We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was my second time at the Travelodge and once again I was completely satisfied! This time it was just a one night stay, last time it was 9 nights. The man at the front desk was very helpful and did his best to give us a good rate. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was satisfying as well. When I come back to the Clearwater area this is where I will be staying!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveFlorida1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 586 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here after visiting friends, and I was suprised at the quality. The staff was friendly, the room extremely clean and stocked with towels, and the pool area fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! We missed breakfast so i cannot comment. The area is right off the highway so full of stores and restuarants nearby and close to attractions.

Room Tip: Close to the pool, or facing the pool if you have kids.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Clean rooms, nice pool. My girls couldn't wait to get back from the Aquarium so they could swim! The desk staff were very friendly. The breakfast was more than I expected for the price we paid. I was very impressed. We would love to return to Clearwater and this will definitely be considered as our place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IloveAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the T-Lodge and as always, the customer service was excellent. As a repeat customer, for a treat, we were upgraded for free to one of their new kitchen suites. The suite consisted of two rooms, one for sleeping and another with a kitchen and sitting area, total overkill for my Girlfriend and I but we were happy to accept the upgrade. We made the short walk to the Baseball Stadium nearby (10 mins max) and had a great time....we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the new kitchen suites, perfect for anyone wanting to cut down on eating out and ne...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oiseaux99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Excellent value for the price. This is a 2 stars hotel and for what they charge, I would never ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Pool front rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSidhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at Travelodge Clearwater July 6 & 7, 2012. Ann and her male co-worker at the front desk were the friendliest and most responsive desk folks we've had the pleasure to deal with. When we reported a non-functioning hair dryer, Ann's co-worker immediately went out and bought a replacement. There were some other requests that we had that they attended to super promptly. We reserved three rooms which Ann was able to cluster together for our convenience.

Building well maintained even though it is an older property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planextrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked two rooms at this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, the location, and the great price.The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were nicely decorated and clean with lots of extras, like a small fridge, iron and board, coffee pot, large desk with desk chair, and a digital safe. The TV had lots of movie and other premium channels. We didn't use the heated pool but it looked nice from the balcony. I liked that the housekeeper's name was on a card in the room. You could tell this woman had taken pride in her work and we were able to thank her by name along with our tip.

Note that this is a "motel" - rooms and stairs are all exterior access. There is plenty of parking available. It was five miles from Winter the famous dolphin and close to great restaurants. The breakfast is serve-yourself with lots of choices, and they serve until 10am. There is no room service but some nearby restaurants deliver. Some pet rooms are available on request. Late check-out up until noon is free if requested in advance and if available you can pay an extra $30 per room to stay until 5pm.

I have four complaints and I left all four on a comment card at the hotel.
1. Our 3-year-old almost fell through the railing on the balcony outside our 2nd floor room even with four adults around her. It happened very quickly, but thank God it turned out well. They really need to install better railings or at least not put families with small children on the second floors.
2. The breakfast room is too small even though there seems to be enough space for expansion into the lobby area. We ate at 9:30 on a Sat. morning and the room was absolutely packed with people. We got a table after ten minutes only because we stood by it until a family finished. Awkward.
3. The lobby seems recently renovated and looks nice, but it reeks of cigarette odor, which is unpleasant and doesn't give a good first impression.
4. The stairways and balconies were absolutely filthy. Again, a very bad first impression.

But considering the price we paid and the good location I would recommend it again with a heads-up of these problems. I hope they quickly invest in a pressure washer and some lobby air freshener, and that could take care of half these things in one day.

A note on getting there - if your map or GPS tells you to turn left off the service road at the 19 ramp, don't actually turn left. Get in the far middle lane and take the U-turn under 19. The hotel will be on your right.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbKenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 98 in Clearwater
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 98 in Clearwater
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#30 of 98 in Clearwater
667 reviews
5.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 98 in Clearwater
198 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Address: 21252 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: $53 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central is your gateway to Gulf Coast adventure. When you make us your home base during your Florida stay, you'll find yourself nearby all the attractions you're looking forward to and surrounded by all the amenities you need. Enjoy our free Wi-Fi, cable TV, pool, business center, laundry facilities, and more while you're our guest. Plus, start your day off with a free breakfast before heading out to the beach, the golf course, Busch Gardens, Brighthouse Field, Clearwater Marine Aquarium, Ruth Eckerd Hall, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing