We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great food, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great food, great service!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Have nothing to complain about! The food was great, the staff, extremely helpful and nice. All in all, a place I would go back to in a heartbeat.
The hotel is not necessarily close to any bars, so using the hotel bar/restaurant landed up being what I used, and I was happy with the service. The bar did close sooner that expected, but that was not a deal breaker for me.
Book way in advance so you definitely get good rooms with good views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malhar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Our goal is for you to enjoy the kind of experience you anticipated. We do have a few bars that are about 1 5 minute walk away.I am sorry you were not informed while you were here. There is also a nightclub right over the bridge which is 2.0 miles. It is a beautiful walk or it is just an inexpensive taxi or trolley ride away. I’m glad you decided to “stay in” though, and were pleased with your experience. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    960
    337
    126
    49
See reviews for
931
758
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is my 2nd visit with the family and enjoyed it once again because of the amazing service of the staff. As soon as you arrive you are met with excellent service from the concierge and check-in is a breeze. Jeanne was so welcoming and made sure we were set for a relaxing vacation.

I will agree with other views that the bathrooms are very small and difficult for everyone to get ready for the day, but that is only 30 minutes of the day. The view of the beach is unbelievable and the pool staff is ready to help. With elementary age kids, it is so great that they offer sand toys, footballs, and other items to use at the beach or pool area. They just use the honor system that you will return what you borrowed. Nice perk when most folks are flying to this wonderful destination. It is a kid-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahhop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We will look forward to your third visit! All of our associates are committed to providing you with the service levels and recognition you deserve and expect. I will share your comment with Jeanne; I know she will be pleased. When the children are content it usually enables the adults to relax. I hope some memories were made. There is just something so peaceful about looking out the window and seeing the beauty that surrounds us here we are always happy to be able to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South lyon
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my husband and kids for 10 year anniversary vacation. We don't usually rent a car if we're staying by the beach. This was a beautiful beach resort. I found pricing reasonable because it included buffet breakfast for two. They also have a four star restaurant inside and with sun-thurs specials for the dinner buffet for two adults and up to 4 kids for $59 that's quite reasonable. The staff in every occupation from cleaning, check in to pool attendants were so friendly and professional. I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Learnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
The smell of salt water, the gentle roar of the waves all combine to create a sense of peace and calm here on the beaches of Sand Key. We do try to keep the prices reasonable and have nightly specials as well as a healthy children’s menu with reasonable prices. I hope you enjoyed our Hand Carved Prime Rib of Beef Buffet family special. You are correct… that is a deal $9.83 per person. Children under 5 always eat from our buffet for free. We do have a very talented Executive Chef who ensures that there are choices that everyone will enjoy. Our associates genuinely care and want to ensure they in part are responsible for your positive stay. We will forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
424 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Spent five nights staying here and the family enjoyed it. Hotel does a good job trying to promote family activities. It rained one day and they had games, videos and even a wii in one of the banquet rooms for the kids to use. Food is on the high side of cost but not many choices down in Clearwater. Would stay again if we come to Clearwater .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ddb2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Quality time at a wonderful & peaceful place … This is the time for families and we enjoy helping you make memorable moments for your children. We are adding new activities at this time such as Beach Tennis. We have supervised games in and out of the pool. Being at the beach can bring a family together with no intrusions from the outside world; just you the dolphins and the birds. We have been running family specials in some of our food and beverage outlets to make dinning in the hotel more affordable. There are many places to eat in the area many have thymes which is fun to experience. We will look forward to your next visit to Clearwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Carpet smelled really bad that we could not sleep the first night. The hotel cleaned the carpet the next day and gave us breakfast vouchers. For the trouble we went through, we should have got one free night. There was no refrigerator and the front desk said they did not have any to provide! No free internet in room (now a days Econo Lodge and other cheap motels provide free internet in room and refrigerator. Sheraton should be able to provide free internet in room and small refrigerator!) Overall the service was good but in one of the hotel's restaurants the server was rude and neglected our table to the point we had to complain to the manager! This hotel was way overpriced for the mediocre experience we had!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their concerns with us so we can continue to improve our service. I apologize for the carpet odor, I am pleased that it was cleaned in a timely manner. That occasionally happens when wet clothes and towels are left on the carpet by the previous guest. I do understand this does not resolve the issues you experienced. I concur that the internet is something most all guests require nowadays. It is one of our standards to have a fee in place however just recently we have modified this in a small way and all internet in the lobby or The Mainstay Tavern The Link @ Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft (the Link) is provided free of charge. This may be a step in the direction of providing it complimentary in all guestrooms but for now it remains as a fee based service. We are working on a project at this time to have refrigerators installed in each room, we will finish as occupancy allows. Our associates do truly care about extending excellent service. Concerning the rudeness of the associate; I am very concerned that you experienced that, as it is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. I would greatly appreciate if you would be willing to take the time to tell me what restaurant so I can follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I were in Tampa for a friends wedding and decided to add an extra day onto our vacation. We only stayed one night at the hotel but I wish it had been more! The staff was friendly, extremely professional, and accommodating. The hotel was extremely clean and in a great location. The best part was that it was very affordable! I would definitely go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We are Starwood members so trying a new spot in Clearwater we immediately considered the Sheraton and were not disappointed. We had a suite with an adjoining room so plenty of space for a family of five. Our visit also included complimentary access to the Starwood lounge where we ate everyday for breakfast - Peggy was great. The facility is perfect - not too big, nice pool area and huge beach. My kids became addicted to beach tennis. We will definitely return to this location. I would also recommend all of the restaurants in the plaza across the street. The food at the hotel was pretty good, but didn't compete with the spots across the road. However, if after a long day at the beach you don't want to venture out, the food is very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
“Welcome to Our Island.” I am truly pleased your experience was what you anticipated. Vacations go better when planned properly and it seems as if planned perfectly when reserving a suite with an adjoining room. I understand your children’s addiction to beach tennis. Beach tennis merges the sports of tennis and beach volleyball into one action packed sport that originated on the beaches of Ravenna, Italy over 30 years ago … it looks like so much fun. I am pleased you explored the area and dined outside of the hotel. Although we do have a very talented culinary staff, the area also boasts many great restaurants. We will look forward to a return visit sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing