We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Destination Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Clearwater Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Ranked #25 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a wonderful place to have a destination wedding! All of the staff at this property was great....everything went like clockwork for the wedding....I can't thank them enough! The only thing that was a little unconfortable was the heat in the lobby of the hotel in the late afternoon. It was not the hotels fault, just so hot outside and lots of folks coming and going alot. All in all just a great place to go for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Congratulations as well. Your gracious comments will be shared with our staff. We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area, Clearwater Beach.

Sincerely
Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,675
    1,237
    789
    379
    259
See reviews for
1,737
1,221
108
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during out honeymoon. The hotel was very disappointing for the Hilton brand. The worst part was the poor customer service when I brought my concerns to the attention of the staff. We booked a partial gulf view in the hope of sitting on our balcony in the evenings. This was impossible as there is a huge rooftop air conditioning system on the flat roof which affects all gulf facing rooms, this causes loud noise which can be heard in the room and also blows out heat which in 90 degree Florida makes it unbearable! When I brought this to the attention of the staff, she just shrugged, said sorry and that was that! The room was okay, although needed updating. Food in the hotel is average, there are much better places nearby. On return I would stay at the nearby sand pearl or other hotels. Hilton was very disappointing and won't be staying with them again which is a shame as we are regular guests. They were also the only hotel on our 23 night trip who didn't make our honeymoon special in any way.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelstayer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
: Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were disappointed with our property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We have addressed our Guest service staff and I again apologize that you were not assisted during your stay. Certainly, this is not the type of guest experience we are trying to provide. Our food & beverage team has been made aware of your comments, as well. Should your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area, we hope to have another opportunitytto serve you.

Sincerely

Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed the first weekend in August.
Hotel was busy, We had emailed ahead asking for a room we had on previous occasions.
On arrival not only did we get the room we wanted but a little gift from the management as it was our wedding anniversary.
We have always loved the hotel due to its place on the beach. We have returned every year for some time now.
The hotel has gone through many changes over the years, sometimes it looks great sometimes ok and sometimes not to good....but hey this is a well used hotel so unless they do up every room on a monthly rota there's going to be times when it looks a little run down!
We had a suite, it looked like it had had a make over from last year. The bathroom could do with updating, but overall it was great for us. Lovely comfy beds and pillows. Clean smooth stain free bedding. Plenty of towels and last but not least excellent toiletries!
All the staff are very helpful and accommodating.
The hotel is spotless. The resort staff couldn't be more helpful. The staff around the pool do an excellent job running round after the nice and not so nice holiday makers.
Regarding the rooms. If you want a great view get a suite, you can look up and down the beach as well as out into the gulf(we sat watching on our balcony dolphins about 30ft from the beach playing it was the most wonderful thing I have ever seen). A partial gulf or park view room are well situated. The partial gulf looks slightly over the car park with swimming pool and gulf views, the park view is over the car park with a slight view of the harbour on one side and the gulf on the other. The harbour rooms look over the main street and harbour. The other rooms are the ones at the other side of the hotel which can give you a view of the air conditioning units below.
There is a guest laundry on the 3rd floor $1.75 a wash and $1.75 a dry.
We never used the food services as we like using the local reastaurants.
They do have a small Starbucks outlet which is great!
I have noticed some poor reviews but...Do a bit of research about the rooms, book one that suits your needs. On the hotel web site it states what the rooms are and what you get.
If you do come across a problem tell the hotel staff.... If they don't know you have issues how can they help?
No hotel will be perfect but the Hilton does try its best to meet all your wants and needs. The prices are a bit on the high side ... but all the hotels are along the front.
This is a good all round hotel and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LastdashCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious review, and for being.our guest Your comments regarding your recent stay (and noting you have been with us for some time now) is greatly appreciated. We do take pride in our property and our quality service to our guests Our team is always there to assist as we want you, our guest to enjoy their stay on Clearwater Beach..

Again, thank you for your glowing review. We do look forward to having you with us again n the future and for a along time to come.

Sincerely,
Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Hilton on Clearwater is great! They have awesome room service, the gym was VERY clean, the rooms were lovely, and the views were amazing!! If you don't want to pay for expensive meals there are restaurants within walking distance. They are close to the beach, so it's nice for a walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uriel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write a review. Your gracious comments are appreciated. We are glad you were pleased with your room and the fitness area. Thank you for your kind words in regard to our Room Service staff, we will pass this along. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again, shoud your travels bring you back to the Clearwater Beach area..

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This Hilton was what you could expect. Clean, not perfect, but good service. The location cannot be beat if you want to be car-less. I agree with other reviewers on the housekeeping issues. We were pretty disappointed with that aspect. But the Tiki bar on the beach was super fun, the breakfast buffet was way pricey but very good. Best walking distance restaurant was Crabby Bill's.

Room Tip: There really are no super great rooms here. You look over a roof. The design is really strange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmiracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry you were disappointed with the housekeeping. These issues are being addressed. The Tiki is a great refreshing spot on our beach and breakfast buffet has alot to offer.

Although we do have rooms overlooking the roof, harborview is a choice and other rooms have north and south views of partial gulf. Hope that when you return to the Clearwater Beach area, you will visit us again, and give us the opportunity to serve you..

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family recently stayed at the Clearwater Hilton and loved it. The rooms are a tad small and could stand some updating but we didn't spend a lot of time in them so that didn't matter as much to us. What made the stay so enjoyable was the service at the beach. The young man ( I believe his name was Eric) took great care of us. We had a group of 10 and every day he made sure we had an excellent spot set up with umbrellas and chairs. It was obvious he loved his job. If anyone of influence is reading this, we think he needs a raise! The girl operating the drink cart ( again, not good with names but she was a blonde) was a delight and very service oriented. The hotel can be proud of these two individuals. Because of them we have decided when we return we will be staying at the Hilton. I can overlook some things but poor service is not one of them. I can't say enough about how much they exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at t our hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and we are happy to hear we exceeded your expecctations. Your comments will be extended to Eric and our drink cart lady. We do take great pride in delivering quality of service to our guests.

We look forward to your returning to the Hilton Clearwater Beach on your next visit to the area .

Sincerely,

Bob Walter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I chose this hotel for its beach location and proximity to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium. I chose Hilton over the Hyatt because I didn't want to cross the street to get the beach and I didn't want to pay the huge resort fee at the Hyatt.

We were disappointed with the first room, it was dank and smelled of mildew. Worse, we could smell smoke from the A/C intake. My son asked if there was a dirty bathing suit inside when I opened the closet. We were moved to a better room when I complained. Heads up - this was a handicapped room and the bathroom had a weird layout and virtually no room beside the sink.
The regular room we ended up in had a much better situation.

We stayed a week. After staying in the Doubletree in Portland my expectations were high. Unfortunately this property isn't at that standard, it's a little worn. The hotel is awkwardly laid out, with the lobby on the 2nd floor. The valets are the first people you'll see, but they don't work for the hotel, it's a private service. There are 2 parking lots, $7/day for parking. It's all a little confusing at first.

Even with all that, the property grew on me. The pools and hot tub were well-kept and there was service for drinks/food poolside. The beach was clean and beautiful. The beach games and landscaping are excellent. The pier, marina and most activities are within walking distance. We saw wild dolphins every day. The beds were comfy and we had no problems with any of the accessories in the room. We rented a movie on the TV one day and used the refrigerator extensively. The wifi was free and worked all the time. I never sprang for the beach fee, just got the free towels and went to the pool or beach. We never spent a whole day on the beach to warrant paying. It appeared that there was drink service on the beach. The tiki bar was only open sometimes, but I never got a feel for why or when it would close.

The service was hit or miss, but mostly very good. Their recommendations of restaurants and services were spot-on. (We ate at both Frenchy's and enjoyed them both). Mostly everyone had a smile or a nice comment for us. The room was kept clean, no easy feat with the amount of sand that comes with you, no matter how hard you try not to track it around. I needed a large garbage bag and some packing tape to package some boogie boards for our flight home. The staff worked hard and found those items for me, no problem.

We ate poolside a few times and enjoyed the food. The salads were surprisingly good, especially with the fresh shrimp. The drinks were expensive but packed a punch. We never ate breakfast or dinner at the hotel, we just got cold breakfasts to eat in the room and ate out for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower end numbers have a better view of the beach and are farther from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kryptogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, General Manager at Hilton Clearwater Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for being our guests at the Hilton Clearwater Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and our apologies for not placing your accommodations suitably upon your arrival. We do appreciate your favorable comments overall. We do pride ourselves in the quality of service we extend to our guets. Our Food and Beverage team has been made aware of your comments regading the Tiki bar and the issue has been discussed.

We do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future, should your travels bring
you back to the Clearwater Beach area.

Sincerely,

Bob Waler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Clearwater Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Clearwater Beach

Property: Hilton Clearwater Beach
Address: 400 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#15 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#29 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Clearwater Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across 10 acres of sandy white beach, surrounded by blue skies and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Clearwater Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Clearwater Beach Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Hilton
Hilton Beach Resort Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing