We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Clearwater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Clearwater”
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Overall, a great place to stay, especially if you are accompanied by your kids. The service was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We will definitely return to this facility.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiveStarWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    960
    337
    126
    49
See reviews for
931
758
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

The rooms were fresh and clean, the bathrooms were small - but I don't pick a hotel based on the size of a bathroom; the sink, toilet, and shower worked just fine. Any resort nickel and dimes you to death, so expect it. $5/nt for a baby pack-n-play, $5/nt for a nice size fridge (not a tiny one), but they did give 2 free bottles of water/day which was quite surprising. The beach was one heck of a walk away, too far for our liking. Except for right near the ocean edge, the "sand" was loaded with small shells mixed with sand - not the best beach I've seen. The pool was nice, but almost a bit cool for our liking. The lounge chairs were the best I've ever seen - nicely contoured and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly everywhere. Nice to have a poolside cafe for lunch/snacks. Rusty's is their nicer dining option (breakfast too); it was OK. The Island Grill (diner atmosphere) was quite reasonably priced and offered a nice variety. They also had a nice bar/tavern option. The playground unit for the kids was nice and the full-time tennis director option will appeal to tennis players with scheduled drill sessions or lesson availability; court time is free. Columbia was a nice Spanish/Cuban restaurant a short walk from the hotel. A pricy convenience store in the same shopping complex offers basic groceries to stock in your fridge. Cab fare is ~$55 to the Tampa airport.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JesusIsForReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

After reading several reviews on TA, I thought we would give the Sheraton Sand Key a try. We stayed for 2 nights in April and were very pleased with our decision. The entire staff, from the bell desk and valet to registration to the restaurants, were all incredibly friendly, professional, and welcoming. Evereyone seemed to enjoy their job and made you feel like you were a part of the fun of just being there.
The room was clean and comfortable. Yes, the room was a little small and having more than two people would have been an issue but you're on a beach in Florida, you shouldn't be in your room. I had also read that the beach was quite a walk from the hotel. Actually the beach (the sand) starts about 15 yards from the lobby. It is a wide beach but I would never call it a hike (to the water).

Helpful?
4 Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2006

We stayed at the Sheraton for 6 nights. the rooms were a typical 4 star standard, clean, well sound proofed and comfortable beds. The bathroom was very small although we have found this to be the case in every american hotel we have stayed at. The rooms were clean and the we had a lovely balcony view of the pool and beach. the only gripe with the room was that there was no fridge to keep your drinks cold..

All the staff we had dealings with were freindly and courteous especially the waiters at breakfast.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was excellent. For$7.95 for adults and $4.95 for kids you could have unlimited fresh coffee and orange juice served by the waiters together with toast, bagels, pastries, cereal yoghurts and the most delicious fresh fruit salads from the buffet. The kids could also have from the hot buffet at that price so they could have extra bacon, sausage etc too much for us!! We thought it excellent value for money in a 4* hotel where they normally serve overpriced breakfasts and you just grab a snack later.

The pool area was lovely and clean with complimentary towels and although the beach was a bit of a walk to get to the sea it's good to exercise isn't it. There was also volleyball and tennis for anyone who gets restless.

I didn't feel there was much to do in the immediate vicinity. Everywhere to visit involved getting in a car and driving there but if you are looking for somewhere to stay put and soak up some sun then the sheraton is ideal and I would recommend it to anyone going to Clearwater.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Just returned from Sheraton Sand Key - excellent hotel where customer service levels are first class. Lovely buffet breakfast, great poolside cafe, excellent location. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone. Friendly staff, very well cared for rooms and public areas. Stayed 4 - 12 April 2006.

Helpful?
8 Thank Mrs-Picky-Knickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2006

After reading all the rave reviews we were really disappointed. The rooms were small. bathrooms tiny and a terrible damp moldy smell in room. The carpet in the lobby was filthy. Service personnel were very nice which was the only thing that was four diamond about this resort.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishmanj13104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Excellent stay at the Sheraton . The hotel is beautiful, rooms clean but typical. Beach bar excellent. Beach too far of a walk. Surrounding town lovely , Hotel staff mostly friendly but some uninformed. The only negative was the pool attendant. Our kids were looking foward to playing volleyball and he would not give us a ball. He said he could have the volleyballs out past 7:oo because people would steal them.Perhaps they should have a sign out shhet. My daughter was so disappointed.He was there on the third day and he was just a grump. He should be more concerned with the lounge saving. Otherwise loved Clearwater.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magee709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing