their service to our guests. We appreciate you being with us and hope that if you are in the area again, you are able to stay with us a bit longer. We look forward to you visiting..

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Loved the hotel and its location. On arrival I did however find the welcome from the receptionist as poor. She was fine whilst going through her script but when asked a question became irritated, didn`t listen and talked over me, never made eye contact and came across as very snotty. My husband got the same response when he went to ask a question about our bill.

Having just come from a place where all staff were very welcoming and helpful we both felt this was unacceptable, we did however, decide not to make an issue of it but would not stay there again I`m afraid.

Customer service training very much required.

The room was OK, nothing fantastic, very clean though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tesskendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We do appreciate your candid feedback, take your comments quite seriously. Please accept my sincereest apologiest for the not so welcoming arrival. Certainly, this is not the type of guest experience we are trying to provide. This issue has been discussed with our Front Desk staff. We do hope, should your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area, you re-consider returning to the Hilton Clearwater Beach so we may have an opportunity to serve you with the true Hilton pride we afford our guests,

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We're definitely coming back here!

The beach setup here is really nice. There's a tiki bar right on the beach where you can order tropical drinks and snacks. There's a vendor with jet ski rentals right there on the beach. There is also a pool area with an adjacent bar as well. Additionally, they have scooters and other fun rentals you can get for riding on the streets.

We had reserved a sunset cabana picnic for our first evening. We enjoyed our beach cabana picnic! The sunset was largely obscured by clouds, but the picnic with champagne was very relaxing. The cabana gave us some privacy, but still we could watch people in front of us on the beach. We had barbecue chicken, potato salad and cheese and crackers. For dessert, we had chocolate covered strawberries - nice with the champagne!

Throughout the day and evening on the beach, a beach attendant helped us a lot. We tipped him generously because we appreciated his friendly, attentive service. He actually made a point to remember our names.

We enjoyed the view from our balcony. We had a "partial gulf view" room which overlooked pier 60 and the gulf. We enjoyed watching the activity on and around the pier. There was a large movie screen which looked to be showing mostly commercials, but we suspect a movie would be playing on it later.

On an off-weather-day, we decided to rent a "fun car" from a vendor located in the hotel parking garage. It's like a scooter but it seats 2 side by side. We had fun exploring the island in the crazy looking car.

Regarding renting beach cabanas: we learned that the cabanas all have to be behind the umbrellas on the beach. So, we preferred to rent an umbrella instead so We could sit up closer to the water.

We enjoyed the beach very much during our stay. It was quite relaxing most of the time. We watched some children playing. We were glad that we chose an umbrella that was not too close to any of the trash cans, because the birds would often hover around them trying to get at the scraps of food.

While we liked the personal service we got from the beach attendant on the first day, we were less than thrilled with service we got on another day when there was a different beach attendant working. At one point a beach attendant came out to us and asked to see our receipt for the umbrella and chairs. We saw him asking several people. Apparently they have a problem with people using the umbrellas without paying. Not a big deal, they were polite enough. It was just interesting.

Room Tip: Partial gulf view rooms have a good view of the pier. We liked ours.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, we thank you for writing a review.. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, should your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Bar service in lounge - terrible. most unfriendly bartender. prIces HIGH. Rooms were nothing elaborate for the price, same as a Holiday Inn. (But very clean) Had to wait almost 2 hours for a toothbrush, maybe they need more staff.
Worst is you have to pay to park, that was a first for me. Don't think I'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy06471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We appreciate you writing a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Thank you for being our guest. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations and you were disappointed. We will use your comments to help us make the necessary changes. We have addressed our Food and beverage staff and Housekeeping staff about your experiences while staying at our hotel and our team agrees they need to re-evaluate guest needs and bring their level of service to the Hilton standards that our guests expect.. We hope, should you return to the Clearwater Beach area, we will have another opportunity to serve you,. In the meantime, at your convenience, if you would like to further discuss, please contact trip_advisor@hilton.com.

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel. Good location We spent the day playing in the pool, playing in the ocean and beach and back to the pool perfect location for relaxing. Watch out for the birds my daughter had her hot dog stole near that pool!

Stayed: December 2011
1  Thank MN-Funstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for being our guest at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. Your feedback is most ajpreciated. We do take great pride in our property and it's amenities. You have to hold on to the hot dogs, though. Hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to our area in the future.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.9 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach

Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $201 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing